Skip to main content
4 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Nov 23, 2022 at 3:57 comment added Hoff @Ramhound Thank you! I am learning this lesson right now. I just tried repairing from my saved Image, which I had put on a USB stick. Windows could not find it. I assume it's missing the "mediaID.bin" file. ALSO... super lame. That you cannot change the name of the folder containing the Windows Image. I had changed to WindowsImageBackup 001, 002, 003 etc. and made notes of my incremental Images. But no, to restore an image using Windows, that folder can only be called "WindowsImageBackup". So no way of keeping track of which images are which. Just dumb all around. Will stick with Macrium etc.
Nov 23, 2022 at 3:40 comment added Ramhound Windows was aware of hidden files, associated with the shadow volume, which is associated with creating system images with Windows 7 Backup. By deleting the image the way you did, you orphaned the information, one of the reason's I don't use the built-in software to create images of my system disks.
S Nov 23, 2022 at 3:17 review First answers
Nov 23, 2022 at 3:39
S Nov 23, 2022 at 3:17 history answered Hoff CC BY-SA 4.0