Skip to main content
More info, I guess?
Source Link
martixy
  • 937
  • 2
  • 9
  • 21

I have the exact same image in 2 locations:

a) A local drive
b) A network drive

I add the image to the VM, create a snapshot and immediately see a small file (e.g. {e7883218-ea9e-4146-8fbf-54e31b9411ce}.vdi appear in the Snapshots dir of the VM. Starting the VM makes that file grow, while the original image is untouched as expected and all seems well in the world.

Adding an image from a network location (a samba share on my NAS) and taking a snapshot, no such sequence of events occurs. There is no snapshot taken and when booted, the original image is modified in place, on the network.

I would very much like to boot from the network, while maintaining snapshots locally.

Is this a bug? A setting I missed? Some misconfiguration?
My google fu has failed me miserably as every search query returns unrelated results.

Keep in mind the distinction is local vs network drive, not drive where VM is located vs not. If the drive is local, even if it's not the same as where the VM is located, it will still correctly make snapshots.

Edit: I tried being clever and creating a symlink from the network share to my local machine, then adding that. It did not work. :)

Edit2: Log says the following when trying to create a snapshot: ERROR [COM]: aRC=VBOX_E_INVALID_VM_STATE (0x80bb0002) aIID={300763af-5d6b-46e6-aa96-273eac15538a} aComponent={MachineWrap} aText={The machine is not mutable (state is PoweredOff)}, preserve=false aResultDetail=0
VBox

Edit3: Creating via CLI says Snapshot taken and gives some UUID, with no error, but there is no snapshot (log still has the error).

VBox v7.0.8 btw.

I have the exact same image in 2 locations:

a) A local drive
b) A network drive

I add the image to the VM, create a snapshot and immediately see a small file (e.g. {e7883218-ea9e-4146-8fbf-54e31b9411ce}.vdi appear in the Snapshots dir of the VM. Starting the VM makes that file grow, while the original image is untouched as expected and all seems well in the world.

Adding an image from a network location (a samba share on my NAS) and taking a snapshot, no such sequence of events occurs. There is no snapshot taken and when booted, the original image is modified in place, on the network.

I would very much like to boot from the network, while maintaining snapshots locally.

Is this a bug? A setting I missed? Some misconfiguration?
My google fu has failed me miserably as every search query returns unrelated results.

Keep in mind the distinction is local vs network drive, not drive where VM is located vs not. If the drive is local, even if it's not the same as where the VM is located, it will still correctly make snapshots.

Edit: I tried being clever and creating a symlink from the network share to my local machine, then adding that. It did not work. :)

Edit2: Log says the following when trying to create a snapshot: ERROR [COM]: aRC=VBOX_E_INVALID_VM_STATE (0x80bb0002) aIID={300763af-5d6b-46e6-aa96-273eac15538a} aComponent={MachineWrap} aText={The machine is not mutable (state is PoweredOff)}, preserve=false aResultDetail=0
VBox v7.0.8 btw.

I have the exact same image in 2 locations:

a) A local drive
b) A network drive

I add the image to the VM, create a snapshot and immediately see a small file (e.g. {e7883218-ea9e-4146-8fbf-54e31b9411ce}.vdi appear in the Snapshots dir of the VM. Starting the VM makes that file grow, while the original image is untouched as expected and all seems well in the world.

Adding an image from a network location (a samba share on my NAS) and taking a snapshot, no such sequence of events occurs. There is no snapshot taken and when booted, the original image is modified in place, on the network.

I would very much like to boot from the network, while maintaining snapshots locally.

Is this a bug? A setting I missed? Some misconfiguration?
My google fu has failed me miserably as every search query returns unrelated results.

Keep in mind the distinction is local vs network drive, not drive where VM is located vs not. If the drive is local, even if it's not the same as where the VM is located, it will still correctly make snapshots.

Edit: I tried being clever and creating a symlink from the network share to my local machine, then adding that. It did not work. :)

Edit2: Log says the following when trying to create a snapshot: ERROR [COM]: aRC=VBOX_E_INVALID_VM_STATE (0x80bb0002) aIID={300763af-5d6b-46e6-aa96-273eac15538a} aComponent={MachineWrap} aText={The machine is not mutable (state is PoweredOff)}, preserve=false aResultDetail=0

Edit3: Creating via CLI says Snapshot taken and gives some UUID, with no error, but there is no snapshot (log still has the error).

VBox v7.0.8 btw.

Logs!
Source Link
martixy
  • 937
  • 2
  • 9
  • 21

I have the exact same image in 2 locations:

a) A local drive
b) A network drive

I add the image to the VM, create a snapshot and immediately see a small file (e.g. {e7883218-ea9e-4146-8fbf-54e31b9411ce}.vdi appear in the Snapshots dir of the VM. Starting the VM makes that file grow, while the original image is untouched as expected and all seems well in the world.

Adding an image from a network location (a samba share on my NAS) and taking a snapshot, no such sequence of events occurs. There is no snapshot taken and when booted, the original image is modified in place, on the network.

I would very much like to boot from the network, while maintaining snapshots locally.

Is this a bug? A setting I missed? Some misconfiguration?
My google fu has failed me miserably as every search query returns unrelated results.

Keep in mind the distinction is local vs network drive, not drive where VM is located vs not. If the drive is local, even if it's not the same as where the VM is located, it will still correctly make snapshots.

Edit: I tried being clever and creating a symlink from the network share to my local machine, then adding that. It did not work. :)

Edit2: Log says the following when trying to create a snapshot: ERROR [COM]: aRC=VBOX_E_INVALID_VM_STATE (0x80bb0002) aIID={300763af-5d6b-46e6-aa96-273eac15538a} aComponent={MachineWrap} aText={The machine is not mutable (state is PoweredOff)}, preserve=false aResultDetail=0
VBox v7.0.8 btw.

I have the exact same image in 2 locations:

a) A local drive
b) A network drive

I add the image to the VM, create a snapshot and immediately see a small file (e.g. {e7883218-ea9e-4146-8fbf-54e31b9411ce}.vdi appear in the Snapshots dir of the VM. Starting the VM makes that file grow, while the original image is untouched as expected and all seems well in the world.

Adding an image from a network location (a samba share on my NAS) and taking a snapshot, no such sequence of events occurs. There is no snapshot taken and when booted, the original image is modified in place, on the network.

I would very much like to boot from the network, while maintaining snapshots locally.

Is this a bug? A setting I missed? Some misconfiguration?
My google fu has failed me miserably as every search query returns unrelated results.

Keep in mind the distinction is local vs network drive, not drive where VM is located vs not. If the drive is local, even if it's not the same as where the VM is located, it will still correctly make snapshots.

Edit: I tried being clever and creating a symlink from the network share to my local machine, then adding that. It did not work. :)

I have the exact same image in 2 locations:

a) A local drive
b) A network drive

I add the image to the VM, create a snapshot and immediately see a small file (e.g. {e7883218-ea9e-4146-8fbf-54e31b9411ce}.vdi appear in the Snapshots dir of the VM. Starting the VM makes that file grow, while the original image is untouched as expected and all seems well in the world.

Adding an image from a network location (a samba share on my NAS) and taking a snapshot, no such sequence of events occurs. There is no snapshot taken and when booted, the original image is modified in place, on the network.

I would very much like to boot from the network, while maintaining snapshots locally.

Is this a bug? A setting I missed? Some misconfiguration?
My google fu has failed me miserably as every search query returns unrelated results.

Keep in mind the distinction is local vs network drive, not drive where VM is located vs not. If the drive is local, even if it's not the same as where the VM is located, it will still correctly make snapshots.

Edit: I tried being clever and creating a symlink from the network share to my local machine, then adding that. It did not work. :)

Edit2: Log says the following when trying to create a snapshot: ERROR [COM]: aRC=VBOX_E_INVALID_VM_STATE (0x80bb0002) aIID={300763af-5d6b-46e6-aa96-273eac15538a} aComponent={MachineWrap} aText={The machine is not mutable (state is PoweredOff)}, preserve=false aResultDetail=0
VBox v7.0.8 btw.

More info
Source Link
martixy
  • 937
  • 2
  • 9
  • 21

I have the exact same image in 2 locations:

a) A local drive
b) A network drive

I add the image to the VM, create a snapshot and immediately see a small file (e.g. {e7883218-ea9e-4146-8fbf-54e31b9411ce}.vdi appear in the Snapshots dir of the VM. Starting the VM makes that file grow, while the original image is untouched as expected and all seems well in the world.

Adding an image from a network location (a samba share on my NAS) and taking a snapshot, no such sequence of events occurs. There is no snapshot taken and when booted, the original image is modified in place, on the network.

I would very much like to boot from the network, while maintaining snapshots locally.

Is this a bug? A setting I missed? Some misconfiguration?
My google fu has failed me miserably as every search query returns unrelated results.

Keep in mind the distinction is local vs network drive, not drive where VM is located vs not. If the drive is local, even if it's not the same as where the VM is located, it will still correctly make snapshots.

Edit: I tried being clever and creating a symlink from the network share to my local machine, then adding that. It did not work. :)

I have the exact same image in 2 locations:

a) A local drive
b) A network drive

I add the image to the VM, create a snapshot and immediately see a small file (e.g. {e7883218-ea9e-4146-8fbf-54e31b9411ce}.vdi appear in the Snapshots dir of the VM. Starting the VM makes that file grow, while the original image is untouched as expected and all seems well in the world.

Adding an image from a network location (a samba share on my NAS) and taking a snapshot, no such sequence of events occurs. There is no snapshot taken and when booted, the original image is modified in place, on the network.

I would very much like to boot from the network, while maintaining snapshots locally.

Is this a bug? A setting I missed? Some misconfiguration?
My google fu has failed me miserably as every search query returns unrelated results.

Keep in mind the distinction is local vs network drive, not drive where VM is located vs not. If the drive is local, even if it's not the same as where the VM is located, it will still correctly make snapshots.

I have the exact same image in 2 locations:

a) A local drive
b) A network drive

I add the image to the VM, create a snapshot and immediately see a small file (e.g. {e7883218-ea9e-4146-8fbf-54e31b9411ce}.vdi appear in the Snapshots dir of the VM. Starting the VM makes that file grow, while the original image is untouched as expected and all seems well in the world.

Adding an image from a network location (a samba share on my NAS) and taking a snapshot, no such sequence of events occurs. There is no snapshot taken and when booted, the original image is modified in place, on the network.

I would very much like to boot from the network, while maintaining snapshots locally.

Is this a bug? A setting I missed? Some misconfiguration?
My google fu has failed me miserably as every search query returns unrelated results.

Keep in mind the distinction is local vs network drive, not drive where VM is located vs not. If the drive is local, even if it's not the same as where the VM is located, it will still correctly make snapshots.

Edit: I tried being clever and creating a symlink from the network share to my local machine, then adding that. It did not work. :)

Source Link
martixy
  • 937
  • 2
  • 9
  • 21
Loading