Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results
added 6 characters in body
Source Link
John
  • 2.1k
  • 4
  • 28
  • 53

Command prompt:

CD C:\Users\Example\

rmdir favorites

Access is denied.

How do I delete the Favorites folder via the command prompt?

  • Yes, I want to do this.
  • Yes, I know this folder is for Internet Explorer.
  • Yes, I manually delete this folder all of the time without any issues.
  • No, the My Documents folder is my folder, not Microsoft's.

Edit 1:

I added "Everyone" as a user with all permissions for S&G:

Folder Permissions

Edit 2:

icacls Favorites
Favorites S-1-15-3-4096:(OI)(CI)(RX,W,DC)
          Everyone:(I)(OI)(CI)(F)
          NT AUTHORITY\SYSTEM:(I)(OI)(CI)(F)
          DESKTOP-DM38CA6\John:(I)(OI)(CI)(F)
          BUILTIN\Administrators:(I)(OI)(CI)(F)
          Mandatory Label\Low Mandatory Level:(OI)(CI)(NW)

Successfully processed 1 files; Failed processing 0 files

Answer

Thanks to people's comments and S. Brottes's answer here are the batch commands:

cd C:\Users\Example\Favorites
attrib desktop.ini -h -s
del desktop.ini
cd..
rmdir /s /q favorites

Command prompt:

CD C:\Users\Example\

rmdir favorites

Access is denied.

How do I delete the Favorites folder via the command prompt?

  • Yes, I want to do this.
  • Yes, I know this folder is for Internet Explorer.
  • Yes, I manually delete this folder all of the time without any issues.
  • No, the My Documents folder is my folder, not Microsoft's.

Edit 1:

I added "Everyone" as a user with all permissions for S&G:

Folder Permissions

Edit 2:

icacls Favorites
Favorites S-1-15-3-4096:(OI)(CI)(RX,W,DC)
          Everyone:(I)(OI)(CI)(F)
          NT AUTHORITY\SYSTEM:(I)(OI)(CI)(F)
          DESKTOP-DM38CA6\John:(I)(OI)(CI)(F)
          BUILTIN\Administrators:(I)(OI)(CI)(F)
          Mandatory Label\Low Mandatory Level:(OI)(CI)(NW)

Successfully processed 1 files; Failed processing 0 files

Answer

Thanks to people's comments and S. Brottes's answer here are the batch commands:

cd C:\Users\Example\Favorites
attrib desktop.ini -h -s
del desktop.ini
cd..
rmdir favorites

Command prompt:

CD C:\Users\Example\

rmdir favorites

Access is denied.

How do I delete the Favorites folder via the command prompt?

  • Yes, I want to do this.
  • Yes, I know this folder is for Internet Explorer.
  • Yes, I manually delete this folder all of the time without any issues.
  • No, the My Documents folder is my folder, not Microsoft's.

Edit 1:

I added "Everyone" as a user with all permissions for S&G:

Folder Permissions

Edit 2:

icacls Favorites
Favorites S-1-15-3-4096:(OI)(CI)(RX,W,DC)
          Everyone:(I)(OI)(CI)(F)
          NT AUTHORITY\SYSTEM:(I)(OI)(CI)(F)
          DESKTOP-DM38CA6\John:(I)(OI)(CI)(F)
          BUILTIN\Administrators:(I)(OI)(CI)(F)
          Mandatory Label\Low Mandatory Level:(OI)(CI)(NW)

Successfully processed 1 files; Failed processing 0 files

Answer

Thanks to people's comments and S. Brottes's answer here are the batch commands:

cd C:\Users\Example\Favorites
attrib desktop.ini -h -s
del desktop.ini
cd..
rmdir /s /q favorites
added 217 characters in body
Source Link
John
  • 2.1k
  • 4
  • 28
  • 53

Command prompt:

CD C:\Users\Example\

rmdir favorites

Access is denied.

How do I delete the Favorites folder via the command prompt?

  • Yes, I want to do this.
  • Yes, I know this folder is for Internet Explorer.
  • Yes, I manually delete this folder all of the time without any issues.
  • No, the My Documents folder is my folder, not Microsoft's.

Edit 1:

I added "Everyone" as a user with all permissions for S&G:

Folder Permissions

Edit 2:

icacls Favorites
Favorites S-1-15-3-4096:(OI)(CI)(RX,W,DC)
          Everyone:(I)(OI)(CI)(F)
          NT AUTHORITY\SYSTEM:(I)(OI)(CI)(F)
          DESKTOP-DM38CA6\John:(I)(OI)(CI)(F)
          BUILTIN\Administrators:(I)(OI)(CI)(F)
          Mandatory Label\Low Mandatory Level:(OI)(CI)(NW)

Successfully processed 1 files; Failed processing 0 files

Answer

Thanks to people's comments and S. Brottes's answer here are the batch commands:

cd C:\Users\Example\Favorites
attrib desktop.ini -h -s
del desktop.ini
cd..
rmdir favorites

Command prompt:

CD C:\Users\Example\

rmdir favorites

Access is denied.

How do I delete the Favorites folder via the command prompt?

  • Yes, I want to do this.
  • Yes, I know this folder is for Internet Explorer.
  • Yes, I manually delete this folder all of the time without any issues.
  • No, the My Documents folder is my folder, not Microsoft's.

Edit 1:

I added "Everyone" as a user with all permissions for S&G:

Folder Permissions

Edit 2:

icacls Favorites
Favorites S-1-15-3-4096:(OI)(CI)(RX,W,DC)
          Everyone:(I)(OI)(CI)(F)
          NT AUTHORITY\SYSTEM:(I)(OI)(CI)(F)
          DESKTOP-DM38CA6\John:(I)(OI)(CI)(F)
          BUILTIN\Administrators:(I)(OI)(CI)(F)
          Mandatory Label\Low Mandatory Level:(OI)(CI)(NW)

Successfully processed 1 files; Failed processing 0 files

Command prompt:

CD C:\Users\Example\

rmdir favorites

Access is denied.

How do I delete the Favorites folder via the command prompt?

  • Yes, I want to do this.
  • Yes, I know this folder is for Internet Explorer.
  • Yes, I manually delete this folder all of the time without any issues.
  • No, the My Documents folder is my folder, not Microsoft's.

Edit 1:

I added "Everyone" as a user with all permissions for S&G:

Folder Permissions

Edit 2:

icacls Favorites
Favorites S-1-15-3-4096:(OI)(CI)(RX,W,DC)
          Everyone:(I)(OI)(CI)(F)
          NT AUTHORITY\SYSTEM:(I)(OI)(CI)(F)
          DESKTOP-DM38CA6\John:(I)(OI)(CI)(F)
          BUILTIN\Administrators:(I)(OI)(CI)(F)
          Mandatory Label\Low Mandatory Level:(OI)(CI)(NW)

Successfully processed 1 files; Failed processing 0 files

Answer

Thanks to people's comments and S. Brottes's answer here are the batch commands:

cd C:\Users\Example\Favorites
attrib desktop.ini -h -s
del desktop.ini
cd..
rmdir favorites
added 412 characters in body
Source Link
John
  • 2.1k
  • 4
  • 28
  • 53

Command prompt:

CD C:\Users\Example\

rmdir favorites

Access is denied.

How do I delete the Favorites folder via the command prompt?

  • Yes, I want to do this.
  • Yes, I know this folder is for Internet Explorer.
  • Yes, I manually delete this folder all of the time without any issues.
  • No, the My Documents folder is my folder, not Microsoft's.

Edit 1:

I added "Everyone" as a user with all permissions for S&G:

Folder Permissions

Edit 2:

icacls Favorites
Favorites S-1-15-3-4096:(OI)(CI)(RX,W,DC)
          Everyone:(I)(OI)(CI)(F)
          NT AUTHORITY\SYSTEM:(I)(OI)(CI)(F)
          DESKTOP-DM38CA6\John:(I)(OI)(CI)(F)
          BUILTIN\Administrators:(I)(OI)(CI)(F)
          Mandatory Label\Low Mandatory Level:(OI)(CI)(NW)

Successfully processed 1 files; Failed processing 0 files

Command prompt:

CD C:\Users\Example\

rmdir favorites

Access is denied.

How do I delete the Favorites folder via the command prompt?

  • Yes, I want to do this.
  • Yes, I know this folder is for Internet Explorer.
  • Yes, I manually delete this folder all of the time without any issues.
  • No, the My Documents folder is my folder, not Microsoft's.

Edit:

I added "Everyone" as a user with all permissions for S&G:

Folder Permissions

Command prompt:

CD C:\Users\Example\

rmdir favorites

Access is denied.

How do I delete the Favorites folder via the command prompt?

  • Yes, I want to do this.
  • Yes, I know this folder is for Internet Explorer.
  • Yes, I manually delete this folder all of the time without any issues.
  • No, the My Documents folder is my folder, not Microsoft's.

Edit 1:

I added "Everyone" as a user with all permissions for S&G:

Folder Permissions

Edit 2:

icacls Favorites
Favorites S-1-15-3-4096:(OI)(CI)(RX,W,DC)
          Everyone:(I)(OI)(CI)(F)
          NT AUTHORITY\SYSTEM:(I)(OI)(CI)(F)
          DESKTOP-DM38CA6\John:(I)(OI)(CI)(F)
          BUILTIN\Administrators:(I)(OI)(CI)(F)
          Mandatory Label\Low Mandatory Level:(OI)(CI)(NW)

Successfully processed 1 files; Failed processing 0 files
added 156 characters in body
Source Link
John
  • 2.1k
  • 4
  • 28
  • 53
Loading
Source Link
John
  • 2.1k
  • 4
  • 28
  • 53
Loading