Skip to main content
added 316 characters in body
Source Link

Edit:

Thanks to the great comments below. Adding the google DNS resolver (8.8.8.8) solved my issue.

What bothers me a bit now is that my website is not available to machines with "default" configuration. Is there any way to get my hostname back in the automatically provided DNS? (as it used to be I guess)

Edit:

Thanks to the great comments below. Adding the google DNS resolver (8.8.8.8) solved my issue.

What bothers me a bit now is that my website is not available to machines with "default" configuration. Is there any way to get my hostname back in the automatically provided DNS? (as it used to be I guess)

added 254 characters in body
Source Link
  • I tried to ssh from 3 different machines (another pop!OS, a mac and an android phone) and ended with the same results. It works with the wan ip but cannot resolve the hostname
  • I also have another partition on that machine running Ubuntu 22.04.1, I booted it up to see if the issue was related to my configuration and I ended up with the exact same issue when I try to ssh to it (works with wan IP but cannot resolve hostname)
  • I tried to ssh from 3 different machines (another pop!OS, a mac and an android phone) and ended with the same results. It works with the wan ip but cannot resolve the hostname
  • I tried to ssh from 3 different machines (another pop!OS, a mac and an android phone) and ended with the same results. It works with the wan ip but cannot resolve the hostname
  • I also have another partition on that machine running Ubuntu 22.04.1, I booted it up to see if the issue was related to my configuration and I ended up with the exact same issue when I try to ssh to it (works with wan IP but cannot resolve hostname)
deleted 157 characters in body
Source Link
  • Check the info on noip.com. Everything seems fine, IP is the one returned by portchecktool.com, hostname is still correct and marked as active (see: screenshot)

    Restart the machine

  • Check ports are open on portchecktool.com. Again, all is fine, http, https and ssh port are open.

    Check the info on noip.com. Everything seems fine, IP is the one returned by portchecktool.com, hostname is still correct and marked as active (see: screenshot)

  • Try nslookup mydomain.ddns.net and it returns the following:

    Check ports are open on portchecktool.com. Again, all is fine, http, https and ssh port are open.

  • Try nslookup mydomain.ddns.net and it returns the following:

  • If I ssh using my WAN ip adress (same as the one seen on portchecktool.com) with the following line: ssh myname@wanip -p sshport everything works and I can access my machine as I used to (my webpages also show up using the ip address).

  • If I enter my hostname in nslookup.io, I see that my wan ip is found and returned

  • The command dig @wan@8.ip8.8.8 mydoamin.ddns.net returns the following:

; <<>> DiG 9.18.1-1ubuntu110.3-Ubuntu6 <<>> @7wan@8.ip8.8.8 mydomain.ddns.net
; (1 server found)
;; global options: +cmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NXDOMAINNOERROR, id: 3529554910
;; flags: qr aa rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 01, AUTHORITY: 10, ADDITIONAL: 1

;; OPT PSEUDOSECTION:
; EDNS: version: 0, flags:; udp: 1232
; COOKIE: 4ee6c53a85c994e9010000006401ee539694fc52901c5236 (good)512
;; QUESTION SECTION:
;mydomain.ddns.net.     IN  A

;; AUTHORITYANSWER SECTION:
mydomain.ddns.net.       84600 60  IN  SOA ns1.edpnet.net. abuse.edpnet.net. 2015012101A 10800 3600 2419200 84600WAN.IP

;; Query time: 1639 msec
;; SERVER: wan8.ip#53(wan8.ip) 8.8#53(UDP8.8.8.8)
;; WHEN: Fri Mar 03 1316:5554:4753 CET 2023
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 12961
  • Check the info on noip.com. Everything seems fine, IP is the one returned by portchecktool.com, hostname is still correct and marked as active (see: screenshot)
  • Check ports are open on portchecktool.com. Again, all is fine, http, https and ssh port are open.
  • Try nslookup mydomain.ddns.net and it returns the following:
  • If I ssh using my WAN ip adress (same as the one seen on portchecktool.com) with the following line: ssh myname@wanip -p sshport everything works and I can access my machine as I used to (my webpages also show up using the ip address).

  • If I enter my hostname in nslookup.io, I see that my wan ip is found and returned

  • The command dig @wan.ip mydoamin.ddns.net returns the following:

; <<>> DiG 9.18.1-1ubuntu1.3-Ubuntu <<>> @7wan.ip mydomain.ddns.net
; (1 server found)
;; global options: +cmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NXDOMAIN, id: 35295
;; flags: qr aa rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 1, ADDITIONAL: 1

;; OPT PSEUDOSECTION:
; EDNS: version: 0, flags:; udp: 1232
; COOKIE: 4ee6c53a85c994e9010000006401ee539694fc52901c5236 (good)
;; QUESTION SECTION:
;mydomain.ddns.net.     IN  A

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
ddns.net.       84600   IN  SOA ns1.edpnet.net. abuse.edpnet.net. 2015012101 10800 3600 2419200 84600

;; Query time: 16 msec
;; SERVER: wan.ip#53(wan.ip) (UDP)
;; WHEN: Fri Mar 03 13:55:47 CET 2023
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 129
  • Restart the machine

  • Check the info on noip.com. Everything seems fine, IP is the one returned by portchecktool.com, hostname is still correct and marked as active (see: screenshot)

  • Check ports are open on portchecktool.com. Again, all is fine, http, https and ssh port are open.

  • Try nslookup mydomain.ddns.net and it returns the following:

  • If I ssh using my WAN ip adress (same as the one seen on portchecktool.com) with the following line: ssh myname@wanip -p sshport everything works and I can access my machine as I used to (my webpages also show up using the ip address).

  • If I enter my hostname in nslookup.io, I see that my wan ip is found and returned

  • The command dig @8.8.8.8 mydoamin.ddns.net returns the following:

; <<>> DiG 9.10.6 <<>> @8.8.8.8 mydomain.ddns.net
; (1 server found)
;; global options: +cmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 54910
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 1

;; OPT PSEUDOSECTION:
; EDNS: version: 0, flags:; udp: 512
;; QUESTION SECTION:
;mydomain.ddns.net.     IN  A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
mydomain.ddns.net.  60  IN  A   WAN.IP

;; Query time: 39 msec
;; SERVER: 8.8.8.8#53(8.8.8.8)
;; WHEN: Fri Mar 03 16:54:53 CET 2023
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 61
added 915 characters in body
Source Link
Loading
added 915 characters in body
Source Link
Loading
Source Link
Loading