Skip to main content
edited body
Source Link
Jackie
  • 111
  • 2

OK ... so here is a solution that is (was) hiding in plain sight from a lot of people (myself included) . In the process of expanding the volume size those who have run into a problem probably missed the following : There is another screen that one encounters along the expansion drive process, and anyone with a problem has not posted it (that I have found) . I think some people think it is simply an informational screen. In Raid 5, once that you have replaced the original drives with larger drives , (one at a time , and waited for each drive to be rebuilt before changing the next drive), go to the home screen and click on "change raid mode" and then you progress through the screens making your selections along the way ( you want to leave the raid mode as raid 5, and you want to indicate that you are NOT changing your drives because you have already done that ) , you will come to a screen with a slide bar on it that you use to indicate how much of the new capacity you want to use to expand your volume . The problem is that it doesn't look like a slide bar (or I didn't recognize it as a slide bar ) and if you don't slide that little blue indicator on the bar so that you move it to the right, and then you proceed with the drive expansion, you will end up with the same size volume that you started with . That is what I did the first time that I attempted to expand the size of my volume . I suspect that is the same mistake that others made as well. As I am writing this my PR4100 is in the process of the (correct) expansion process. I recall that two days ago I saw the screen that had the slide bar on it , but I didn't slide the bar . A couple of hours ago the PR4100 completed the expansion drive process that I attempted the first time ... and I ended up with the same size volume that I started with . I went through the steps again to expand the size of the volume (I started with 4 drives of 4 TB each ; I replaced them with 4 drives of 10 TB each) and this time I recognized that page with a slide bar on it for what it was (a page with a SLIDE BAR on it that I had to slide to the right to indicate how much of the unused space I wanted to include in the size of the expanded volume) . One final note : I saw that I also had the option to simply create a different volume using the unused space ... I read about the positives and negatives of doing that, and with a raid 5 configuration and a one person user, it didn't make sense to me to have more than one volume. Hope this answer helps . There are a few other Q and A's that I samecame across with similar issues as the one described here. I will try to find them and add my two cents.

OK ... so here is a solution that is (was) hiding in plain sight from a lot of people (myself included) . In the process of expanding the volume size those who have run into a problem probably missed the following : There is another screen that one encounters along the expansion drive process, and anyone with a problem has not posted it (that I have found) . I think some people think it is simply an informational screen. In Raid 5, once that you have replaced the original drives with larger drives , (one at a time , and waited for each drive to be rebuilt before changing the next drive), go to the home screen and click on "change raid mode" and then you progress through the screens making your selections along the way ( you want to leave the raid mode as raid 5, and you want to indicate that you are NOT changing your drives because you have already done that ) , you will come to a screen with a slide bar on it that you use to indicate how much of the new capacity you want to use to expand your volume . The problem is that it doesn't look like a slide bar (or I didn't recognize it as a slide bar ) and if you don't slide that little blue indicator on the bar so that you move it to the right, and then you proceed with the drive expansion, you will end up with the same size volume that you started with . That is what I did the first time that I attempted to expand the size of my volume . I suspect that is the same mistake that others made as well. As I am writing this my PR4100 is in the process of the (correct) expansion process. I recall that two days ago I saw the screen that had the slide bar on it , but I didn't slide the bar . A couple of hours ago the PR4100 completed the expansion drive process that I attempted the first time ... and I ended up with the same size volume that I started with . I went through the steps again to expand the size of the volume (I started with 4 drives of 4 TB each ; I replaced them with 4 drives of 10 TB each) and this time I recognized that page with a slide bar on it for what it was (a page with a SLIDE BAR on it that I had to slide to the right to indicate how much of the unused space I wanted to include in the size of the expanded volume) . One final note : I saw that I also had the option to simply create a different volume using the unused space ... I read about the positives and negatives of doing that, and with a raid 5 configuration and a one person user, it didn't make sense to me to have more than one volume. Hope this answer helps . There are a few other Q and A's that I same across with similar issues as the one described here. I will try to find them and add my two cents.

OK ... so here is a solution that is (was) hiding in plain sight from a lot of people (myself included) . In the process of expanding the volume size those who have run into a problem probably missed the following : There is another screen that one encounters along the expansion drive process, and anyone with a problem has not posted it (that I have found) . I think some people think it is simply an informational screen. In Raid 5, once that you have replaced the original drives with larger drives , (one at a time , and waited for each drive to be rebuilt before changing the next drive), go to the home screen and click on "change raid mode" and then you progress through the screens making your selections along the way ( you want to leave the raid mode as raid 5, and you want to indicate that you are NOT changing your drives because you have already done that ) , you will come to a screen with a slide bar on it that you use to indicate how much of the new capacity you want to use to expand your volume . The problem is that it doesn't look like a slide bar (or I didn't recognize it as a slide bar ) and if you don't slide that little blue indicator on the bar so that you move it to the right, and then you proceed with the drive expansion, you will end up with the same size volume that you started with . That is what I did the first time that I attempted to expand the size of my volume . I suspect that is the same mistake that others made as well. As I am writing this my PR4100 is in the process of the (correct) expansion process. I recall that two days ago I saw the screen that had the slide bar on it , but I didn't slide the bar . A couple of hours ago the PR4100 completed the expansion drive process that I attempted the first time ... and I ended up with the same size volume that I started with . I went through the steps again to expand the size of the volume (I started with 4 drives of 4 TB each ; I replaced them with 4 drives of 10 TB each) and this time I recognized that page with a slide bar on it for what it was (a page with a SLIDE BAR on it that I had to slide to the right to indicate how much of the unused space I wanted to include in the size of the expanded volume) . One final note : I saw that I also had the option to simply create a different volume using the unused space ... I read about the positives and negatives of doing that, and with a raid 5 configuration and a one person user, it didn't make sense to me to have more than one volume. Hope this answer helps . There are a few other Q and A's that I came across with similar issues as the one described here. I will try to find them and add my two cents.

edited body
Source Link
Jackie
  • 111
  • 2

OK ... so here is a solution that is (was) hiding in plain sight from a lot of people (myself included) . In the process onof expanding the volume size those who have run into a problem probably missed the following : There is another screen that one encounters along the expansion drive process, and anyone with a problem has not posted it (that I have found) . I think some people think it is simply an informational screen. In Raid 5, once that you have replaced the original drives with larger drives , (one at a time , and waited for each drive to be rebuilt before changing the next drive), go to the home screen and click on "change raid mode" and then you progress through the screens making your selections along the way ( you want to leave the raid mode as raid 5, and you want to indicate that you are NOT changing your drives because you have already done that ) , you will come to a screen with a slide bar on it that you use to indicate how much of the new capacity you want to use to expand your volume . The problem is that it doesn't look like a slide bar (or I didn't recognize it as a slide bar ) and if you don't slide that little blue indicator on the bar so that you move it to the right, and then you proceed with the drive expansion, you will end up with the same size volume that you started with . That is what I did the first time that I attempted to expand the size of my volume . I suspect that is the same mistake that others made as well. As I am writing this my PR4100 is in the process of the (correct) expansion process. I recall that two days ago I saw the screen that had the slide bar on it , but I didn't slide the bar . A couple of hours ago the PR4100 completed the expansion drive process that I attempted the first time ... and I ended up with the same size volume that I started with . I went through the steps again to expand the size of the volume (I started with 4 drives of 4 TB each ; I replaced them with 4 drives of 10 TB each) and this time I recognized that page with a slide bar on it for what it was (a page with a SLIDE BAR on it that I had to slide to the right to indicate how much of the unused space I wanted to include in the size of the expanded volume) . One final note : I saw that I also had the option to simply create a different volume using the unused space ... I read about the positives and negatives of doing that, and with a raid 5 configuration and a one person user, it didn't make sense to me to have more than one volume. Hope this answer helps . There are a few other Q and A's that I same across with similar issues as the one described here. I will try to find them and add my two cents.

OK ... so here is a solution that is (was) hiding in plain sight from a lot of people (myself included) . In the process on expanding the volume size those who have run into a problem probably missed the following : There is another screen that one encounters along the expansion drive process, and anyone with a problem has not posted it (that I have found) . I think some people think it is simply an informational screen. In Raid 5, once that you have replaced the original drives with larger drives , (one at a time , and waited for each drive to be rebuilt before changing the next drive), go to the home screen and click on "change raid mode" and then you progress through the screens making your selections along the way ( you want to leave the raid mode as raid 5, and you want to indicate that you are NOT changing your drives because you have already done that ) , you will come to a screen with a slide bar on it that you use to indicate how much of the new capacity you want to use to expand your volume . The problem is that it doesn't look like a slide bar (or I didn't recognize it as a slide bar ) and if you don't slide that little blue indicator on the bar so that you move it to the right, and then you proceed with the drive expansion, you will end up with the same size volume that you started with . That is what I did the first time that I attempted to expand the size of my volume . I suspect that is the same mistake that others made as well. As I am writing this my PR4100 is in the process of the (correct) expansion process. I recall that two days ago I saw the screen that had the slide bar on it , but I didn't slide the bar . A couple of hours ago the PR4100 completed the expansion drive process that I attempted the first time ... and I ended up with the same size volume that I started with . I went through the steps again to expand the size of the volume (I started with 4 drives of 4 TB each ; I replaced them with 4 drives of 10 TB each) and this time I recognized that page with a slide bar on it for what it was (a page with a SLIDE BAR on it that I had to slide to the right to indicate how much of the unused space I wanted to include in the size of the expanded volume) . One final note : I saw that I also had the option to simply create a different volume using the unused space ... I read about the positives and negatives of doing that, and with a raid 5 configuration and a one person user, it didn't make sense to me to have more than one volume. Hope this answer helps . There are a few other Q and A's that I same across with similar issues as the one described here. I will try to find them and add my two cents.

OK ... so here is a solution that is (was) hiding in plain sight from a lot of people (myself included) . In the process of expanding the volume size those who have run into a problem probably missed the following : There is another screen that one encounters along the expansion drive process, and anyone with a problem has not posted it (that I have found) . I think some people think it is simply an informational screen. In Raid 5, once that you have replaced the original drives with larger drives , (one at a time , and waited for each drive to be rebuilt before changing the next drive), go to the home screen and click on "change raid mode" and then you progress through the screens making your selections along the way ( you want to leave the raid mode as raid 5, and you want to indicate that you are NOT changing your drives because you have already done that ) , you will come to a screen with a slide bar on it that you use to indicate how much of the new capacity you want to use to expand your volume . The problem is that it doesn't look like a slide bar (or I didn't recognize it as a slide bar ) and if you don't slide that little blue indicator on the bar so that you move it to the right, and then you proceed with the drive expansion, you will end up with the same size volume that you started with . That is what I did the first time that I attempted to expand the size of my volume . I suspect that is the same mistake that others made as well. As I am writing this my PR4100 is in the process of the (correct) expansion process. I recall that two days ago I saw the screen that had the slide bar on it , but I didn't slide the bar . A couple of hours ago the PR4100 completed the expansion drive process that I attempted the first time ... and I ended up with the same size volume that I started with . I went through the steps again to expand the size of the volume (I started with 4 drives of 4 TB each ; I replaced them with 4 drives of 10 TB each) and this time I recognized that page with a slide bar on it for what it was (a page with a SLIDE BAR on it that I had to slide to the right to indicate how much of the unused space I wanted to include in the size of the expanded volume) . One final note : I saw that I also had the option to simply create a different volume using the unused space ... I read about the positives and negatives of doing that, and with a raid 5 configuration and a one person user, it didn't make sense to me to have more than one volume. Hope this answer helps . There are a few other Q and A's that I same across with similar issues as the one described here. I will try to find them and add my two cents.

Source Link
Jackie
  • 111
  • 2

OK ... so here is a solution that is (was) hiding in plain sight from a lot of people (myself included) . In the process on expanding the volume size those who have run into a problem probably missed the following : There is another screen that one encounters along the expansion drive process, and anyone with a problem has not posted it (that I have found) . I think some people think it is simply an informational screen. In Raid 5, once that you have replaced the original drives with larger drives , (one at a time , and waited for each drive to be rebuilt before changing the next drive), go to the home screen and click on "change raid mode" and then you progress through the screens making your selections along the way ( you want to leave the raid mode as raid 5, and you want to indicate that you are NOT changing your drives because you have already done that ) , you will come to a screen with a slide bar on it that you use to indicate how much of the new capacity you want to use to expand your volume . The problem is that it doesn't look like a slide bar (or I didn't recognize it as a slide bar ) and if you don't slide that little blue indicator on the bar so that you move it to the right, and then you proceed with the drive expansion, you will end up with the same size volume that you started with . That is what I did the first time that I attempted to expand the size of my volume . I suspect that is the same mistake that others made as well. As I am writing this my PR4100 is in the process of the (correct) expansion process. I recall that two days ago I saw the screen that had the slide bar on it , but I didn't slide the bar . A couple of hours ago the PR4100 completed the expansion drive process that I attempted the first time ... and I ended up with the same size volume that I started with . I went through the steps again to expand the size of the volume (I started with 4 drives of 4 TB each ; I replaced them with 4 drives of 10 TB each) and this time I recognized that page with a slide bar on it for what it was (a page with a SLIDE BAR on it that I had to slide to the right to indicate how much of the unused space I wanted to include in the size of the expanded volume) . One final note : I saw that I also had the option to simply create a different volume using the unused space ... I read about the positives and negatives of doing that, and with a raid 5 configuration and a one person user, it didn't make sense to me to have more than one volume. Hope this answer helps . There are a few other Q and A's that I same across with similar issues as the one described here. I will try to find them and add my two cents.