Skip to main content
edited tags; edited title
Link

Merged partitions (C: and Recovery Partition) show as unformatted NTFS- How to undo?GPT table recovery

Source Link

Merged partitions (C: and Recovery Partition) show as unformatted NTFS- How to undo?

Wanted to merge multiple partitions on my SSD, and added Windows Recovery partition to the mix as it was sitting between other data partitions. (I believe this was my mistake).

Used MiniTool Partition Wizard, and "queued" multiple merges in the batch.

As C drive as involved in the merge, once I asked MiniTool to apply the changes it rebooted the PC to proceed - after concluding the first merge (C: + Windows Recovery), PC entered in boot loop as couldn't find bootable partition - now shows as unformatted NTFS

I'm now trying to undo this merge. With the help of MiniTool's Partition Recovery Wizard I get this as the current state of my partitions - Current partitions state after merge

The NTFS partition with 593 MB in there is the original Recovery partition - I can see its contents when double clicking on it - The recovery partition & contents, but the merged partition doesn't show any contents.

When looking only at these two partitions (64.89 GB and 593 MB partitions), you can see they almost share the Ending LBA - just a difference of 1

I was thinking that maybe, if I was able to split this 64.89 GB partition in two as per the LBAs below I could be it all back to its original state

Drive Starting LBA Ending LBA Size Comments
C:\ 388212736 523073535 64.3 GB end LBA just before recovery partition starts
WRE 523073536 524287998 593 MB original recovery partition start/end LBAs

Is my reasoning above correct? If so, how could I set these starting & ending LBA changes?

I've made backup of the partitioning table as it stand currently, so at least I can revert to my current state if making these changes doesn't work.

Any other suggestion is well appreciated :)