Skip to main content
Notice removed Reward existing answer by gronostaj
Bounty Ended with Joep van Steen's answer chosen by gronostaj
Tweeted twitter.com/super_user/status/1606303633657798656
Notice added Reward existing answer by gronostaj
Bounty Started worth 100 reputation by gronostaj
added 8 characters in body
Source Link
Giacomo1968
  • 56.2k
  • 23
  • 167
  • 214

My Inspiron Dell laptop had two disks, an HDD for files and SSD for the OS (Windows 10). Recently, the HDD was destroyed, so I wanted to try to recover information from the SSD.

When I initially broke the HDD, I was able to boot the OS and access files from the SSD, but there would be extraneous errors due to not being able to read the HDD. So I took the SSD out and bought an Insignia SSD dock and plugged in the SSD, but it wouldn't show up at all. The Disk Manager said "unknown - uninitialized" and wouldn't initialize it due to "serious hardware error". I tried IsoBuster, CrystalDiskInfo, HD Sentinel, and Smart Mon Tools, none of which work because they say something to the effect of "no media present", as if the SSD isn't there. I also confirmed that it isn't the dock that is an issue.

So I went ahead and put the SSD back into the laptop, and tried to look at it with a live bootable USB Ubuntu. This time, commands like Disk or lsblk wouldn't list the SSD at all, again as if it wasn't there. Then I rebooted into the BIOS, and saw that the SATA port associated with the SSD is listed as "device: {none}".

The strangest thing of all is when I try to boot into the SSD. When I tried booting into it again, it refused to load the OS anymore, but then gave an error message that the disk needs to be repaired. So then I tried removing the SSD entirely and booting it with nothing in there, just to confirm that something is different in the BIOS when there is no SSD. But, then when I put the SSD back in and tried to reboot, it now says an error message that "there is no bootable device". So At this point, I have recreated the exact same situation three times, and got three different results (first time booting with errors, second time offering recovery, third time no bootable device present).

I understand that I might be in a situation that I need a professional to try recovering data. But what I would like to know, for my edification, is what exactly would a professional do?

On google, I find every other site offering one software tool after another, but they are all effectively saying "locate the device and push this button to recover data", which is a problem because I can't locate the device. And if that is all a professional would do, then it would be a waste of money to ask them to pull out IsoBuster or some such which I could have done myself.

Model information for the SSD: https://imgur.com/a/B0ZOWK5

enter image description here

My Inspiron Dell laptop had two disks, an HDD for files and SSD for the OS (Windows 10). Recently, the HDD was destroyed, so I wanted to try to recover information from the SSD.

When I initially broke the HDD, I was able to boot the OS and access files from the SSD, but there would be extraneous errors due to not being able to read the HDD. So I took the SSD out and bought an Insignia SSD dock and plugged in the SSD, but it wouldn't show up at all. The Disk Manager said "unknown - uninitialized" and wouldn't initialize it due to "serious hardware error". I tried IsoBuster, CrystalDiskInfo, HD Sentinel, and Smart Mon Tools, none of which work because they say something to the effect of "no media present", as if the SSD isn't there. I also confirmed that it isn't the dock that is an issue.

So I went ahead and put the SSD back into the laptop, and tried to look at it with a live bootable USB Ubuntu. This time, commands like Disk or lsblk wouldn't list the SSD at all, again as if it wasn't there. Then I rebooted into the BIOS, and saw that the SATA port associated with the SSD is listed as "device: {none}".

The strangest thing of all is when I try to boot into the SSD. When I tried booting into it again, it refused to load the OS anymore, but then gave an error message that the disk needs to be repaired. So then I tried removing the SSD entirely and booting it with nothing in there, just to confirm that something is different in the BIOS when there is no SSD. But, then when I put the SSD back in and tried to reboot, it now says an error message that "there is no bootable device". So At this point, I have recreated the exact same situation three times, and got three different results (first time booting with errors, second time offering recovery, third time no bootable device present).

I understand that I might be in a situation that I need a professional to try recovering data. But what I would like to know, for my edification, is what exactly would a professional do?

On google, I find every other site offering one software tool after another, but they are all effectively saying "locate the device and push this button to recover data", which is a problem because I can't locate the device. And if that is all a professional would do, then it would be a waste of money to ask them to pull out IsoBuster or some such which I could have done myself.

Model information for the SSD: https://imgur.com/a/B0ZOWK5

My Inspiron Dell laptop had two disks, an HDD for files and SSD for the OS (Windows 10). Recently, the HDD was destroyed, so I wanted to try to recover information from the SSD.

When I initially broke the HDD, I was able to boot the OS and access files from the SSD, but there would be extraneous errors due to not being able to read the HDD. So I took the SSD out and bought an Insignia SSD dock and plugged in the SSD, but it wouldn't show up at all. The Disk Manager said "unknown - uninitialized" and wouldn't initialize it due to "serious hardware error". I tried IsoBuster, CrystalDiskInfo, HD Sentinel, and Smart Mon Tools, none of which work because they say something to the effect of "no media present", as if the SSD isn't there. I also confirmed that it isn't the dock that is an issue.

So I went ahead and put the SSD back into the laptop, and tried to look at it with a live bootable USB Ubuntu. This time, commands like Disk or lsblk wouldn't list the SSD at all, again as if it wasn't there. Then I rebooted into the BIOS, and saw that the SATA port associated with the SSD is listed as "device: {none}".

The strangest thing of all is when I try to boot into the SSD. When I tried booting into it again, it refused to load the OS anymore, but then gave an error message that the disk needs to be repaired. So then I tried removing the SSD entirely and booting it with nothing in there, just to confirm that something is different in the BIOS when there is no SSD. But, then when I put the SSD back in and tried to reboot, it now says an error message that "there is no bootable device". So At this point, I have recreated the exact same situation three times, and got three different results (first time booting with errors, second time offering recovery, third time no bootable device present).

I understand that I might be in a situation that I need a professional to try recovering data. But what I would like to know, for my edification, is what exactly would a professional do?

On google, I find every other site offering one software tool after another, but they are all effectively saying "locate the device and push this button to recover data", which is a problem because I can't locate the device. And if that is all a professional would do, then it would be a waste of money to ask them to pull out IsoBuster or some such which I could have done myself.

Model information for the SSD:

enter image description here

added 107 characters in body
Source Link
Nathan
  • 183
  • 1
  • 5

My Inspiron Dell laptop had two disks, an HDD for files and SSD for the OS (Windows 10). Recently, the HDD was destroyed, so I wanted to try to recover information from the SSD.

When I initially broke the HDD, I was able to boot the OS and access files from the SSD, but there would be extraneous errors due to not being able to read the HDD. So I took the SSD out and bought an Insignia SSD dock and plugged in the SSD, but it wouldn't show up at all. The Disk Manager said "unknown - uninitialized" and wouldn't initialize it due to "serious hardware error". I tried IsoBuster, CrystalDiskInfo, HD Sentinel, and Smart Mon Tools, none of which work because they say something to the effect of "no media present", as if the SSD isn't there. I also confirmed that it isn't the dock that is an issue.

So I went ahead and put the SSD back into the laptop, and tried to look at it with a live bootable USB Ubuntu. This time, commands like Disk or lsblk wouldn't list the SSD at all, again as if it wasn't there. Then I rebooted into the BIOS, and saw that the SATA port associated with the SSD is listed as "device: {none}".

The strangest thing of all is when I try to boot into the SSD. When I tried booting into it again, it refused to load the OS anymore, but then gave an error message that the disk needs to be repaired. So then I tried removing the SSD entirely and booting it with nothing in there, just to confirm that something is different in the BIOS when there is no SSD. But, then when I put the SSD back in and tried to reboot, it now says an error message that "there is no bootable device". So At this point, I have recreated the exact same situation three times, and got three different results (first time booting with errors, second time offering recovery, third time no bootable device present).

I understand that I might be in a situation that I need a professional to try recovering data. But what I would like to know, for my edification, is what exactly would a professional do?

On google, I find every other site offering one software tool after another, but they are all effectively saying "locate the device and push this button to recover data", which is a problem because I can't locate the device. And if that is all a professional would do, then it would be a waste of money to ask them to pull out IsoBuster or some such which I could have done myself.

Model information for the SSD: https://imgur.com/a/B0ZOWK5

My Inspiron Dell laptop had two disks, an HDD for files and SSD for the OS (Windows 10). Recently, the HDD was destroyed, so I wanted to try to recover information from the SSD.

When I initially broke the HDD, I was able to boot the OS and access files from the SSD, but there would be extraneous errors due to not being able to read the HDD. So I took the SSD out and bought an Insignia SSD dock and plugged in the SSD, but it wouldn't show up at all. The Disk Manager said "unknown - uninitialized" and wouldn't initialize it due to "serious hardware error". I tried IsoBuster, CrystalDiskInfo, HD Sentinel, and Smart Mon Tools, none of which work because they say something to the effect of "no media present", as if the SSD isn't there. I also confirmed that it isn't the dock that is an issue.

So I went ahead and put the SSD back into the laptop, and tried to look at it with a live bootable USB Ubuntu. This time, commands like Disk or lsblk wouldn't list the SSD at all, again as if it wasn't there. Then I rebooted into the BIOS, and saw that the SATA port associated with the SSD is listed as "device: {none}".

The strangest thing of all is when I try to boot into the SSD. When I tried booting into it again, it refused to load the OS anymore, but then gave an error message that the disk needs to be repaired. So then I tried removing the SSD entirely and booting it with nothing in there, just to confirm that something is different in the BIOS when there is no SSD. But, then when I put the SSD back in and tried to reboot, it now says an error message that "there is no bootable device". So At this point, I have recreated the exact same situation three times, and got three different results (first time booting with errors, second time offering recovery, third time no bootable device present).

I understand that I might be in a situation that I need a professional to try recovering data. But what I would like to know, for my edification, is what exactly would a professional do?

On google, I find every other site offering one software tool after another, but they are all effectively saying "locate the device and push this button to recover data", which is a problem because I can't locate the device. And if that is all a professional would do, then it would be a waste of money to ask them to pull out IsoBuster or some such which I could have done myself.

My Inspiron Dell laptop had two disks, an HDD for files and SSD for the OS (Windows 10). Recently, the HDD was destroyed, so I wanted to try to recover information from the SSD.

When I initially broke the HDD, I was able to boot the OS and access files from the SSD, but there would be extraneous errors due to not being able to read the HDD. So I took the SSD out and bought an Insignia SSD dock and plugged in the SSD, but it wouldn't show up at all. The Disk Manager said "unknown - uninitialized" and wouldn't initialize it due to "serious hardware error". I tried IsoBuster, CrystalDiskInfo, HD Sentinel, and Smart Mon Tools, none of which work because they say something to the effect of "no media present", as if the SSD isn't there. I also confirmed that it isn't the dock that is an issue.

So I went ahead and put the SSD back into the laptop, and tried to look at it with a live bootable USB Ubuntu. This time, commands like Disk or lsblk wouldn't list the SSD at all, again as if it wasn't there. Then I rebooted into the BIOS, and saw that the SATA port associated with the SSD is listed as "device: {none}".

The strangest thing of all is when I try to boot into the SSD. When I tried booting into it again, it refused to load the OS anymore, but then gave an error message that the disk needs to be repaired. So then I tried removing the SSD entirely and booting it with nothing in there, just to confirm that something is different in the BIOS when there is no SSD. But, then when I put the SSD back in and tried to reboot, it now says an error message that "there is no bootable device". So At this point, I have recreated the exact same situation three times, and got three different results (first time booting with errors, second time offering recovery, third time no bootable device present).

I understand that I might be in a situation that I need a professional to try recovering data. But what I would like to know, for my edification, is what exactly would a professional do?

On google, I find every other site offering one software tool after another, but they are all effectively saying "locate the device and push this button to recover data", which is a problem because I can't locate the device. And if that is all a professional would do, then it would be a waste of money to ask them to pull out IsoBuster or some such which I could have done myself.

Model information for the SSD: https://imgur.com/a/B0ZOWK5

Source Link
Nathan
  • 183
  • 1
  • 5

How to recover files from a dead SSD?

My Inspiron Dell laptop had two disks, an HDD for files and SSD for the OS (Windows 10). Recently, the HDD was destroyed, so I wanted to try to recover information from the SSD.

When I initially broke the HDD, I was able to boot the OS and access files from the SSD, but there would be extraneous errors due to not being able to read the HDD. So I took the SSD out and bought an Insignia SSD dock and plugged in the SSD, but it wouldn't show up at all. The Disk Manager said "unknown - uninitialized" and wouldn't initialize it due to "serious hardware error". I tried IsoBuster, CrystalDiskInfo, HD Sentinel, and Smart Mon Tools, none of which work because they say something to the effect of "no media present", as if the SSD isn't there. I also confirmed that it isn't the dock that is an issue.

So I went ahead and put the SSD back into the laptop, and tried to look at it with a live bootable USB Ubuntu. This time, commands like Disk or lsblk wouldn't list the SSD at all, again as if it wasn't there. Then I rebooted into the BIOS, and saw that the SATA port associated with the SSD is listed as "device: {none}".

The strangest thing of all is when I try to boot into the SSD. When I tried booting into it again, it refused to load the OS anymore, but then gave an error message that the disk needs to be repaired. So then I tried removing the SSD entirely and booting it with nothing in there, just to confirm that something is different in the BIOS when there is no SSD. But, then when I put the SSD back in and tried to reboot, it now says an error message that "there is no bootable device". So At this point, I have recreated the exact same situation three times, and got three different results (first time booting with errors, second time offering recovery, third time no bootable device present).

I understand that I might be in a situation that I need a professional to try recovering data. But what I would like to know, for my edification, is what exactly would a professional do?

On google, I find every other site offering one software tool after another, but they are all effectively saying "locate the device and push this button to recover data", which is a problem because I can't locate the device. And if that is all a professional would do, then it would be a waste of money to ask them to pull out IsoBuster or some such which I could have done myself.