Skip to main content
Correct title
Link
music2myear
  • 43.2k
  • 50
  • 89
  • 129

What happens ifmay be causing C Drive storage increases of more than 20GB overnight?

add reply for sustainable development
Source Link

Desciption

Windows 10 user here. As the title says, somehow overnight my C drive has been populated with 20GB of data overnight. The situation happened recently, and is something new, as it has not happened in the past.

My C Drive has normally around 25GB of free space left, but after going to sleep this space shrank to around 3GB (in fact the system broke down when I woke it up in the morning).

"broke down" means not returning back to Windows Desktop as usual but to become bluescreen anouncing "Your device has met problem, need reboot"(translated into English), and the terminal code was MEMORY_MANAGEMENT

Is this caused by some kind of virus or perhaps some user settings?

Before:

Normal capacity

Bluescreen during waking up:

Bluescreen

After:

Capacity after sleep

What's interesting is that if I shutdown and reboot, the free space will return to normal once more.

My Effort (or the Details)

I've tried to detect what happened using SpaceSniffer but saw nothing out of the ordinary.

Before: SpaceSniffer: normal

After: SpaceSniffer: abnormal

I've also checked Windows EventViewer, and I remembered that there was no event during the sleep.


new observation

  • I let my pc sleep(click Power->Sleep in) for just a while(around 10 minutes) before waking it up(by pressing keyboard), the situation remained the same(this time the space left around 5GB).
  • Directly reboot won't let the free space come back, only shutdown + boot would do.

Maybe it's some system error? (Oh I should check BSOD Error)

Thank you all very much for help!!! I would try those methods and report them if I'm free (tons of exams and deadlines are coming (´;ω;`)

Desciption

Windows 10 user here. As the title says, somehow overnight my C drive has been populated with 20GB of data overnight. The situation happened recently, and is something new, as it has not happened in the past.

My C Drive has normally around 25GB of free space left, but after going to sleep this space shrank to around 3GB (in fact the system broke down when I woke it up in the morning).

"broke down" means not returning back to Windows Desktop as usual but to become bluescreen anouncing "Your device has met problem, need reboot"(translated into English), and the terminal code was MEMORY_MANAGEMENT

Is this caused by some kind of virus or perhaps some user settings?

Before:

Normal capacity

Bluescreen during waking up:

Bluescreen

After:

Capacity after sleep

What's interesting is that if I shutdown and reboot, the free space will return to normal once more.

My Effort (or the Details)

I've tried to detect what happened using SpaceSniffer but saw nothing out of the ordinary.

Before: SpaceSniffer: normal

After: SpaceSniffer: abnormal

I've also checked Windows EventViewer, and I remembered that there was no event during the sleep.


new observation

  • I let my pc sleep(click Power->Sleep in) for just a while(around 10 minutes) before waking it up(by pressing keyboard), the situation remained the same(this time the space left around 5GB).
  • Directly reboot won't let the free space come back, only shutdown + boot would do.

Maybe it's some system error? (Oh I should check BSOD Error)

Desciption

Windows 10 user here. As the title says, somehow overnight my C drive has been populated with 20GB of data overnight. The situation happened recently, and is something new, as it has not happened in the past.

My C Drive has normally around 25GB of free space left, but after going to sleep this space shrank to around 3GB (in fact the system broke down when I woke it up in the morning).

"broke down" means not returning back to Windows Desktop as usual but to become bluescreen anouncing "Your device has met problem, need reboot"(translated into English), and the terminal code was MEMORY_MANAGEMENT

Is this caused by some kind of virus or perhaps some user settings?

Before:

Normal capacity

Bluescreen during waking up:

Bluescreen

After:

Capacity after sleep

What's interesting is that if I shutdown and reboot, the free space will return to normal once more.

My Effort (or the Details)

I've tried to detect what happened using SpaceSniffer but saw nothing out of the ordinary.

Before: SpaceSniffer: normal

After: SpaceSniffer: abnormal

I've also checked Windows EventViewer, and I remembered that there was no event during the sleep.


new observation

  • I let my pc sleep(click Power->Sleep in) for just a while(around 10 minutes) before waking it up(by pressing keyboard), the situation remained the same(this time the space left around 5GB).
  • Directly reboot won't let the free space come back, only shutdown + boot would do.

Maybe it's some system error? (Oh I should check BSOD Error)

Thank you all very much for help!!! I would try those methods and report them if I'm free (tons of exams and deadlines are coming (´;ω;`)

added 750 characters in body
Source Link

Desciption

Windows 10 user here. As the title says, somehow overnight my C drive has been populated with 20GB of data overnight. The situation happened recently, and is something new, as it has not happened in the past.

My C Drive has normally around 25GB of free space left, but after going to sleep this space shrank to around 3GB (in fact the system broke down when I woke it up in the morning).

"broke down" means not returning back to Windows Desktop as usual but to become bluescreen anouncing "Your device has met problem, need reboot"(translated into English), and the terminal code was MEMORY_MANAGEMENT

Is this caused by some kind of virus or perhaps some user settings?

Before:

Normal capacity

Bluescreen during waking up:

Bluescreen

After:   

Capacity after sleep

What's interesting is that if I shutdown and reboot, the free space will return to normal once more.


 

My Effort (or the Details)

I've tried to detect what happened using SpaceSniffer but saw nothing out of the ordinary.

Before: SpaceSniffer: normal

After: SpaceSniffer: abnormal

I've also checked Windows EventViewer, and I remembered that there was no event during the sleep.


new observation

  • I let my pc sleep(click Power->Sleep in) for just a while(around 10 minutes) before waking it up(by pressing keyboard), the situation remained the same(this time the space left around 5GB).
  • Directly reboot won't let the free space come back, only shutdown + boot would do.

Maybe it's some system error? (Oh I should check BSOD Error)

Windows 10 user here. As the title says, somehow overnight my C drive has been populated with 20GB of data overnight. The situation happened recently, and is something new, as it has not happened in the past.

My C Drive has normally around 25GB of free space left, but after going to sleep this space shrank to around 3GB (in fact the system broke down when I woke it up in the morning).

Is this caused by some kind of virus or perhaps some user settings?

Before:

Normal capacity

After:  Capacity after sleep

What's interesting is that if I shutdown and reboot, the free space will return to normal once more.


 

I've tried to detect what happened using SpaceSniffer but saw nothing out of the ordinary.

Before: SpaceSniffer: normal

After: SpaceSniffer: abnormal

I've also checked Windows EventViewer, and I remembered that there was no event during the sleep.

Desciption

Windows 10 user here. As the title says, somehow overnight my C drive has been populated with 20GB of data overnight. The situation happened recently, and is something new, as it has not happened in the past.

My C Drive has normally around 25GB of free space left, but after going to sleep this space shrank to around 3GB (in fact the system broke down when I woke it up in the morning).

"broke down" means not returning back to Windows Desktop as usual but to become bluescreen anouncing "Your device has met problem, need reboot"(translated into English), and the terminal code was MEMORY_MANAGEMENT

Is this caused by some kind of virus or perhaps some user settings?

Before:

Normal capacity

Bluescreen during waking up:

Bluescreen

After: 

Capacity after sleep

What's interesting is that if I shutdown and reboot, the free space will return to normal once more.

My Effort (or the Details)

I've tried to detect what happened using SpaceSniffer but saw nothing out of the ordinary.

Before: SpaceSniffer: normal

After: SpaceSniffer: abnormal

I've also checked Windows EventViewer, and I remembered that there was no event during the sleep.


new observation

  • I let my pc sleep(click Power->Sleep in) for just a while(around 10 minutes) before waking it up(by pressing keyboard), the situation remained the same(this time the space left around 5GB).
  • Directly reboot won't let the free space come back, only shutdown + boot would do.

Maybe it's some system error? (Oh I should check BSOD Error)

added 105 characters in body
Source Link
Loading
Inline images
Source Link
Destroy666
  • 7.4k
  • 10
  • 23
  • 43
Loading
Source Link
Loading