Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

4
  • Does reptyr help? See this answer and links therein. Commented Jan 30, 2023 at 12:02
  • == to answer of Kamil Marciorowski "reptyr" :: Thanks, this tool was unknown to me. I have installed it. Title of manpage says: "Reparent a running program to a new terminal". This sounds to be just what I need. And the mampage remembered me on the existemce of "ptrace". I will try both. -- Thanks, Regards == 01.02.2023 10:26 Commented Feb 1, 2023 at 9:23
  • == 24.02.2023 13:45 (1 of ?) to your very important hint "reptyr", I not clever enough to use it with success. -- As you know, I have in Kubuntu 20.04 and/or KNOPPIX 9.1 KDE running, and under Konsole1, Konsole2, ... terminals with two levels of bash, first level for user-ID 1000, second level for UID 0 = root. -- One such pair of bashs in one terminal happened to become totally dead, could not be closed with Ctrl-C. Thus I was forced to close the window. Re-opening the window arose with a new pts-number, above earlier used numbers and holes inbetween --- will be continued Commented Feb 24, 2023 at 13:01
  • == 24.02.2023 14:05 (2 of ?) not re-opened to pts/1 and Konsole-2, this is the bad behavior of the system since some weeks, what causes that all is lost. So I tried to get some benefit of utility reptyr. One has to give as argument a PID, and I gave $$. But reptyr does not allow to choose the new pts-number. Always a new, a higher one is delivered --- The old, earlier behavor of the system delevered at re-openenig a window the old numbers, in this case should be pts/1 and Konsole-2. --- How can I get back the old behavior of the system as it was since 30 years. -- Regards. Commented Feb 24, 2023 at 13:18