Skip to main content
edited tags
Link
added 126 characters in body
Source Link

As I said in this question, I enabled tpm 2.0 on my pc (a custom build with windows 10 on it), and, apparently, this messed up the filesystem or something and I get “WHEA_UNCORRECTABLE_ERROR” and “CLOCK_WATCHDOG_TIMEOUT” after a few seconds or minutes of using it.

No one was able to help me fixing the problem, the best option I was told to do was to clone my ssd (to retrieve the data I wanted) and run a clean install.

QUESTION

My question is: what did I do wrong? How can I prevent something like this? Because my thought process was:

  1. Went to windows update
  2. I saw that I had to enable tpm 2.0 to update to Windows 11
  3. I enabled it, by going to the BIOS (I have a MEG Z590 ACE as motherboard)
  4. Windows started crashing

But I never read any disclaimer or anything that told me to be careful or to not enable the tpm 2.0: was I just unlucky or could have I done something to prevent it? Should I do more research in general before messing with the BIOS? Should I have known what TPM 2.0 was?

  • Note: I’m not asking how to solve the problem, I gave up on it. I’m asking how to avoid doing a similar error in the future.

As I said in this question, I enabled tpm 2.0 on my pc (a custom build with windows 10 on it), and, apparently, this messed up the filesystem or something and I get “WHEA_UNCORRECTABLE_ERROR” and “CLOCK_WATCHDOG_TIMEOUT” after a few seconds or minutes of using it.

No one was able to help me fixing the problem, the best option I was told to do was to clone my ssd (to retrieve the data I wanted) and run a clean install.

QUESTION

My question is: what did I do wrong? How can I prevent something like this? Because my thought process was:

  1. Went to windows update
  2. I saw that I had to enable tpm 2.0 to update to Windows 11
  3. I enabled it, by going to the BIOS (I have a MEG Z590 ACE as motherboard)
  4. Windows started crashing

But I never read any disclaimer or anything that told me to be careful or to not enable the tpm 2.0: was I just unlucky or could have I done something to prevent it? Should I do more research in general before messing with the BIOS? Should I have known what TPM 2.0 was?

As I said in this question, I enabled tpm 2.0 on my pc (a custom build with windows 10 on it), and, apparently, this messed up the filesystem or something and I get “WHEA_UNCORRECTABLE_ERROR” and “CLOCK_WATCHDOG_TIMEOUT” after a few seconds or minutes of using it.

No one was able to help me fixing the problem, the best option I was told to do was to clone my ssd (to retrieve the data I wanted) and run a clean install.

QUESTION

My question is: what did I do wrong? How can I prevent something like this? Because my thought process was:

  1. Went to windows update
  2. I saw that I had to enable tpm 2.0 to update to Windows 11
  3. I enabled it, by going to the BIOS (I have a MEG Z590 ACE as motherboard)
  4. Windows started crashing

But I never read any disclaimer or anything that told me to be careful or to not enable the tpm 2.0: was I just unlucky or could have I done something to prevent it? Should I do more research in general before messing with the BIOS? Should I have known what TPM 2.0 was?

  • Note: I’m not asking how to solve the problem, I gave up on it. I’m asking how to avoid doing a similar error in the future.
Source Link

Why was enabling tpm 2.0 wrong

As I said in this question, I enabled tpm 2.0 on my pc (a custom build with windows 10 on it), and, apparently, this messed up the filesystem or something and I get “WHEA_UNCORRECTABLE_ERROR” and “CLOCK_WATCHDOG_TIMEOUT” after a few seconds or minutes of using it.

No one was able to help me fixing the problem, the best option I was told to do was to clone my ssd (to retrieve the data I wanted) and run a clean install.

QUESTION

My question is: what did I do wrong? How can I prevent something like this? Because my thought process was:

  1. Went to windows update
  2. I saw that I had to enable tpm 2.0 to update to Windows 11
  3. I enabled it, by going to the BIOS (I have a MEG Z590 ACE as motherboard)
  4. Windows started crashing

But I never read any disclaimer or anything that told me to be careful or to not enable the tpm 2.0: was I just unlucky or could have I done something to prevent it? Should I do more research in general before messing with the BIOS? Should I have known what TPM 2.0 was?