Skip to main content
Updating question/answer to reflect an attempt to reproduce the problem/solution.
Source Link
Parker
  • 925
  • 1
  • 10
  • 22

I found a solution. The Wayback Machine has an archive of the last version of UPD that contained a PCL5 driver (version 6.1.0):

I installed UPD 6.1.0 and went through the wizard to create the printer. I used the IP Address option to create a Standard TCP/IP Port (IP Address, Generic Network Card - NOT JetDirect), port 9100, raw).

UPD 6.1.0 PCL5

The test page worked, which was great, but it also had all of the HP Universal Driver nag windows popping up during the print job.

So, I deleted the printer but left the port, and created a new network printer using the manual option. This time, "hp LaserJet 1300 PCL 5" was a driver option! This came from the "failed" attempt at installing this driver:

With UpdateID: f2550b86-0b07-47f4-9f95-888c1e6769c7 (available without clicking "Have Disk"drivers_af41d239df5205c515b59d342f910a4a916e54b9.cab)!, I repeatedly was prompted to install the driver every time I attempted to print. Ultimately, this driver version (6.1.7233.1) was the one that ended up working. However, if this is done when creating a new printer, it will work fine.

hp LaserJet 1300 PCL 5 driver

I selected the "hp LaserJet 1300 PCL 5" driver, and this printer is working perfectly with Windows 10 now (without the HP pop-ups).

hp LaserJet 1300 PCL 5 device

Port Settings

I found a solution. The Wayback Machine has an archive of the last version of UPD that contained a PCL5 driver (version 6.1.0):

I installed UPD 6.1.0 and went through the wizard to create the printer. I used the IP Address option to create a Standard TCP/IP Port (IP Address, Generic Network Card - NOT JetDirect), port 9100, raw).

UPD 6.1.0 PCL5

The test page worked, which was great, but it also had all of the HP Universal Driver nag windows popping up during the print job.

So, I deleted the printer but left the port, and created a new network printer using the manual option. This time, "hp LaserJet 1300 PCL 5" was a driver option (available without clicking "Have Disk")!

hp LaserJet 1300 PCL 5 driver

I selected the "hp LaserJet 1300 PCL 5" driver, and this printer is working perfectly with Windows 10 now (without the HP pop-ups).

hp LaserJet 1300 PCL 5 device

Port Settings

I found a solution. The Wayback Machine has an archive of the last version of UPD that contained a PCL5 driver (version 6.1.0):

I installed UPD 6.1.0 and went through the wizard to create the printer. I used the IP Address option to create a Standard TCP/IP Port (IP Address, Generic Network Card - NOT JetDirect), port 9100, raw).

UPD 6.1.0 PCL5

The test page worked, which was great, but it also had all of the HP Universal Driver nag windows popping up during the print job.

So, I deleted the printer but left the port, and created a new network printer using the manual option. This time, "hp LaserJet 1300 PCL 5" was a driver option! This came from the "failed" attempt at installing this driver:

With UpdateID: f2550b86-0b07-47f4-9f95-888c1e6769c7 (drivers_af41d239df5205c515b59d342f910a4a916e54b9.cab), I repeatedly was prompted to install the driver every time I attempted to print. Ultimately, this driver version (6.1.7233.1) was the one that ended up working. However, if this is done when creating a new printer, it will work fine.

hp LaserJet 1300 PCL 5 driver

I selected the "hp LaserJet 1300 PCL 5" driver, and this printer is working perfectly with Windows 10 now (without the HP pop-ups).

hp LaserJet 1300 PCL 5 device

Port Settings

Slight rephrasing for clarity.
Source Link
Parker
  • 925
  • 1
  • 10
  • 22

I found a solution. The Wayback Machine has an archive of the last version of UPD that contained a PCL5 driver (version 6.1.0):

I installed UPD 6.1.0 and went through the wizard to create the printer. I used the IP Address option to create a Standard TCP/IP Port (IP Address, Generic Network Card - NOT JetDirect), port 9100, raw).

UPD 6.1.0 PCL5

The test page worked, which was great, but it also had all of the HP Universal Driver nag windows popping up during the print job.

So, I deleted the printer but left the port, and created a new network printer using the manual option. This time, "hp LaserJet 1300 PCL 5" was a driver option (available without clicking "Have Disk")!

hp LaserJet 1300 PCL 5 driver

I selected the "hp LaserJet 1300 PCL 5" driver, and this printer is working perfectly with Windows 10 now (without the HP pop-ups).

hp LaserJet 1300 PCL 5 device

Port Settings

I found a solution. The Wayback Machine has an archive of the last version of UPD that contained a PCL5 driver (version 6.1.0):

I installed UPD 6.1.0 and went through the wizard to create the printer. I used the IP Address option to create a Standard TCP/IP Port (IP Address, Generic Network Card - NOT JetDirect), port 9100, raw).

UPD 6.1.0 PCL5

The test page worked, which was great, but it also had all of the HP Universal Driver nag windows popping up during the print job.

So, I deleted the printer but left the port, and created a new network printer using the manual option. This time, "hp LaserJet 1300 PCL 5" was a driver option!

hp LaserJet 1300 PCL 5 driver

I selected the "hp LaserJet 1300 PCL 5" driver, and this printer is working perfectly with Windows 10 now (without the HP pop-ups).

hp LaserJet 1300 PCL 5 device

Port Settings

I found a solution. The Wayback Machine has an archive of the last version of UPD that contained a PCL5 driver (version 6.1.0):

I installed UPD 6.1.0 and went through the wizard to create the printer. I used the IP Address option to create a Standard TCP/IP Port (IP Address, Generic Network Card - NOT JetDirect), port 9100, raw).

UPD 6.1.0 PCL5

The test page worked, which was great, but it also had all of the HP Universal Driver nag windows popping up during the print job.

So, I deleted the printer but left the port, and created a new network printer using the manual option. This time, "hp LaserJet 1300 PCL 5" was a driver option (available without clicking "Have Disk")!

hp LaserJet 1300 PCL 5 driver

I selected the "hp LaserJet 1300 PCL 5" driver, and this printer is working perfectly with Windows 10 now (without the HP pop-ups).

hp LaserJet 1300 PCL 5 device

Port Settings

Added another screenshot.
Source Link
Parker
  • 925
  • 1
  • 10
  • 22

I found a solution. The Wayback Machine has an archive of the last version of UPD that contained a PCL5 driver (version 6.1.0):

I installed UPD 6.1.0 and went through the wizard to create the printer. I used the IP Address option to create a Standard TCP/IP Port (IP Address, Generic Network Card - NOT JetDirect), port 9100, raw).

UPD 6.1.0 PCL5

The test page worked, which was great, but it also had all of the HP Universal Driver nag windows popping up during the print job.

So, I deleted the printer but left the port, and created a new network printer using the manual option. This time, "hp LaserJet 1300 PCL 5" was a driver option!

hp LaserJet 1300 PCL 5 driver

I selected the "hp LaserJet 1300 PCL 5" driver, and this printer is working perfectly with Windows 10 now (without the HP pop-ups).

hp LaserJet 1300 PCL 5 device

Port Settings

I found a solution. The Wayback Machine has an archive of the last version of UPD that contained a PCL5 driver (version 6.1.0):

I installed UPD 6.1.0 and went through the wizard to create the printer. I used the IP Address option to create a Standard TCP/IP Port (IP Address, Generic Network Card - NOT JetDirect), port 9100, raw).

The test page worked, which was great, but it also had all of the HP Universal Driver nag windows popping up during the print job.

So, I deleted the printer but left the port, and created a new network printer using the manual option. This time, "hp LaserJet 1300 PCL 5" was a driver option!

hp LaserJet 1300 PCL 5 driver

I selected the "hp LaserJet 1300 PCL 5" driver, and this printer is working perfectly with Windows 10 now (without the HP pop-ups).

hp LaserJet 1300 PCL 5 device

Port Settings

I found a solution. The Wayback Machine has an archive of the last version of UPD that contained a PCL5 driver (version 6.1.0):

I installed UPD 6.1.0 and went through the wizard to create the printer. I used the IP Address option to create a Standard TCP/IP Port (IP Address, Generic Network Card - NOT JetDirect), port 9100, raw).

UPD 6.1.0 PCL5

The test page worked, which was great, but it also had all of the HP Universal Driver nag windows popping up during the print job.

So, I deleted the printer but left the port, and created a new network printer using the manual option. This time, "hp LaserJet 1300 PCL 5" was a driver option!

hp LaserJet 1300 PCL 5 driver

I selected the "hp LaserJet 1300 PCL 5" driver, and this printer is working perfectly with Windows 10 now (without the HP pop-ups).

hp LaserJet 1300 PCL 5 device

Port Settings

Slight rephrasing for clarity.
Source Link
Parker
  • 925
  • 1
  • 10
  • 22
Loading
Source Link
Parker
  • 925
  • 1
  • 10
  • 22
Loading