Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

6
  • are you hard set on using cmd and not powershell? Is combining the 2 scripts into one a possibility? As-is, you can append all the data to a text file and then read it in on the second bat and delete the file after it processes the variables.
    – Narzard
    Commented Oct 27, 2022 at 19:50
  • Unfortunately I can't merge the scripts (I wish I could) and I can't use powershell either (it doesn't go with my environment). I am trying with fart-it program and it has worked very well for this purpose (sourceforge.net/projects/fart-it), but I would like to know if there is another solution (in batch, cmd) that does not depend on external programs.
    – acgbox
    Commented Oct 28, 2022 at 13:21
  • You're right, but it should be a definite replacement, with data, not other variables
    – acgbox
    Commented Oct 28, 2022 at 15:09
  • 1
    @VomitIT-ChunkyMessStyle. There was no need for you to remove your post as your answer is pretty close to what I'm looking for
    – acgbox
    Commented Oct 28, 2022 at 20:37
  • Okay, I undeleted it since you said it was close and should not have been deleted—I thought I was way off. I deleted some of my other comments, but if interested in 100% pure batch executed script with PowerShell helper logic that gets executed within a batch script, let me know and I can append another variation to my answer with that. Maybe your systems restrict powershell.exe though or you aren't aware powershell.exe can be used in a batch script just like sed or fart can but it more robust and Windows native with no 3rd party needed. Just let me know and I'll be happy to try to help more. Commented Oct 28, 2022 at 21:05