Skip to main content
Overall copy edits and formatting and adding images left in the comments that are useful.
Source Link
Giacomo1968
  • 56.1k
  • 23
  • 167
  • 214

How to fix USB Pendrivesflash drives showing unallocated space in diskmgmt?

I have 3 USB disks flash drives (newly purchased, original) which were used to create bootable drives to install zorin os inZorin OS on a pcPC. The flashing failed for some reason, and now I have 3 USB flash drives which look like this in Disk Management -

Screenshot.

In order to get my drives back to normal, after watching a bunch of videos/reading articles, I have tried the below so far -

  • First tried creating a simple volume, with default settings in the wizard; then I got a popup saying "Volume was created but not formatted", and then it would try to run format, and I received "the system cannot find the specified file type".
    • Went to diskpart, tried list disk > select disk # > clean/clean all; then it would say "Diskpart error, access denied. Check system logs." It would delete the created volume in the last step, but showed the access denied error. Also this is what was recorded in system logs - Cannot zero sectors on disk \\?\PhysicalDrive2. Error code: 5@0101000F.
    • Then started command prompt as administrator, still the exact same error. Using admin cmd should solve the access denied error right? whyWhy is this happening?
  • My drives just won't format, tried from both manual format (from This PC &and disk management) &and diskpart format...
  • On This PC, when I try to open any of the drives it says "Please insert a disk in E:" (for eg.)

All of the above has been tried on 2 separate PCs, same error on both, even if cmd is in admin mode. What should I do? 

I just want to convert my drives back to normal, so I can use them to transfer data around like before. Kindly advice... Thanks!


UPDATE: When I select a drive like this:

enter image description here

This is what I see:

enter image description here

How to fix USB Pendrives showing unallocated space in diskmgmt?

I have 3 USB disks (newly purchased, original) which were used to create bootable drives to install zorin os in a pc. The flashing failed for some reason, and now I have 3 drives which look like this in Disk Management -

In order to get my drives back to normal, after watching a bunch of videos/reading articles, I have tried the below so far -

  • First tried creating a simple volume, with default settings in the wizard; then I got a popup saying "Volume was created but not formatted", and then it would try to run format, and I received "the system cannot find the specified file type".
    • Went to diskpart, tried list disk > select disk # > clean/clean all; then it would say "Diskpart error, access denied. Check system logs." It would delete the created volume in the last step, but showed the access denied error. Also this is what was recorded in system logs - Cannot zero sectors on disk \\?\PhysicalDrive2. Error code: 5@0101000F.
    • Then started command prompt as administrator, still the exact same error. Using admin cmd should solve the access denied error right? why is this happening?
  • My drives just won't format, tried from both manual format (from This PC & disk management) & diskpart format...
  • On This PC, when I try to open any of the drives it says "Please insert a disk in E:" (for eg.)

All of the above has been tried on 2 separate PCs, same error on both, even if cmd is in admin mode. What should I do? I just want to convert my drives back to normal, so I can use them to transfer data around like before. Kindly advice... Thanks!

How to fix USB flash drives showing unallocated space in diskmgmt?

I have 3 USB flash drives (newly purchased, original) which were used to create bootable drives to install Zorin OS on a PC. The flashing failed for some reason, and now I have 3 USB flash drives which look like this in Disk Management -

Screenshot.

In order to get my drives back to normal, after watching a bunch of videos/reading articles, I have tried the below so far -

  • First tried creating a simple volume, with default settings in the wizard; then I got a popup saying "Volume was created but not formatted", and then it would try to run format, and I received "the system cannot find the specified file type".
    • Went to diskpart, tried list disk > select disk # > clean/clean all; then it would say "Diskpart error, access denied. Check system logs." It would delete the created volume in the last step, but showed the access denied error. Also this is what was recorded in system logs - Cannot zero sectors on disk \\?\PhysicalDrive2. Error code: 5@0101000F.
    • Then started command prompt as administrator, still the exact same error. Using admin cmd should solve the access denied error right? Why is this happening?
  • My drives just won't format, tried from both manual format (from This PC and disk management) and diskpart format.
  • On This PC, when I try to open any of the drives it says "Please insert a disk in E:" (for eg.)

All of the above has been tried on 2 separate PCs, same error on both, even if cmd is in admin mode. What should I do? 

I just want to convert my drives back to normal, so I can use them to transfer data around like before.


UPDATE: When I select a drive like this:

enter image description here

This is what I see:

enter image description here

summarized question
Source Link
kartik
  • 129
  • 1
  • 5

I have 3 USB disks (newly purchased, original) which were used to create bootable drives to install zorin os in a pc. The flashing failed for some reason, and now I have 3 drives which look like this in Disk Management -

enter image description here

These were used as bootable drives before, but dueIn order to some error/failure with balena etcher all 3 of them broke dueget my drives back to some reason. So far I've tried cleaning them using diskpart in cmd adminnormal, and changed their letters from diskmgmt. Alsoafter watching a bunch of videos/reading articles, here's how they look like on This PC & DiskpartI have tried the below so far -

enter image description here

enter image description here

  • First tried creating a simple volume, with default settings in the wizard; then I got a popup saying "Volume was created but not formatted", and then it would try to run format, and I received "the system cannot find the specified file type".
    • Went to diskpart, tried list disk > select disk # > clean/clean all; then it would say "Diskpart error, access denied. Check system logs." It would delete the created volume in the last step, but showed the access denied error. Also this is what was recorded in system logs - Cannot zero sectors on disk \\?\PhysicalDrive2. Error code: 5@0101000F.
    • Then started command prompt as administrator, still the exact same error. Using admin cmd should solve the access denied error right? why is this happening?
  • My drives just won't format, tried from both manual format (from This PC & disk management) & diskpart format...
  • On This PC, when I try to open any of the drives it says "Please insert a disk in E:" (for eg.)

Actually these were brand new pendrives which were supposed to be used for flashing Zorin OS iso image file, which i was going to use to install zorin os in dual boot with windows 10. IAll of the above has been tried flashing these drives using balena etcheron 2 separate PCs, but after flashing they disappeared from This PC & were showing no media in diskmgmt & even wont act as a bootable drive when pc restartedsame error on both, I think something brokeeven if cmd is in theseadmin mode. SoWhat should I cleaned them & nowdo? I just want to convert themmy drives back to normal, data-transfer drives like they were never used. There is no data of mine which I want to backup/restore in them, so I am open to complete formatting/resetting these drives backcan use them to normaltransfer data around like before.

What should I do in order to get these back working as a normal usb drive? Kindly advice... Thanks!


Edit - If I try to create a simple volume for any drive, this is how it goes - I created a volume with below configuration for one of the drives -

enter image description here

& received these popups after -

enter image description here

After both popups it looks like this in Disk Management & This PC - enter image description here enter image description here

(sorry for too many images)

I have 3 USB drives which look like this in Disk Management -

enter image description here

These were used as bootable drives before, but due to some error/failure with balena etcher all 3 of them broke due to some reason. So far I've tried cleaning them using diskpart in cmd admin, and changed their letters from diskmgmt. Also, here's how they look like on This PC & Diskpart -

enter image description here

enter image description here

Actually these were brand new pendrives which were supposed to be used for flashing Zorin OS iso image file, which i was going to use to install zorin os in dual boot with windows 10. I tried flashing these drives using balena etcher, but after flashing they disappeared from This PC & were showing no media in diskmgmt & even wont act as a bootable drive when pc restarted, I think something broke in these. So I cleaned them & now want to convert them back to normal, data-transfer drives like they were never used. There is no data of mine which I want to backup/restore in them, so I am open to complete formatting/resetting these drives back to normal.

What should I do in order to get these back working as a normal usb drive? Kindly advice... Thanks!


Edit - If I try to create a simple volume for any drive, this is how it goes - I created a volume with below configuration for one of the drives -

enter image description here

& received these popups after -

enter image description here

After both popups it looks like this in Disk Management & This PC - enter image description here enter image description here

(sorry for too many images)

I have 3 USB disks (newly purchased, original) which were used to create bootable drives to install zorin os in a pc. The flashing failed for some reason, and now I have 3 drives which look like this in Disk Management -

In order to get my drives back to normal, after watching a bunch of videos/reading articles, I have tried the below so far -

  • First tried creating a simple volume, with default settings in the wizard; then I got a popup saying "Volume was created but not formatted", and then it would try to run format, and I received "the system cannot find the specified file type".
    • Went to diskpart, tried list disk > select disk # > clean/clean all; then it would say "Diskpart error, access denied. Check system logs." It would delete the created volume in the last step, but showed the access denied error. Also this is what was recorded in system logs - Cannot zero sectors on disk \\?\PhysicalDrive2. Error code: 5@0101000F.
    • Then started command prompt as administrator, still the exact same error. Using admin cmd should solve the access denied error right? why is this happening?
  • My drives just won't format, tried from both manual format (from This PC & disk management) & diskpart format...
  • On This PC, when I try to open any of the drives it says "Please insert a disk in E:" (for eg.)

All of the above has been tried on 2 separate PCs, same error on both, even if cmd is in admin mode. What should I do? I just want to convert my drives back to normal, so I can use them to transfer data around like before. Kindly advice... Thanks!

added images instead of links
Source Link
kartik
  • 129
  • 1
  • 5

I have 3 USB drives which look like this in Disk Management - screenshot from diskmgmt

enter image description here

These were used as bootable drives before, but due to some error/failure with balena etcher all 3 of them broke due to some reason. So far I've tried cleaning them using diskpart in cmd admin, and changed their letters from diskmgmt. Also, here's how they look like on This PC & Diskpart -

This PCenter image description here & Diskpart in cmd (admin).

enter image description here

Actually these were brand new pendrives which were supposed to be used for flashing Zorin OS iso image file, which i was going to use to install zorin os in dual boot with windows 10. I tried flashing these drives using balena etcher, but after flashing they disappeared from This PC & were showing no media in diskmgmt & even wont act as a bootable drive when pc restarted, I think something broke in these. So I cleaned them & now want to convert them back to normal, data-transfer drives like they were never used. There is no data of mine which I want to backup/restore in them, so I am open to complete formatting/resetting these drives back to normal.

What should I do in order to get these back working as a normal usb drive? Kindly advice... Thanks!


Edit - If I try to create a simple volume for any drive, this is how it goes - I created a volume with this configurationbelow configuration for one of the drives, -

enter image description here

& received this Volume created but format failed popup first and thenthese popups after this System cannot find specified file popup.-

enter image description here

After both popups it looks like this in Disk ManagementDisk Management & This PC now.This PC - enter image description here enter image description here

(sorry for too many images)

I have 3 USB drives which look like this in Disk Management - screenshot from diskmgmt

These were used as bootable drives before, but due to some error/failure with balena etcher all 3 of them broke due to some reason. So far I've tried cleaning them using diskpart in cmd admin, and changed their letters from diskmgmt. Also, here's how they look like on This PC & Diskpart in cmd (admin).

Actually these were brand new pendrives which were supposed to be used for flashing Zorin OS iso image file, which i was going to use to install zorin os in dual boot with windows 10. I tried flashing these drives using balena etcher, but after flashing they disappeared from This PC & were showing no media in diskmgmt & even wont act as a bootable drive when pc restarted, I think something broke in these. So I cleaned them & now want to convert them back to normal, data-transfer drives like they were never used. There is no data of mine which I want to backup/restore in them, so I am open to complete formatting/resetting these drives back to normal.

What should I do in order to get these back working as a normal usb drive? Kindly advice... Thanks!


Edit - If I try to create a simple volume for any drive, this is how it goes - I created a volume with this configuration for one of the drives, & received this Volume created but format failed popup first and then this System cannot find specified file popup.

After both popups it looks like this in Disk Management & This PC now. (sorry for too many images)

I have 3 USB drives which look like this in Disk Management -

enter image description here

These were used as bootable drives before, but due to some error/failure with balena etcher all 3 of them broke due to some reason. So far I've tried cleaning them using diskpart in cmd admin, and changed their letters from diskmgmt. Also, here's how they look like on This PC & Diskpart -

enter image description here

enter image description here

Actually these were brand new pendrives which were supposed to be used for flashing Zorin OS iso image file, which i was going to use to install zorin os in dual boot with windows 10. I tried flashing these drives using balena etcher, but after flashing they disappeared from This PC & were showing no media in diskmgmt & even wont act as a bootable drive when pc restarted, I think something broke in these. So I cleaned them & now want to convert them back to normal, data-transfer drives like they were never used. There is no data of mine which I want to backup/restore in them, so I am open to complete formatting/resetting these drives back to normal.

What should I do in order to get these back working as a normal usb drive? Kindly advice... Thanks!


Edit - If I try to create a simple volume for any drive, this is how it goes - I created a volume with below configuration for one of the drives -

enter image description here

& received these popups after -

enter image description here

After both popups it looks like this in Disk Management & This PC - enter image description here enter image description here

(sorry for too many images)

added some more notes
Source Link
kartik
  • 129
  • 1
  • 5
Loading
Source Link
kartik
  • 129
  • 1
  • 5
Loading