Skip to main content
9 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Sep 12, 2022 at 19:24 vote accept March
Sep 13, 2022 at 19:24
Sep 8, 2022 at 9:20 comment added Tetsujin Mac is really very unlike Windows. It doesn't demand you jump through hoops when you first get one, or have to reset it every five minutes. A new Mac arrives ready for maximum security & safety. There's nothing the user needs to do except setup a backup drive in case of emergency. Here are a couple of beginner's guides… macworld.com/article/227083/… and imore.com/meet-your-new-mac
Sep 8, 2022 at 9:12 comment added March Do you mean that when I reset my MAC (so not think the reason, just think that I want to reset everything on my MAC), only some parts or volumes are affected while some others are not and I can confidently keep my private data files and documents on these folders that won't be affected? If so, could you tell me what is the proper way to keep my private files, which location should I use for that purpose? I am sorry but as being new on Mac, I just wanted to make necessary settings and config from starting point. Thanks in advance for your useful helps.
Sep 7, 2022 at 8:55 comment added Tetsujin System files & user files are already on separate volumes, precisely for the purpose you describe; the ability to keep the system secure & allow simple reinstall without affecting user data. This idea of 'resetting' a Mac just isn't necessary until you sell it or give it away. You should always keep a backup anyway, before performing anything potentially 'dangerous' like re-partitioning. That task in itself has more chance of losing your data than simply allowing the system to look after itself.
Sep 7, 2022 at 8:51 comment added March Thanks a lot for reply. I do not want to move any user or system files to a new volume/partition. Instead, I just want to keep there my personal documents, files, etc. So, for this purpose, what should I do? Should I create volume or partition? Mac is not Windows, I know, but what if I want to reset all the settings and setups while keeping my personal files? Just tell me the answer of it. Thanks a lot.
Sep 5, 2022 at 18:20 history edited Tetsujin CC BY-SA 4.0
added 3 characters in body
Sep 5, 2022 at 16:36 comment added Gordon Davisson Also, in my experience putting a user home folder on a different volume (different from the one macOS automatically creates & uses for user files, that is) does run a significant risk of causing trouble. So just don't do that.
Sep 5, 2022 at 16:33 history edited Tetsujin CC BY-SA 4.0
added 3 characters in body
Sep 5, 2022 at 15:59 history answered Tetsujin CC BY-SA 4.0