Skip to main content
Notice removed Canonical answer required by CommunityBot
Bounty Ended with no winning answer by CommunityBot
Notice added Canonical answer required by Graviton
Bounty Started worth 100 reputation by Graviton
added 90 characters in body
Source Link
Graviton
  • 5.7k
  • 28
  • 82
  • 100

By using WizTree I discover that inside INetCache\IE folderINetCache\IE folder, there are around 5 million ++ files, and they consume 11.3 GB.

enter image description here

This is strange because

  1. I don't use Internet Explorer on my Windows 10 machine, so where the files come from?
  2. When I go to the INetCache\IE folder, even if I turn on to see all the protected file system and the hidden files, I can only see a handful files and they only consume something like 4MB.

Where the rest of the files/hard disk go? Can ( or How can) I delete the contents to free up more space for my C Drive?

By using WizTree I discover that inside INetCache\IE folder, there are around 5 million ++ files, and they consume 11.3 GB.

enter image description here

This is strange because

  1. I don't use Internet Explorer on my Windows 10 machine, so where the files come from?
  2. When I go to the INetCache\IE folder, even if I turn on to see all the protected file system and the hidden files, I can only see a handful files and they only consume something like 4MB.

Where the rest of the files/hard disk go? Can ( or How can) I delete the contents to free up more space for my C Drive?

By using WizTree I discover that inside INetCache\IE folder, there are around 5 million ++ files, and they consume 11.3 GB.

enter image description here

This is strange because

  1. I don't use Internet Explorer on my Windows 10 machine, so where the files come from?
  2. When I go to the INetCache\IE folder, even if I turn on to see all the protected file system and the hidden files, I can only see a handful files and they only consume something like 4MB.

Where the rest of the files/hard disk go? Can ( or How can) I delete the contents to free up more space for my C Drive?

Source Link
Graviton
  • 5.7k
  • 28
  • 82
  • 100

INetCache/IE folder contains an incredible amount of files and consumes a lot of disk space?

By using WizTree I discover that inside INetCache\IE folder, there are around 5 million ++ files, and they consume 11.3 GB.

enter image description here

This is strange because

  1. I don't use Internet Explorer on my Windows 10 machine, so where the files come from?
  2. When I go to the INetCache\IE folder, even if I turn on to see all the protected file system and the hidden files, I can only see a handful files and they only consume something like 4MB.

Where the rest of the files/hard disk go? Can ( or How can) I delete the contents to free up more space for my C Drive?