Skip to main content

A bit of background information on why I'm asking this question and my goal:

I'm trying to get the volume mixer to save my settings but it doesn't work for certain apps, namely Windows Media Player. I lower the volume to half, but when I close and reopen the app it goes back to max volume.

After a bit of research I found that Windows saves or automatically generates these values in the registry key HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\LowRegistry\Audio\PolicyConfig\PropertyStore
and that I could use AppAudioConfig to interpret these values.

However, the process for Windows Media Player did not show up at all in the list of applications in AppAudioConfig, which meant Windows was not generating a registry key for it.

I'm trying to solve the problem by manually adding a registry key and maybe copying the values over, but the names associated with each program are effectively random to me. For example, the registry key that was generated with firefoxFirefox for me was c69570e8_0.

screenshot of AppAudioConfig
Screenshot of AppAudioConfig screenshot of registryenter image description here

Screenshot of registry enter image description here

How do I find/generate the associated registry key name for an executable?

A bit of background information on why I'm asking this question and my goal:

I'm trying to get the volume mixer to save my settings but it doesn't work for certain apps, namely Windows Media Player. I lower the volume to half, but when I close and reopen the app it goes back to max volume.

After a bit of research I found that Windows saves or automatically generates these values in the registry key HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\LowRegistry\Audio\PolicyConfig\PropertyStore
and that I could use AppAudioConfig to interpret these values.

However, the process for Windows Media Player did not show up at all in the list of applications in AppAudioConfig, which meant Windows was not generating a registry key for it.

I'm trying to solve the problem by manually adding a registry key and maybe copying the values over, but the names associated with each program are effectively random to me. For example, the registry key that was generated with firefox for me was c69570e8_0.

screenshot of AppAudioConfig
screenshot of registry

How do I find/generate the associated registry key name for an executable?

A bit of background information on why I'm asking this question and my goal:

I'm trying to get the volume mixer to save my settings but it doesn't work for certain apps, namely Windows Media Player. I lower the volume to half, but when I close and reopen the app it goes back to max volume.

After a bit of research I found that Windows saves or automatically generates these values in the registry key HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\LowRegistry\Audio\PolicyConfig\PropertyStore
and that I could use AppAudioConfig to interpret these values.

However, the process for Windows Media Player did not show up at all in the list of applications in AppAudioConfig, which meant Windows was not generating a registry key for it.

I'm trying to solve the problem by manually adding a registry key and maybe copying the values over, but the names associated with each program are effectively random to me. For example, the registry key that was generated with Firefox for me was c69570e8_0.

Screenshot of AppAudioConfig enter image description here

Screenshot of registry enter image description here

How do I find/generate the associated registry key name for an executable?

Source Link
user1805142
user1805142

How do I find/generate the registry key name associated with a program?

A bit of background information on why I'm asking this question and my goal:

I'm trying to get the volume mixer to save my settings but it doesn't work for certain apps, namely Windows Media Player. I lower the volume to half, but when I close and reopen the app it goes back to max volume.

After a bit of research I found that Windows saves or automatically generates these values in the registry key HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\LowRegistry\Audio\PolicyConfig\PropertyStore
and that I could use AppAudioConfig to interpret these values.

However, the process for Windows Media Player did not show up at all in the list of applications in AppAudioConfig, which meant Windows was not generating a registry key for it.

I'm trying to solve the problem by manually adding a registry key and maybe copying the values over, but the names associated with each program are effectively random to me. For example, the registry key that was generated with firefox for me was c69570e8_0.

screenshot of AppAudioConfig
screenshot of registry

How do I find/generate the associated registry key name for an executable?