Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

7
  • "I can't figure out where the mv64xxx.ko file is located" -- That's because you're careless with names. The Kconfig entry states: This driver (i2c_mv64xxx.c) can also be built as a module. If so, the module will be called i2c-mv64xxx. "I want to replace my current mv64xxx driver on linux 5.17 with the mv64xxx driver from linux >= 6.4." -- Not feasible. The internal interfaces of the kernel can change between kernel versions. Instead you would have to back-port the salient patch.
    – sawdust
    Commented Aug 17, 2023 at 21:34
  • @sawdust, I did it, I recompiled new module! There was several easy changes, one function with another return type and one struct with one another name of field that takes this function pointer. I have new i2c-mv64xxx.ko file and other files within directory with this module. But how to enable him now? I try modprobe, but no this driver in lsmod and after modprobe no errors, just new prompt :(
    – nx4n
    Commented Aug 18, 2023 at 6:27
  • @sawdust new function void return, old int and return 0, bruh. I did depmode and then modprobe i2c-mv64xxx, no errors, nothing is going on. lsmod | grep i2c : empty, dmesg | grep mv64 : empty, dmesg | grep i2c : i2c_dev: i2c /dev entries driver, BUT, it was already before I recompile module. May be old module dont give me load new module?
    – nx4n
    Commented Aug 18, 2023 at 6:33
  • And about "careless with names": I tried to find / -type f -name "mv64xxx" before compiling module and result was empty => also there is not i2c-mv64xxx.ko and other files in my fs
    – nx4n
    Commented Aug 18, 2023 at 6:41
  • Did you review the boot log of the original kernel? What messages (if any) did the original i2c_mv64xxx driver generate? Where in the boot sequence do they occur? Did you review the boot log of the new kernel? What messages (if any) did the modified i2c_mv64xxx driver generate?
    – sawdust
    Commented Aug 18, 2023 at 7:21