Skip to main content
deleted 4 characters in body
Source Link
YorSubs
  • 959
  • 1
  • 15
  • 34

I've installed Windows probably thousands of times since Windows 3.1. I forget the situation in Win 3.1, but from Windows 95 onwards, Windows has never respected partition size reality, and as it's happening again today, I thought maybe someone on here could enlighten me...

e.g. when I have a newly wiped hard disk, Windows asks me what size I would like the new system partition to be, in MB, so, as I want 64 GB in this case, I put in 65536 ... exactly 64 GB, right? Wrong! ... as soon as you do that, Windows reports the new partition size as 63.9 GB.

Have Microsoft been playing a 20+ year practical joke on us?? ... or, is there a good reason why Microsoft report 65536 MB in Windows as being 63.9 GB instead of 64 GB in Windows?

This is not the most important question to know, but I'd love to know if someone has a good answer as it's made me scratch my head for a long time (and if this can be explained this away by NTFS tables taking a bit of space or something, what would you say is the correct way to get Windows to setup a 64 GB drive)? 🙂

I've installed Windows probably thousands of times since Windows 3.1. I forget the situation in Win 3.1, but from Windows 95 onwards, Windows has never respected partition size reality, and as it's happening again today, I thought maybe someone on here could enlighten me...

e.g. when I have a newly wiped hard disk, Windows asks me what size I would like the new system partition to be, in MB, so, as I want 64 GB in this case, I put in 65536 ... exactly 64 GB, right? Wrong! ... as soon as you do that, Windows reports the new partition size as 63.9 GB.

Have Microsoft been playing a 20+ year practical joke on us?? ... or, is there a good reason why Microsoft report 65536 MB as 63.9 GB instead of 64 GB in Windows?

This is not the most important question to know, but I'd love to know if someone has a good answer as it's made me scratch my head for a long time (and if this can be explained this away by NTFS tables taking a bit of space or something, what would you say is the correct way to get Windows to setup a 64 GB drive)? 🙂

I've installed Windows probably thousands of times since Windows 3.1. I forget the situation in Win 3.1, but from Windows 95 onwards, Windows has never respected partition size reality, and as it's happening again today, I thought maybe someone on here could enlighten me...

e.g. when I have a newly wiped hard disk, Windows asks me what size I would like the new system partition to be, in MB, so, as I want 64 GB in this case, I put in 65536 ... exactly 64 GB, right? Wrong! ... as soon as you do that, Windows reports the new partition size as 63.9 GB.

Have Microsoft been playing a 20+ year practical joke on us?? ... or, is there a good reason why Microsoft report 65536 MB in Windows as being 63.9 GB instead of 64 GB?

This is not the most important question to know, but I'd love to know if someone has a good answer as it's made me scratch my head for a long time (and if this can be explained by NTFS tables taking a bit of space or something, what would you say is the correct way to get Windows to setup a 64 GB drive)? 🙂

Source Link
YorSubs
  • 959
  • 1
  • 15
  • 34

Why does Windows always reports slightly wrong sizes when formatting a disk?

I've installed Windows probably thousands of times since Windows 3.1. I forget the situation in Win 3.1, but from Windows 95 onwards, Windows has never respected partition size reality, and as it's happening again today, I thought maybe someone on here could enlighten me...

e.g. when I have a newly wiped hard disk, Windows asks me what size I would like the new system partition to be, in MB, so, as I want 64 GB in this case, I put in 65536 ... exactly 64 GB, right? Wrong! ... as soon as you do that, Windows reports the new partition size as 63.9 GB.

Have Microsoft been playing a 20+ year practical joke on us?? ... or, is there a good reason why Microsoft report 65536 MB as 63.9 GB instead of 64 GB in Windows?

This is not the most important question to know, but I'd love to know if someone has a good answer as it's made me scratch my head for a long time (and if this can be explained this away by NTFS tables taking a bit of space or something, what would you say is the correct way to get Windows to setup a 64 GB drive)? 🙂