Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

8
  • 2
    This was the very first thing I tried. Everything looks great, but when I try to print a test page it just sits in the queue until Windows finally tells me that the document failed to print. Either the printer or the JetDirect module is rejecting PCL6. I was able to get the PS version of the driver "working", but images take forever to spool and often fail to print (or in some cases I end up with hundreds of pages of PostScript code being printed instead of the rendered document, requiring me to babysit every print job). Your answer may work with some printers, but not mine.
    – Parker
    Commented Jul 18, 2023 at 18:47
  • 1
    @Parker Oh I get it now. Sorry I was'nt more of help. That's worked for me 99% of the time, when I worked as IT
    – Netan
    Commented Jul 19, 2023 at 15:57
  • 1
    I hear you. I did my time as a SysAdmin for years, and believe me, I prefer to use the most recent version wherever possible. This was just one of those edge cases where there is just barely a solution.
    – Parker
    Commented Jul 20, 2023 at 0:22
  • 1
    HP did some very confusing naming. Although technically, yes, they used PCL6 Standard (emphasis on Standard) to denote a compatible version, most of what you'll find under the name PCL6 is actually PCL6 Enhanced (formerly known as PCL XL) that's completely different from PCL5, they don't even look remotely similar. It's very unlikely to find a real PCL6 driver that would print anything to a former PCL5 printer. (Source: I'm author of a printing app that can print to both formats, without any OS drivers, generating its own printer data from the first byte to the last one).
    – Gábor
    Commented Jul 21, 2023 at 0:25
  • 1
    @Parker No, certainly not, I wouldn't mind. Your LJ 1300 is, as far as I can tell from any printer format data I have, a PostScript plus PCL6 printer. I treat it as "real" PCL6, that's Enhanced. So does the Linux world: openprinting.org/printers (this actually suggests all three, PS, PCL5 and PCL6).
    – Gábor
    Commented Jul 26, 2023 at 8:15