Skip to main content
Improved question by asking for workarounds
Source Link

I am currently using Windows and see that I need to reboot my PC time to time, without which it feels slow. That is if I keep running it for 4 - 8 hours without restarting, it'll start to slow down even if I close all the programs that I was using. This degradation in performance with uptime is something that I have primarily experienced on Windows. During my work on Linux, I did not observe such issues. Wanted to understand what might be causing the degradation of performance with uptime on Windows ? Also, is there something that can be done to improve on / avoid this behavior ?

If needed, my machine is a Dell Precision 5540, with an intel i7 9th Gen, it has 16 GB if RAM and a 512 GB SSD. There's a Nvidia Quadro T1000 GPU as a dedicated GPU.

I am currently using Windows and see that I need to reboot my PC time to time, without which it feels slow. That is if I keep running it for 4 - 8 hours without restarting, it'll start to slow down even if I close all the programs that I was using. This degradation in performance with uptime is something that I have primarily experienced on Windows. During my work on Linux, I did not observe such issues. Wanted to understand what might be causing the degradation of performance with uptime on Windows ?

If needed, my machine is a Dell Precision 5540, with an intel i7 9th Gen, it has 16 GB if RAM and a 512 GB SSD. There's a Nvidia Quadro T1000 GPU as a dedicated GPU.

I am currently using Windows and see that I need to reboot my PC time to time, without which it feels slow. That is if I keep running it for 4 - 8 hours without restarting, it'll start to slow down even if I close all the programs that I was using. This degradation in performance with uptime is something that I have primarily experienced on Windows. During my work on Linux, I did not observe such issues. Wanted to understand what might be causing the degradation of performance with uptime on Windows ? Also, is there something that can be done to improve on / avoid this behavior ?

If needed, my machine is a Dell Precision 5540, with an intel i7 9th Gen, it has 16 GB if RAM and a 512 GB SSD. There's a Nvidia Quadro T1000 GPU as a dedicated GPU.

Source Link

Why does a computer slow down when left running for a long time without restarting?

I am currently using Windows and see that I need to reboot my PC time to time, without which it feels slow. That is if I keep running it for 4 - 8 hours without restarting, it'll start to slow down even if I close all the programs that I was using. This degradation in performance with uptime is something that I have primarily experienced on Windows. During my work on Linux, I did not observe such issues. Wanted to understand what might be causing the degradation of performance with uptime on Windows ?

If needed, my machine is a Dell Precision 5540, with an intel i7 9th Gen, it has 16 GB if RAM and a 512 GB SSD. There's a Nvidia Quadro T1000 GPU as a dedicated GPU.