Skip to main content
Overall copy edits.
Source Link
Giacomo1968
  • 56.1k
  • 23
  • 167
  • 214

Mac: Partition Is is better to partition or create a new volume to keep and separate data from the core system in macOS?

I am new on MacmacOS and I want to split disk to into 2two parts in order to keep my data files in the new part and just in case I need to reinstall my Mac,macOS. To prevent my files to be deleted.

For this purpose, I am followinglooking at this this official Apple page:

 https://support.apple.com/en-gb/guide/disk-utility/dskutl14027/macPartition a physical disk in Disk Utility on Mac

But, I am not sure if creating volume instead of partition would be suitable for my scenario especially when I need to reinstall my Mac (tomacOS to keep my files). Any idea?

Mac: Partition or volume to keep data?

I am new on Mac and I want to split disk to into 2 parts in order to keep my data files in the new part and just in case I need to reinstall my Mac, prevent my files to be deleted.

For this purpose, I am following this page:

 https://support.apple.com/en-gb/guide/disk-utility/dskutl14027/mac

But, I am not sure if creating volume instead of partition would be suitable for my scenario especially when I need to reinstall my Mac (to keep my files). Any idea?

Is is better to partition or create a new volume to keep and separate data from the core system in macOS?

I am new on macOS and I want to split disk to into two parts in order to keep my data files in the new part and just in case I need to reinstall my macOS. To prevent my files to be deleted.

For this purpose, I am looking at this this official Apple page:Partition a physical disk in Disk Utility on Mac

But, I am not sure if creating volume instead of partition would be suitable for my scenario especially when I need to reinstall macOS to keep my files. Any idea?

Became Hot Network Question
edited title
Link
March
  • 39
  • 1
  • 6

Mac: Partition or volume on Mac to keep data?

edited title
Link
March
  • 39
  • 1
  • 6

Should I create partition Partition or Volumevolume on Mac to keep data?

Source Link
March
  • 39
  • 1
  • 6
Loading