Skip to main content
Source Link
Rohit Gupta
  • 3.7k
  • 23
  • 34
  • 47

Why does Chrome not save username and password for some sites

There are certain internal sites where Chrome will not offer to save the credentials. I have entered them into the Autofill section, but it will still not use them.

This example is for my Unify Router, I have removed the class attribute to make it clearer to see. Looking at the two elements below, I can't see why it does not work, any ideas?

<input name="username" meta="[object Object]" autocapitalize="off" autocorrect="off" 
autocomplete="username" required="" id="login-username" type="" value="">

<input name="password" meta="[object Object]" autocomplete="current-password" id="login-password" 
type="password" value="">

This is from one of my own pages, which does work

<input  type="text" name="username" placeholder="Username" id="username" autocomplete="username">

<input type="password" name="password" placeholder="Password" id="password" autocomplete="current-password">

Questions

  • What can I do to make them work?
  • I can see that type is not specified for username, could this be the problem ?