Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

4
  • I agree with you that affinity settings should be absolute but ffmpeg is highly tuned to deal with this on it's own. Use the 'threads' command to control it's use of other processors. Know that limiting it's access to procs can also influence the quality of the output (depending on codec). I don't understand why so please don't shoot the messenger. Commented Feb 28, 2023 at 17:13
  • Thanks! I'll look into the threading. I'd rather not have the degradation in converting. Since it's not stopping me from doing things by really bogging the system down...i'll leave it as it is.
    – Phil.G
    Commented Mar 1, 2023 at 15:51
  • If you know how to program (especially c#), controlling affinity from code is rather simple to do. Commented Mar 1, 2023 at 16:07
  • Its been a really long time since I've coded. I'll look into it though.
    – Phil.G
    Commented Mar 5, 2023 at 15:22