Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results

Timeline for System Error - Unknown Hard Error

Current License: CC BY-SA 4.0

6 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jan 22, 2023 at 19:34 comment added Hannu I've seen such mishaps in a machine that had been sitting on the same table-top for years; picking out the DIMM -modules in that machine, and running a pencil earaser over the edge contacts resurrected that machine. That was in times before GPU's though... ;-)
Jan 22, 2023 at 16:59 history edited EllipticalInitial CC BY-SA 4.0
deleted 35 characters in body
Jan 22, 2023 at 16:58 comment added EllipticalInitial @Hannu, it actually just happened again a few minutes ago. I noticed it happened right as the GPU renderer finished rendering a frame of the animation. I wonder if there is an error in the render engine I'm using that is particular to the scene I'm rendering. That would explain why I've seen it the past week so many times but not much prior to that (this particular scene I'm rendering has been going for about a week now). So it may just be a bug in the gpu render plugin I'm using.
Jan 22, 2023 at 16:54 comment added EllipticalInitial @Hannu, this is a desktop that I clean regularly. The CPU and GPU are both under full load since I'm doing CPU and GPU renders simultaneously, but the CPU (i7 5960x) temp is 74 C and the GPUs (2x GTX 970s) are 78 C and 77 C. The CPU and GPU are from 2015, so it's possible they are just getting old and dying, but I don't know what tests I can do to confirm that given they are still functional. I suspect the error in my post is a software issue but I don't really know what else to look at.
Jan 22, 2023 at 9:37 comment added Hannu In my world, strange lockups and failures are signs of overheating components. Time toclean out all dustbins from inside the cabinet / laptop?
Jan 21, 2023 at 23:49 history asked EllipticalInitial CC BY-SA 4.0