Skip to main content
added 49 characters in body
Source Link
jabroni
  • 103
  • 1
  • 3

I applied the 22H2 Windows 11 update last week which fried my entire domain user profile on my laptop. I attempted to change my domain from my workplace domain name to the local WORKGROUP and then changed it back and that ceased my access into my user account. Since then, I've resolved the issue and have gained access back into my user account, however my machine can no longer find the domain.

I was doing some digging around my computers settings and noticed the following:

  • In regedit (HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\ProfileList) my domain user profile exists.
  • In User Accounts my username and domain name is correctly listed
  • In Computer Management -> Local Users and Groups -> Users my profile does not exist.

I've been doing some googling and have tried to update the group policy with gpupdate /force however that returns the following:

Updating policy...

Computer policy could not be updated successfully. The following errors were encountered:

The processing of Group Policy failed. Windows could not resolve the computer name. This could be caused by one of more of the following:
a) Name Resolution failure on the current domain controller.
b) Active Directory Replication Latency (an account created on another domain controller has not replicated to the current domain controller).
User Policy could not be updated successfully. The following errors were encountered:

The processing of Group Policy failed. Windows could not resolve the user name. This could be caused by one of more of the following:
a) Name Resolution failure on the current domain controller.
b) Active Directory Replication Latency (an account created on another domain controller has not replicated to the current domain controller).

I then tried to run: GPRESULT /H GPReport.html which returned with:

INFO: The user does not have RSoP data.

I then tried to generate RSoP data in Console Root -> Resultant Set of Policy which does not display my domain user and instead shows my local accounts.

Now in order for me to log into my domain account, I have to disconnect my internet, type my password, and then it will successfully log in.

At this point I am not really sure what to do and I'm not a pro at debugging windows AD issues.

Also, speaking of AD - I have accessed our AD and tried renaming my computer, assigning different IP's and disabling and re-enabling my user account which solved nothing.

Screenshot of what I mean when I say my domain user exists in User Accounts but not in Local Users and Groups.

Green = domain account

Red = local account

Screenshot

I applied the 22H2 Windows 11 update last week which fried my entire domain user profile on my laptop. I attempted to change my domain from my workplace domain name to the local WORKGROUP and then changed it back and that ceased my access into my user account. Since then, I've resolved the issue and have gained access back into my user account, however my machine can no longer find the domain.

I was doing some digging around my computers settings and noticed the following:

  • In regedit (HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\ProfileList) my domain user profile exists.
  • In User Accounts my username and domain name is correctly listed
  • In Computer Management -> Local Users and Groups -> Users my profile does not exist.

I've been doing some googling and have tried to update the group policy with gpupdate /force however that returns the following:

Updating policy...

Computer policy could not be updated successfully. The following errors were encountered:

The processing of Group Policy failed. Windows could not resolve the computer name. This could be caused by one of more of the following:
a) Name Resolution failure on the current domain controller.
b) Active Directory Replication Latency (an account created on another domain controller has not replicated to the current domain controller).
User Policy could not be updated successfully. The following errors were encountered:

The processing of Group Policy failed. Windows could not resolve the user name. This could be caused by one of more of the following:
a) Name Resolution failure on the current domain controller.
b) Active Directory Replication Latency (an account created on another domain controller has not replicated to the current domain controller).

I then tried to run: GPRESULT /H GPReport.html which returned with:

INFO: The user does not have RSoP data.

I then tried to generate RSoP data in Console Root -> Resultant Set of Policy which does not display my domain user and instead shows my local accounts.

Now in order for me to log into my domain account, I have to disconnect my internet, type my password, and then it will successfully log in.

At this point I am not really sure what to do and I'm not a pro at debugging windows AD issues.

Also, speaking of AD - I have accessed our AD and tried renaming my computer, assigning different IP's and disabling and re-enabling my user account which solved nothing.

Screenshot of what I mean when I say my domain user exists in User Accounts but not in Local Users and Groups.

Screenshot

I applied the 22H2 Windows 11 update last week which fried my entire domain user profile on my laptop. I attempted to change my domain from my workplace domain name to the local WORKGROUP and then changed it back and that ceased my access into my user account. Since then, I've resolved the issue and have gained access back into my user account, however my machine can no longer find the domain.

I was doing some digging around my computers settings and noticed the following:

  • In regedit (HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\ProfileList) my domain user profile exists.
  • In User Accounts my username and domain name is correctly listed
  • In Computer Management -> Local Users and Groups -> Users my profile does not exist.

I've been doing some googling and have tried to update the group policy with gpupdate /force however that returns the following:

Updating policy...

Computer policy could not be updated successfully. The following errors were encountered:

The processing of Group Policy failed. Windows could not resolve the computer name. This could be caused by one of more of the following:
a) Name Resolution failure on the current domain controller.
b) Active Directory Replication Latency (an account created on another domain controller has not replicated to the current domain controller).
User Policy could not be updated successfully. The following errors were encountered:

The processing of Group Policy failed. Windows could not resolve the user name. This could be caused by one of more of the following:
a) Name Resolution failure on the current domain controller.
b) Active Directory Replication Latency (an account created on another domain controller has not replicated to the current domain controller).

I then tried to run: GPRESULT /H GPReport.html which returned with:

INFO: The user does not have RSoP data.

I then tried to generate RSoP data in Console Root -> Resultant Set of Policy which does not display my domain user and instead shows my local accounts.

Now in order for me to log into my domain account, I have to disconnect my internet, type my password, and then it will successfully log in.

At this point I am not really sure what to do and I'm not a pro at debugging windows AD issues.

Also, speaking of AD - I have accessed our AD and tried renaming my computer, assigning different IP's and disabling and re-enabling my user account which solved nothing.

Screenshot of what I mean when I say my domain user exists in User Accounts but not in Local Users and Groups.

Green = domain account

Red = local account

Screenshot

screenshot
Source Link
jabroni
  • 103
  • 1
  • 3

I applied the 22H2 Windows 11 update last week which fried my entire domain user profile on my laptop. I attempted to change my domain from my workplace domain name to the local WORKGROUP and then changed it back and that ceased my access into my user account. Since then, I've resolved the issue and have gained access back into my user account, however my machine can no longer find the domain.

I was doing some digging around my computers settings and noticed the following:

  • In regedit (HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\ProfileList) my domain user profile exists.
  • In User Accounts my username and domain name is correctly listed
  • In Computer Management -> Local Users and Groups -> Users my profile does not exist.

I've been doing some googling and have tried to update the group policy with gpupdate /force however that returns the following:

Updating policy...

Computer policy could not be updated successfully. The following errors were encountered:

The processing of Group Policy failed. Windows could not resolve the computer name. This could be caused by one of more of the following:
a) Name Resolution failure on the current domain controller.
b) Active Directory Replication Latency (an account created on another domain controller has not replicated to the current domain controller).
User Policy could not be updated successfully. The following errors were encountered:

The processing of Group Policy failed. Windows could not resolve the user name. This could be caused by one of more of the following:
a) Name Resolution failure on the current domain controller.
b) Active Directory Replication Latency (an account created on another domain controller has not replicated to the current domain controller).

I then tried to run: GPRESULT /H GPReport.html which returned with:

INFO: The user does not have RSoP data.

I then tried to generate RSoP data in Console Root -> Resultant Set of Policy which does not display my domain user and instead shows my local accounts.

Now in order for me to log into my domain account, I have to disconnect my internet, type my password, and then it will successfully log in.

At this point I am not really sure what to do and I'm not a pro at debugging windows AD issues.

Also, speaking of AD - I have accessed our AD and tried renaming my computer, assigning different IP's and disabling and re-enabling my user account which solved nothing.

Screenshot of what I mean when I say my domain user exists in User Accounts but not in Local Users and Groups.

Screenshot

I applied the 22H2 Windows 11 update last week which fried my entire domain user profile on my laptop. I attempted to change my domain from my workplace domain name to the local WORKGROUP and then changed it back and that ceased my access into my user account. Since then, I've resolved the issue and have gained access back into my user account, however my machine can no longer find the domain.

I was doing some digging around my computers settings and noticed the following:

  • In regedit (HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\ProfileList) my domain user profile exists.
  • In User Accounts my username and domain name is correctly listed
  • In Computer Management -> Local Users and Groups -> Users my profile does not exist.

I've been doing some googling and have tried to update the group policy with gpupdate /force however that returns the following:

Updating policy...

Computer policy could not be updated successfully. The following errors were encountered:

The processing of Group Policy failed. Windows could not resolve the computer name. This could be caused by one of more of the following:
a) Name Resolution failure on the current domain controller.
b) Active Directory Replication Latency (an account created on another domain controller has not replicated to the current domain controller).
User Policy could not be updated successfully. The following errors were encountered:

The processing of Group Policy failed. Windows could not resolve the user name. This could be caused by one of more of the following:
a) Name Resolution failure on the current domain controller.
b) Active Directory Replication Latency (an account created on another domain controller has not replicated to the current domain controller).

I then tried to run: GPRESULT /H GPReport.html which returned with:

INFO: The user does not have RSoP data.

I then tried to generate RSoP data in Console Root -> Resultant Set of Policy which does not display my domain user and instead shows my local accounts.

Now in order for me to log into my domain account, I have to disconnect my internet, type my password, and then it will successfully log in.

At this point I am not really sure what to do and I'm not a pro at debugging windows AD issues.

Also, speaking of AD - I have accessed our AD and tried renaming my computer, assigning different IP's and disabling and re-enabling my user account which solved nothing.

I applied the 22H2 Windows 11 update last week which fried my entire domain user profile on my laptop. I attempted to change my domain from my workplace domain name to the local WORKGROUP and then changed it back and that ceased my access into my user account. Since then, I've resolved the issue and have gained access back into my user account, however my machine can no longer find the domain.

I was doing some digging around my computers settings and noticed the following:

  • In regedit (HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\ProfileList) my domain user profile exists.
  • In User Accounts my username and domain name is correctly listed
  • In Computer Management -> Local Users and Groups -> Users my profile does not exist.

I've been doing some googling and have tried to update the group policy with gpupdate /force however that returns the following:

Updating policy...

Computer policy could not be updated successfully. The following errors were encountered:

The processing of Group Policy failed. Windows could not resolve the computer name. This could be caused by one of more of the following:
a) Name Resolution failure on the current domain controller.
b) Active Directory Replication Latency (an account created on another domain controller has not replicated to the current domain controller).
User Policy could not be updated successfully. The following errors were encountered:

The processing of Group Policy failed. Windows could not resolve the user name. This could be caused by one of more of the following:
a) Name Resolution failure on the current domain controller.
b) Active Directory Replication Latency (an account created on another domain controller has not replicated to the current domain controller).

I then tried to run: GPRESULT /H GPReport.html which returned with:

INFO: The user does not have RSoP data.

I then tried to generate RSoP data in Console Root -> Resultant Set of Policy which does not display my domain user and instead shows my local accounts.

Now in order for me to log into my domain account, I have to disconnect my internet, type my password, and then it will successfully log in.

At this point I am not really sure what to do and I'm not a pro at debugging windows AD issues.

Also, speaking of AD - I have accessed our AD and tried renaming my computer, assigning different IP's and disabling and re-enabling my user account which solved nothing.

Screenshot of what I mean when I say my domain user exists in User Accounts but not in Local Users and Groups.

Screenshot

Source Link
jabroni
  • 103
  • 1
  • 3

My domain user profile is not listed in Local Users and Groups - Windows 11

I applied the 22H2 Windows 11 update last week which fried my entire domain user profile on my laptop. I attempted to change my domain from my workplace domain name to the local WORKGROUP and then changed it back and that ceased my access into my user account. Since then, I've resolved the issue and have gained access back into my user account, however my machine can no longer find the domain.

I was doing some digging around my computers settings and noticed the following:

  • In regedit (HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\ProfileList) my domain user profile exists.
  • In User Accounts my username and domain name is correctly listed
  • In Computer Management -> Local Users and Groups -> Users my profile does not exist.

I've been doing some googling and have tried to update the group policy with gpupdate /force however that returns the following:

Updating policy...

Computer policy could not be updated successfully. The following errors were encountered:

The processing of Group Policy failed. Windows could not resolve the computer name. This could be caused by one of more of the following:
a) Name Resolution failure on the current domain controller.
b) Active Directory Replication Latency (an account created on another domain controller has not replicated to the current domain controller).
User Policy could not be updated successfully. The following errors were encountered:

The processing of Group Policy failed. Windows could not resolve the user name. This could be caused by one of more of the following:
a) Name Resolution failure on the current domain controller.
b) Active Directory Replication Latency (an account created on another domain controller has not replicated to the current domain controller).

I then tried to run: GPRESULT /H GPReport.html which returned with:

INFO: The user does not have RSoP data.

I then tried to generate RSoP data in Console Root -> Resultant Set of Policy which does not display my domain user and instead shows my local accounts.

Now in order for me to log into my domain account, I have to disconnect my internet, type my password, and then it will successfully log in.

At this point I am not really sure what to do and I'm not a pro at debugging windows AD issues.

Also, speaking of AD - I have accessed our AD and tried renaming my computer, assigning different IP's and disabling and re-enabling my user account which solved nothing.