Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

4
  • The built-in Administrator account Administrator cannot launch UWP. Why can’t you use a different Administrator account?
    – Ramhound
    Commented Jan 17, 2023 at 12:27
  • Thanks for stopping by! How come Administrator cannot launch UWP apps? I've been using it for last year with InboxApps and apps purchased off Microsoft Store. It's my primary machine, a lot is configured in account. I'd like to figure out how to fix this and what caused this issue so I don't run into this mess in the future (with a new account). It appears to me it's something related to "Start Menu" or "shell" permissions of my account. I'm just not sure what to look for. It's particularly strange that I can start EXE from File Explorer but cannot from PowerShell...
    – bananakid
    Commented Jan 17, 2023 at 12:45
  • The built-in Account cannot login the Microsoft Store either, nor be linked to a Microsoft Account, so it cannot purchase UWP applications. Are you sure you don’t have a different Administrator account on your computer? The built-in account is disabled by default.
    – Ramhound
    Commented Jan 17, 2023 at 12:51
  • Sure I'm using built-in Administrator account, my Windows installation is configured using autounattend.xml and there're no user or administrator local accounts out of the box, just built-in Administrator and Guest. I can login to Microsoft Store using my Microsoft Account and purchase & download anything, apps install without a problem to my built-in Administrator account. I can create administrators group accounts as I mentioned above and they do not have the issue with apps not launching with 0x800700B7. This happened out of the blue to my built-in account, all apps were working previously.
    – bananakid
    Commented Jan 17, 2023 at 13:00