Skip to main content
added 213 characters in body
Source Link
Cjmarkham
  • 145
  • 2
  • 10

I bought a pre-built PC a couple of months ago. It's working well, but the fans can get very loud. Because of this, I thought I'd check the temperature using the Predator Sense bloat ware that came with the PC and when playing a game (any game), it's hitting 100 degrees C.

I've also verified this temperature with NZXT CAM.

Looking at task manager, I can see the CPU speed go up to 4.0GHz while the base speed is 2.1GHz, is this normal or does this mean it's been overclocked?

The PC came from a basic computer shop (Curry's UK) so not sure if there's an issue with cooling given that it sits at 100 degrees while playing games and only reduces by a few degrees if I set the fan RPM very high (and very loud).

I have nothing but the browser open at the minute and it's sitting at 56 degrees now (I think this is fine for idle?), but the speed in task manager is still around 3.8GHz.

The room is usually cool as I don't like a hot room anyway so there's no issue with ambient temperatures.

enter image description here

Here's an image of the internals. Keeping the side cover off does help reduce the temps from 100 degrees to 70-80 degrees.

Other than those 2 fans (and the GPU fans) there's one at the front but there's not a lot of air flow there (it's also at the bottom so only the GPU really benefits from this.

enter image description here

I bought a pre-built PC a couple of months ago. It's working well, but the fans can get very loud. Because of this, I thought I'd check the temperature using the Predator Sense bloat ware that came with the PC and when playing a game (any game), it's hitting 100 degrees C.

I've also verified this temperature with NZXT CAM.

Looking at task manager, I can see the CPU speed go up to 4.0GHz while the base speed is 2.1GHz, is this normal or does this mean it's been overclocked?

The PC came from a basic computer shop (Curry's UK) so not sure if there's an issue with cooling given that it sits at 100 degrees while playing games and only reduces by a few degrees if I set the fan RPM very high (and very loud).

I have nothing but the browser open at the minute and it's sitting at 56 degrees now (I think this is fine for idle?), but the speed in task manager is still around 3.8GHz.

The room is usually cool as I don't like a hot room anyway so there's no issue with ambient temperatures.

enter image description here

I bought a pre-built PC a couple of months ago. It's working well, but the fans can get very loud. Because of this, I thought I'd check the temperature using the Predator Sense bloat ware that came with the PC and when playing a game (any game), it's hitting 100 degrees C.

I've also verified this temperature with NZXT CAM.

Looking at task manager, I can see the CPU speed go up to 4.0GHz while the base speed is 2.1GHz, is this normal or does this mean it's been overclocked?

The PC came from a basic computer shop (Curry's UK) so not sure if there's an issue with cooling given that it sits at 100 degrees while playing games and only reduces by a few degrees if I set the fan RPM very high (and very loud).

I have nothing but the browser open at the minute and it's sitting at 56 degrees now (I think this is fine for idle?), but the speed in task manager is still around 3.8GHz.

The room is usually cool as I don't like a hot room anyway so there's no issue with ambient temperatures.

enter image description here

Here's an image of the internals. Keeping the side cover off does help reduce the temps from 100 degrees to 70-80 degrees.

Other than those 2 fans (and the GPU fans) there's one at the front but there's not a lot of air flow there (it's also at the bottom so only the GPU really benefits from this.

enter image description here

Source Link
Cjmarkham
  • 145
  • 2
  • 10

CPU running at 100 degrees is my CPU overclocked?

I bought a pre-built PC a couple of months ago. It's working well, but the fans can get very loud. Because of this, I thought I'd check the temperature using the Predator Sense bloat ware that came with the PC and when playing a game (any game), it's hitting 100 degrees C.

I've also verified this temperature with NZXT CAM.

Looking at task manager, I can see the CPU speed go up to 4.0GHz while the base speed is 2.1GHz, is this normal or does this mean it's been overclocked?

The PC came from a basic computer shop (Curry's UK) so not sure if there's an issue with cooling given that it sits at 100 degrees while playing games and only reduces by a few degrees if I set the fan RPM very high (and very loud).

I have nothing but the browser open at the minute and it's sitting at 56 degrees now (I think this is fine for idle?), but the speed in task manager is still around 3.8GHz.

The room is usually cool as I don't like a hot room anyway so there's no issue with ambient temperatures.

enter image description here