Skip to main content
6 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Sep 19, 2023 at 9:22 comment added Fajela Tajkiya @Robert It's not possible in my case. The software is a commercial one, and it's heavily tested on all supported OSs. The issue only happened on my laptop. I'm sure it will work in clean VMs.
Sep 18, 2023 at 13:26 comment added Robert The common way is to install the software in a clean environment, e.g. a new Windows VM. Then you will see if it works or not. Or you use you current Windows and step-by-step close all applications and disable all services.
Jun 12, 2023 at 3:39 comment added Señor CMasMas You might be able to create the right filters within procmon to see this behavior by watching what took place when. If you know how to use a proper debugger, you might also be able to debug when the WM_QUIT message comes in a debug the stack. This will be difficult but do-able.
Jun 12, 2023 at 3:24 comment added Fajela Tajkiya This is a simplified scenario of my actual problem. I have installed an application. When I start it, it runs, and I can even see its splash windows. But after that, it exits immediately. I suspect it's one of the program on my computer killed it, but I don't have proof.
Jun 12, 2023 at 2:16 comment added Señor CMasMas Procmon is not going to show you what took place inside the exe when it got the exit message. The message itself came from the kernel and because it was a windowed application, it recieved a WM_QUIT message in it's message queue and the application did what it was told. In the case of notepad, technically, you could watch the window messages using spy++ and see this behavior but I don't understand the point of this exercise. You have me intrigued. Perhaps someone has better info.
Jun 12, 2023 at 0:19 history asked Fajela Tajkiya CC BY-SA 4.0