Skip to main content
added 112 characters in body
Source Link

I have a windows 10 VM in a VMWare Workstation. I just allocated an extra 50 gigabytes via the VM settings when it was off. I turned on the VM, opened up Computer Management->Disk Management, clicked Actions->Refresh and I do see the extra space there now under Disk 0 as 'unallocated'. I tried right clicking my C:\ Drive to Extend Volume but it was greyed out. I tried doing this again, running Computer Management as Admin, I still see the free allocated space, but Extend Volume is still greyed out for me. What am I missing? How can I extend the C drive to use this extra space?

Edit: Screenshot - enter image description here

I have a windows 10 VM in a VMWare Workstation. I just allocated an extra 50 gigabytes via the VM settings when it was off. I turned on the VM, opened up Computer Management->Disk Management, clicked Actions->Refresh and I do see the extra space there now under Disk 0 as 'unallocated'. I tried right clicking my C:\ Drive to Extend Volume but it was greyed out. I tried doing this again, running Computer Management as Admin, I still see the free allocated space, but Extend Volume is still greyed out for me. What am I missing? How can I extend the C drive to use this extra space?

I have a windows 10 VM in a VMWare Workstation. I just allocated an extra 50 gigabytes via the VM settings when it was off. I turned on the VM, opened up Computer Management->Disk Management, clicked Actions->Refresh and I do see the extra space there now under Disk 0 as 'unallocated'. I tried right clicking my C:\ Drive to Extend Volume but it was greyed out. I tried doing this again, running Computer Management as Admin, I still see the free allocated space, but Extend Volume is still greyed out for me. What am I missing? How can I extend the C drive to use this extra space?

Edit: Screenshot - enter image description here

Source Link

Cannot extend volume for Windows 10 VM after allocating extra space?

I have a windows 10 VM in a VMWare Workstation. I just allocated an extra 50 gigabytes via the VM settings when it was off. I turned on the VM, opened up Computer Management->Disk Management, clicked Actions->Refresh and I do see the extra space there now under Disk 0 as 'unallocated'. I tried right clicking my C:\ Drive to Extend Volume but it was greyed out. I tried doing this again, running Computer Management as Admin, I still see the free allocated space, but Extend Volume is still greyed out for me. What am I missing? How can I extend the C drive to use this extra space?