Skip to main content
Updated with successful workaround.
Source Link

Super frustrated by the same thing. As far as I can make out, the fix is to install cloudflare warp directly on the vm (which appears not to have a headless login method).

The problem with piggy-backing on the windows instance of cloudflare-warp is that it sets itself up on loopback, and from my quick investigation, the VB instance can't route to that listener. There may be another path to success in fixing that route/connection issue. I'll keep poking at this and will try to remember to update here if I find a fix.


I came up with a working solution. After trying for a while to get Cloudflare Warp working on the vm, I gave up and tried another tack. I installed a DNS proxy on windows (specifically, Acrylic DNS Proxy), and configured it to use the Warp listeners for its primary and secondary forwarders:

PrimaryServerAddress=127.0.2.2
SecondaryServerAddress=127.0.2.3

By default, it then listens on UDP(53) on all non-loopback interfaces, which gives the VM somewhere to land its request, and returns responses as resolved by Warp. It has worked pretty solidly for me for a few months.

Super frustrated by the same thing. As far as I can make out, the fix is to install cloudflare warp directly on the vm (which appears not to have a headless login method).

The problem with piggy-backing on the windows instance of cloudflare-warp is that it sets itself up on loopback, and from my quick investigation, the VB instance can't route to that listener. There may be another path to success in fixing that route/connection issue. I'll keep poking at this and will try to remember to update here if I find a fix.

Super frustrated by the same thing. As far as I can make out, the fix is to install cloudflare warp directly on the vm (which appears not to have a headless login method).

The problem with piggy-backing on the windows instance of cloudflare-warp is that it sets itself up on loopback, and from my quick investigation, the VB instance can't route to that listener. There may be another path to success in fixing that route/connection issue. I'll keep poking at this and will try to remember to update here if I find a fix.


I came up with a working solution. After trying for a while to get Cloudflare Warp working on the vm, I gave up and tried another tack. I installed a DNS proxy on windows (specifically, Acrylic DNS Proxy), and configured it to use the Warp listeners for its primary and secondary forwarders:

PrimaryServerAddress=127.0.2.2
SecondaryServerAddress=127.0.2.3

By default, it then listens on UDP(53) on all non-loopback interfaces, which gives the VM somewhere to land its request, and returns responses as resolved by Warp. It has worked pretty solidly for me for a few months.

Source Link

Super frustrated by the same thing. As far as I can make out, the fix is to install cloudflare warp directly on the vm (which appears not to have a headless login method).

The problem with piggy-backing on the windows instance of cloudflare-warp is that it sets itself up on loopback, and from my quick investigation, the VB instance can't route to that listener. There may be another path to success in fixing that route/connection issue. I'll keep poking at this and will try to remember to update here if I find a fix.