Skip to main content
Spelling
Source Link
Dave M
  • 13.2k
  • 25
  • 37
  • 48

So, I am using WSL2 on my Windows 10 Home. What I noticed, windows Windows is reporting that vhdx ext4 partition is 105GB on my disk. But I also have wsl2 added as network drive - and there it is reported just as 89 GB. I already tried running diskpart and compact vhdx space there, it freed a bunch of GBs but I am wondering if I can do something more? Where this size difference is coming from?

So, I am using WSL2 on my Windows 10 Home. What I noticed, windows is reporting that vhdx ext4 partition is 105GB on my disk. But I also have wsl2 added as network drive - and there it is reported just as 89 GB. I already tried running diskpart and compact vhdx space there, it freed a bunch of GBs but I am wondering if I can do something more? Where this size difference is coming from?

I am using WSL2 on my Windows 10 Home. I noticed Windows is reporting that vhdx ext4 partition is 105GB on my disk. But I also have wsl2 added as network drive - and there it is reported just as 89 GB. I already tried running diskpart and compact vhdx space there, it freed a bunch of GBs but I am wondering if I can do something more? Where this size difference is coming from?

Source Link
Juri
  • 103
  • 3

WSL2 ext4 size difference

So, I am using WSL2 on my Windows 10 Home. What I noticed, windows is reporting that vhdx ext4 partition is 105GB on my disk. But I also have wsl2 added as network drive - and there it is reported just as 89 GB. I already tried running diskpart and compact vhdx space there, it freed a bunch of GBs but I am wondering if I can do something more? Where this size difference is coming from?