Skip to main content
8 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Aug 10, 2023 at 9:32 comment added Benjamin Krausse DB (And sorry if the question is dumb - I know my way around Windows fairly well, but am still a Linux noob - I hope that will change in the near future ;) )
Aug 10, 2023 at 9:18 comment added Benjamin Krausse DB I wasn't able to get WSL set up, but instead I've fired up a Rescatux VM. When using dislocker-metadata -V /dev/sdb I get the error [ERROR] The sector size is null.. Any idea what I'm doing wrong? Or was it just not able to find anything? (Or maybe issues with the VM)?
Aug 7, 2023 at 11:19 comment added Benjamin Krausse DB Unfortunately, that won't work, everything other than their Windows setup is blocked through the BIOS. But trying to get WSL set up is my next step. Worst case scenario, I could contact some IT colleagues and see if an exception could be made.
Aug 3, 2023 at 12:34 comment added David A @BenjaminKrausseDB: If your work policies permit it, you can use a bootable Fedora or Ubuntu USB drive. Note that the dislocker package probably won't be installed on those, so you'll need internet access to install it once you boot up.
Jul 27, 2023 at 8:22 comment added Benjamin Krausse DB Right, forgot about WSL... I'll have to check if I can get that to work on this computer.
Jul 27, 2023 at 8:18 comment added Raf @BenjaminKrausseDB You could try mounting the disk inside WSL: devblogs.microsoft.com/commandline/… learn.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/wsl/wsl2-mount-disk hanselman.com/blog/wsl2-can-now-mount-linux-ext4-disks-directly probably with wsl --mount <DiskPath> --bare
Jul 27, 2023 at 8:12 comment added Benjamin Krausse DB Hmm, I don't have a Linux machine available at the moment (this being a work computer, unfortunately there are no real Linux options available for us). Is there any Windows equivalent? Or any way to get this running on Windows?
Jul 27, 2023 at 1:07 history answered David A CC BY-SA 4.0