Skip to main content
added 234 characters in body
Source Link
Tyler Durden
  • 6.2k
  • 19
  • 61
  • 106

I am having trouble connecting an iPad to other computers on my local network, which is provided by a cable modem. The cable modem has a number of static IPs available to it. I have a linux computer plugged into the modem and it has one of these static IPs which is manually configured.

I know the computer can talk to devices on the local network. For example, I have a printer that only has a local address which is 10.1.10.190 and the linux computer can print to that printer by sending to that local address.

When I connect the iPad to the cable modem via a cable the ethernet interface says that it has a IP address of 10.1.10.161 (and several automatically discovered IPv6 addresses). The browser on the IP works, so I know it is has network connectivity.

The problem is that when I use KDE Connect, the computer and iPad are not finding each other. Even if I manually enter the computers IPv4 address (96.79.X.X) in KDE Connect it still does not find the computer.

I thought if I could find the computers local address (10.1.10.X) then I could manually put that in KDE Connect but I do not know how to find out that local address on Linux. If I do "sudo ip address" for example, it just shows the IPv4 address, not any local address.

Note that if I do a command like "netcat -z -v 10.1.10.161 1716" on the linux machine, then I get the answer "ipad.hsd1.nh.comcast.net [10.1.10.161] 1716 (xmsg) open" so the linux machine can apparently definitely access the iPad.

What is my next move?

I am having trouble connecting an iPad to other computers on my local network, which is provided by a cable modem. The cable modem has a number of static IPs available to it. I have a linux computer plugged into the modem and it has one of these static IPs which is manually configured.

I know the computer can talk to devices on the local network. For example, I have a printer that only has a local address which is 10.1.10.190 and the linux computer can print to that printer by sending to that local address.

When I connect the iPad to the cable modem via a cable the ethernet interface says that it has a IP address of 10.1.10.161 (and several automatically discovered IPv6 addresses). The browser on the IP works, so I know it is has network connectivity.

The problem is that when I use KDE Connect, the computer and iPad are not finding each other. Even if I manually enter the computers IPv4 address (96.79.X.X) in KDE Connect it still does not find the computer.

I thought if I could find the computers local address (10.1.10.X) then I could manually put that in KDE Connect but I do not know how to find out that local address on Linux. If I do "sudo ip address" for example, it just shows the IPv4 address, not any local address.

What is my next move?

I am having trouble connecting an iPad to other computers on my local network, which is provided by a cable modem. The cable modem has a number of static IPs available to it. I have a linux computer plugged into the modem and it has one of these static IPs which is manually configured.

I know the computer can talk to devices on the local network. For example, I have a printer that only has a local address which is 10.1.10.190 and the linux computer can print to that printer by sending to that local address.

When I connect the iPad to the cable modem via a cable the ethernet interface says that it has a IP address of 10.1.10.161 (and several automatically discovered IPv6 addresses). The browser on the IP works, so I know it is has network connectivity.

The problem is that when I use KDE Connect, the computer and iPad are not finding each other. Even if I manually enter the computers IPv4 address (96.79.X.X) in KDE Connect it still does not find the computer.

I thought if I could find the computers local address (10.1.10.X) then I could manually put that in KDE Connect but I do not know how to find out that local address on Linux. If I do "sudo ip address" for example, it just shows the IPv4 address, not any local address.

Note that if I do a command like "netcat -z -v 10.1.10.161 1716" on the linux machine, then I get the answer "ipad.hsd1.nh.comcast.net [10.1.10.161] 1716 (xmsg) open" so the linux machine can apparently definitely access the iPad.

What is my next move?

Source Link
Tyler Durden
  • 6.2k
  • 19
  • 61
  • 106

Configure iPad on cable modem ethernet network

I am having trouble connecting an iPad to other computers on my local network, which is provided by a cable modem. The cable modem has a number of static IPs available to it. I have a linux computer plugged into the modem and it has one of these static IPs which is manually configured.

I know the computer can talk to devices on the local network. For example, I have a printer that only has a local address which is 10.1.10.190 and the linux computer can print to that printer by sending to that local address.

When I connect the iPad to the cable modem via a cable the ethernet interface says that it has a IP address of 10.1.10.161 (and several automatically discovered IPv6 addresses). The browser on the IP works, so I know it is has network connectivity.

The problem is that when I use KDE Connect, the computer and iPad are not finding each other. Even if I manually enter the computers IPv4 address (96.79.X.X) in KDE Connect it still does not find the computer.

I thought if I could find the computers local address (10.1.10.X) then I could manually put that in KDE Connect but I do not know how to find out that local address on Linux. If I do "sudo ip address" for example, it just shows the IPv4 address, not any local address.

What is my next move?