Skip to main content
Added correct markdown for monospaced code and keyboard buttons ; Grammatical corrections (incl. formatting)
Source Link
JW0914
  • 8.3k
  • 7
  • 31
  • 50

I have encountered a problem where I couldn't access environment variables after disabling Bing search.

To disable Bing search, I followed these steps in the registry via:

  1. Pressed Windows keyWinKey + R to open the Run dialog box.
  2. Typed "regedit" and pressed Enter to open the Registry Editor.
  3. Navigated to the key: HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Search.ROpen: regedit → OK
  4. Created a new DWORD value named "BingSearchEnabled."
  5. Set theBingSearchEnabled with value data of "BingSearchEnabled" to 0.0 within:
    HKCU\software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Search
    

However, afterAfter making these changes, I noticed that the "Change environment variables"Change environment variables option no longer appears when I search for "env"env or other keywords. Restarting, and restarting the computer did not resolve the issue.

Fortunately, when I revert the changes by deleting the "BingSearchEnabled" value from the registry, the issue goes away and I can access environment variables again.

Although I haven't found similar reports of this specific problem, it seems that disabling Bing search affects the visibility of various options beyond just the search keyword "env."

  • When I revert the changes by deleting DWORD BingSearchEnabled, the issue goes away and I can access environment variables again
  • Although I haven't found similar reports of this specific problem, it seems that disabling Bing search affects the visibility of various options beyond just search keyword env.

If anyone has encountered a similar issue or has insights into resolving this problem in Windows 11, I would greatly appreciate your assistance. Restoring, as restoring access to the environment variables is crucial for my workflow.

I have encountered a problem where I couldn't access environment variables after disabling Bing search.

To disable Bing search, I followed these steps in the registry:

  1. Pressed Windows key + R to open the Run dialog box.
  2. Typed "regedit" and pressed Enter to open the Registry Editor.
  3. Navigated to the key: HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Search.
  4. Created a new DWORD value named "BingSearchEnabled."
  5. Set the value data of "BingSearchEnabled" to 0.

However, after making these changes, I noticed that the "Change environment variables" option no longer appears when I search for "env" or other keywords. Restarting the computer did not resolve the issue.

Fortunately, when I revert the changes by deleting the "BingSearchEnabled" value from the registry, the issue goes away and I can access environment variables again.

Although I haven't found similar reports of this specific problem, it seems that disabling Bing search affects the visibility of various options beyond just the search keyword "env."

If anyone has encountered a similar issue or has insights into resolving this problem in Windows 11, I would greatly appreciate your assistance. Restoring access to the environment variables is crucial for my workflow.

I have encountered a problem where I couldn't access environment variables after disabling Bing search via:

  1. WinKey + ROpen: regedit → OK
  2. Created new DWORD BingSearchEnabled with value 0 within:
    HKCU\software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Search
    

After making these changes, I noticed that Change environment variables option no longer appears when I search for env or other keywords, and restarting the computer did not resolve the issue.

  • When I revert the changes by deleting DWORD BingSearchEnabled, the issue goes away and I can access environment variables again
  • Although I haven't found similar reports of this specific problem, it seems that disabling Bing search affects the visibility of various options beyond just search keyword env.

If anyone has encountered a similar issue or has insights into resolving this problem in Windows 11, I would greatly appreciate your assistance, as restoring access to the environment variables is crucial for my workflow.

deleted 36 characters in body
Source Link
Ramhound
  • 43.1k
  • 35
  • 107
  • 137

I have encountered a problem where I couldn't access environment variables after disabling Bing search.

To disable Bing search, I followed these steps in the registry:

  1. Pressed Windows key + R to open the Run dialog box.
  2. Typed "regedit" and pressed Enter to open the Registry Editor.
  3. Navigated to the key: HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Search.
  4. Created a new DWORD value named "BingSearchEnabled."
  5. Set the value data of "BingSearchEnabled" to 0.

However, after making these changes, I noticed that the "Change environment variables" option no longer appears when I search for "env" or other keywords. Restarting the computer did not resolve the issue.

Fortunately, when I revert the changes by deleting the "BingSearchEnabled" value from the registry, the issue goes away and I can access environment variables again.

Although I haven't found similar reports of this specific problem, it seems that disabling Bing search affects the visibility of various options beyond just the search keyword "env."

If anyone has encountered a similar issue or has insights into resolving this problem in Windows 11, I would greatly appreciate your assistance. Restoring access to the environment variables is crucial for my workflow. Thank you for your help in advance!

I have encountered a problem where I couldn't access environment variables after disabling Bing search.

To disable Bing search, I followed these steps in the registry:

  1. Pressed Windows key + R to open the Run dialog box.
  2. Typed "regedit" and pressed Enter to open the Registry Editor.
  3. Navigated to the key: HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Search.
  4. Created a new DWORD value named "BingSearchEnabled."
  5. Set the value data of "BingSearchEnabled" to 0.

However, after making these changes, I noticed that the "Change environment variables" option no longer appears when I search for "env" or other keywords. Restarting the computer did not resolve the issue.

Fortunately, when I revert the changes by deleting the "BingSearchEnabled" value from the registry, the issue goes away and I can access environment variables again.

Although I haven't found similar reports of this specific problem, it seems that disabling Bing search affects the visibility of various options beyond just the search keyword "env."

If anyone has encountered a similar issue or has insights into resolving this problem in Windows 11, I would greatly appreciate your assistance. Restoring access to the environment variables is crucial for my workflow. Thank you for your help in advance!

I have encountered a problem where I couldn't access environment variables after disabling Bing search.

To disable Bing search, I followed these steps in the registry:

  1. Pressed Windows key + R to open the Run dialog box.
  2. Typed "regedit" and pressed Enter to open the Registry Editor.
  3. Navigated to the key: HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Search.
  4. Created a new DWORD value named "BingSearchEnabled."
  5. Set the value data of "BingSearchEnabled" to 0.

However, after making these changes, I noticed that the "Change environment variables" option no longer appears when I search for "env" or other keywords. Restarting the computer did not resolve the issue.

Fortunately, when I revert the changes by deleting the "BingSearchEnabled" value from the registry, the issue goes away and I can access environment variables again.

Although I haven't found similar reports of this specific problem, it seems that disabling Bing search affects the visibility of various options beyond just the search keyword "env."

If anyone has encountered a similar issue or has insights into resolving this problem in Windows 11, I would greatly appreciate your assistance. Restoring access to the environment variables is crucial for my workflow.

Source Link

Search Issue After Disabling Windows 11 Bing Search

I have encountered a problem where I couldn't access environment variables after disabling Bing search.

To disable Bing search, I followed these steps in the registry:

  1. Pressed Windows key + R to open the Run dialog box.
  2. Typed "regedit" and pressed Enter to open the Registry Editor.
  3. Navigated to the key: HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Search.
  4. Created a new DWORD value named "BingSearchEnabled."
  5. Set the value data of "BingSearchEnabled" to 0.

However, after making these changes, I noticed that the "Change environment variables" option no longer appears when I search for "env" or other keywords. Restarting the computer did not resolve the issue.

Fortunately, when I revert the changes by deleting the "BingSearchEnabled" value from the registry, the issue goes away and I can access environment variables again.

Although I haven't found similar reports of this specific problem, it seems that disabling Bing search affects the visibility of various options beyond just the search keyword "env."

If anyone has encountered a similar issue or has insights into resolving this problem in Windows 11, I would greatly appreciate your assistance. Restoring access to the environment variables is crucial for my workflow. Thank you for your help in advance!