Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results

Timeline for Ping spikes when pinging router

Current License: CC BY-SA 4.0

7 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jan 4 at 19:10 comment added nCr78 Did you find what was causing this? I have the exact same issue over ethernet directly from my Windows 10 machine to the router (1.5m cable). The ping spikes to 15ms once every few seconds or minutes. I've tried messing around with drivers & advanced settings, nothing. (I also tested this on a raspberry Pi, pinging to the router via ethernet and I don't get those spikes).
Dec 4, 2022 at 12:20 comment added Bob Goddard Nothing to do with RAM unless it is SEVERELY limited which is unlikely. Typically the os will take the packet, swap src & destination addresses and send it back out the interface it came in. If it is due to RAM, then you would see major problems with your lan.
Dec 4, 2022 at 11:45 comment added Lucas Dias I was getting several high spikes until I disable the wifi for the main router, then I started to see those 15ms spikes not so often. I will try to get a new pair of cables and I will try to mitigate with wireshark if it is a problem with my computer. I am suspecting it could be router which only has 256mb ram and this is generating some spikes.
Dec 4, 2022 at 11:18 comment added Bob Goddard First ping takes longer due to arp request. After that, who knows... You would need to look at the RTT of every packet and the loading on the network, host & target when it spikes. But really, it does not matter as these packets are given low priority. If you look at the results, the average is the same as the minimum suggesting it was only a single packet that spiked hinting that it was due to arp.
Dec 4, 2022 at 10:29 comment added Silbee 15ms is high. Typically you'd see 1-2ms, maybe 4ms now and then. What the cause is however, i cant tell you. Try another cable if possible.
S Dec 4, 2022 at 9:32 review First questions
Dec 4, 2022 at 10:20
S Dec 4, 2022 at 9:32 history asked Lucas Dias CC BY-SA 4.0