Skip to main content
edited tags
Link
Source Link

Managing multiple types of devices

I'm not really a sysadmin, it's more like I got asked to manage a few devices the organisation has.

We got surface gos, ipads, Andriod tablets and VR headsets. About 10 to 15 sets of each type and they are not assigned for any specific user (they are mostly for event purposes). I have been told to use a MDM or some kind of device management solution but I do have a few questions before I go requesting one.

  • Can I use one account to manage each type of device? (i.e. one Ms account for all the surfaces, one apple id for all the iOS devices, one google account for all the Androids etc, and one meta account for the quest).
  • Could I still run the same apps simultaneously on multiple devices with the above setup? Think the only one I can't do that is for VR apps from the Oculus store? But how about the others?
  • If I were to use an MDM, can I do that all on one account or do I need individual accounts for each device?