Skip to main content
Copy edits and paragraph breaks.
Source Link
Giacomo1968
  • 56.1k
  • 23
  • 167
  • 214

I need to connect to my own server that runs Linux Mint. 

After installing Tailscale on both PCs (client and server) I can succesfullysuccessfully ping the server from client, but I'm unable to traceroute it. Viceversa

Vice-versa, from server to client everything is working smooth. I tried checking firewalls on the server, but I'm unable to find anything that may block the connection. I

I stopped the ufw service ufw service(that was anyway already inactive), allowed anything in and out using these iptablesiptables commands:

iptables -P INPUT ACCEPT
iptables -P OUTPUT ACCEPT
iptables -P FORWARD ACCEPT
iptables -F

I have no idea what may prevent the connection.

I need to connect to my own server that runs Linux Mint. After installing Tailscale on both PCs (client and server) I can succesfully ping the server from client, but I'm unable to traceroute it. Viceversa, from server to client everything is working smooth. I tried checking firewalls on the server, but I'm unable to find anything that may block the connection. I stopped the ufw service (that was anyway already inactive), allowed anything in and out using these iptables commands:

iptables -P INPUT ACCEPT
iptables -P OUTPUT ACCEPT
iptables -P FORWARD ACCEPT
iptables -F

I have no idea what may prevent the connection.

I need to connect to my own server that runs Linux Mint. 

After installing Tailscale on both PCs (client and server) I can successfully ping the server from client, but I'm unable to traceroute it.

Vice-versa, from server to client everything is working smooth. I tried checking firewalls on the server, but I'm unable to find anything that may block the connection.

I stopped the ufw service(that was anyway already inactive), allowed anything in and out using these iptables commands:

iptables -P INPUT ACCEPT
iptables -P OUTPUT ACCEPT
iptables -P FORWARD ACCEPT
iptables -F

I have no idea what may prevent the connection.

Source Link
Zep
  • 11
  • 2

Unable to traceroute but able to ping

I need to connect to my own server that runs Linux Mint. After installing Tailscale on both PCs (client and server) I can succesfully ping the server from client, but I'm unable to traceroute it. Viceversa, from server to client everything is working smooth. I tried checking firewalls on the server, but I'm unable to find anything that may block the connection. I stopped the ufw service (that was anyway already inactive), allowed anything in and out using these iptables commands:

iptables -P INPUT ACCEPT
iptables -P OUTPUT ACCEPT
iptables -P FORWARD ACCEPT
iptables -F

I have no idea what may prevent the connection.