Skip to main content
edited title
Link
hakim00
  • 111
  • 2

How can I distribute manuallydeploy installed software setup one Linuxdistribution to another

Source Link
hakim00
  • 111
  • 2

How can I distribute manually installed software one Linux to another

I have a Ubuntu system with manually installed packages, obtained from a variety of sources such as apt repositories, snaps, and standalone packages. I'd like to distribute my list of software to others in a simple and convenient way, potentially using a Git repository. Primarily Ubuntu to Ubuntu but maybe also across distributions.

However, the struggle I face is that some of these packages require adding specific apt repositories, while others are snaps, and still others are available in the default apt repositories. A shell script seems inefficient. What's the best way to distribute my software list to others in a manageable way? Is this a use case for Nix Package Manager?