Skip to main content
add motherboard
Source Link
Scottmeup
  • 149
  • 1
  • 1
  • 8

Windows installer will create 3 volumes from unallocated space but errors on installation. iirc the partitions are EFI, wsr(?) - each a few 100mb only max, and the main data volume which takes up the rest of the space.

When I try to install Windows onto the largest volume on the drive I get an error We couldn't create a new partition or locate an existing one.

I tried following this guide https://appuals.com/fix-we-couldnt-create-a-new-partition-or-locate-an-existing-one/ . The last time I tried I got an error about the drive having a MBR partition table.

I've used the same USB drive to install Windows 11 previously on the same machine so I'm a bit stumped as to what the problem is.

The drive had a working Windows 11 install on it until I wiped it under linux. I've recreated the partition table and zero'd out the disk but so far the issue hasn't changed.

I see there's a similar issue Windows installation: Couldn't create a new partition or locate an existing one but it doesn't resolve my problem.

Motherboard is a Gigabyte Z490 Vision-D

Setup Logs: setuperr.log setupact.log 1/2 setupact.log 2/2

Step 1 - Install to Unallocated Space Install process: beginning with unallocated space

Step 2 - During installation error occurs Error encountered trying install to unallocated space

Step 3 - Installing on the newly created volume gives an error Installer creates partitions but errors when trying to install to them

Partitions created by Windows 11 Installer This is the partition map created by the windows 11 installer when beginning from unallocated space

enter image description here The partition table has been recreated as GPT but the issue remains

enter image description here This is the output of diskutil list disk

Windows installer will create 3 volumes from unallocated space but errors on installation. iirc the partitions are EFI, wsr(?) - each a few 100mb only max, and the main data volume which takes up the rest of the space.

When I try to install Windows onto the largest volume on the drive I get an error We couldn't create a new partition or locate an existing one.

I tried following this guide https://appuals.com/fix-we-couldnt-create-a-new-partition-or-locate-an-existing-one/ . The last time I tried I got an error about the drive having a MBR partition table.

I've used the same USB drive to install Windows 11 previously on the same machine so I'm a bit stumped as to what the problem is.

The drive had a working Windows 11 install on it until I wiped it under linux. I've recreated the partition table and zero'd out the disk but so far the issue hasn't changed.

I see there's a similar issue Windows installation: Couldn't create a new partition or locate an existing one but it doesn't resolve my problem.

Setup Logs: setuperr.log setupact.log 1/2 setupact.log 2/2

Step 1 - Install to Unallocated Space Install process: beginning with unallocated space

Step 2 - During installation error occurs Error encountered trying install to unallocated space

Step 3 - Installing on the newly created volume gives an error Installer creates partitions but errors when trying to install to them

Partitions created by Windows 11 Installer This is the partition map created by the windows 11 installer when beginning from unallocated space

enter image description here The partition table has been recreated as GPT but the issue remains

enter image description here This is the output of diskutil list disk

Windows installer will create 3 volumes from unallocated space but errors on installation. iirc the partitions are EFI, wsr(?) - each a few 100mb only max, and the main data volume which takes up the rest of the space.

When I try to install Windows onto the largest volume on the drive I get an error We couldn't create a new partition or locate an existing one.

I tried following this guide https://appuals.com/fix-we-couldnt-create-a-new-partition-or-locate-an-existing-one/ . The last time I tried I got an error about the drive having a MBR partition table.

I've used the same USB drive to install Windows 11 previously on the same machine so I'm a bit stumped as to what the problem is.

The drive had a working Windows 11 install on it until I wiped it under linux. I've recreated the partition table and zero'd out the disk but so far the issue hasn't changed.

I see there's a similar issue Windows installation: Couldn't create a new partition or locate an existing one but it doesn't resolve my problem.

Motherboard is a Gigabyte Z490 Vision-D

Setup Logs: setuperr.log setupact.log 1/2 setupact.log 2/2

Step 1 - Install to Unallocated Space Install process: beginning with unallocated space

Step 2 - During installation error occurs Error encountered trying install to unallocated space

Step 3 - Installing on the newly created volume gives an error Installer creates partitions but errors when trying to install to them

Partitions created by Windows 11 Installer This is the partition map created by the windows 11 installer when beginning from unallocated space

enter image description here The partition table has been recreated as GPT but the issue remains

enter image description here This is the output of diskutil list disk

add output of diskutil `list disk`
Source Link
Scottmeup
  • 149
  • 1
  • 1
  • 8

Windows installer will create 3 volumes from unallocated space but errors on installation. iirc the partitions are EFI, wsr(?) - each a few 100mb only max, and the main data volume which takes up the rest of the space.

When I try to install Windows onto the largest volume on the drive I get an error We couldn't create a new partition or locate an existing one.

I tried following this guide https://appuals.com/fix-we-couldnt-create-a-new-partition-or-locate-an-existing-one/ . The last time I tried I got an error about the drive having a MBR partition table.

I've used the same USB drive to install Windows 11 previously on the same machine so I'm a bit stumped as to what the problem is.

The drive had a working Windows 11 install on it until I wiped it under linux. I've recreated the partition table and zero'd out the disk but so far the issue hasn't changed.

I see there's a similar issue Windows installation: Couldn't create a new partition or locate an existing one but it doesn't resolve my problem.

Setup Logs: setuperr.log setupact.log 1/2 setupact.log 2/2

Step 1 - Install to Unallocated Space Install process: beginning with unallocated space

Step 2 - During installation error occurs Error encountered trying install to unallocated space

Step 3 - Installing on the newly created volume gives an error Installer creates partitions but errors when trying to install to them

Partitions created by Windows 11 Installer This is the partition map created by the windows 11 installer when beginning from unallocated space

enter image description here The partition table has been recreated as GPT but the issue remains

enter image description here This is the output of diskutil list disk

Windows installer will create 3 volumes from unallocated space but errors on installation. iirc the partitions are EFI, wsr(?) - each a few 100mb only max, and the main data volume which takes up the rest of the space.

When I try to install Windows onto the largest volume on the drive I get an error We couldn't create a new partition or locate an existing one.

I tried following this guide https://appuals.com/fix-we-couldnt-create-a-new-partition-or-locate-an-existing-one/ . The last time I tried I got an error about the drive having a MBR partition table.

I've used the same USB drive to install Windows 11 previously on the same machine so I'm a bit stumped as to what the problem is.

The drive had a working Windows 11 install on it until I wiped it under linux. I've recreated the partition table and zero'd out the disk but so far the issue hasn't changed.

I see there's a similar issue Windows installation: Couldn't create a new partition or locate an existing one but it doesn't resolve my problem.

Setup Logs: setuperr.log setupact.log 1/2 setupact.log 2/2

Step 1 - Install to Unallocated Space Install process: beginning with unallocated space

Step 2 - During installation error occurs Error encountered trying install to unallocated space

Step 3 - Installing on the newly created volume gives an error Installer creates partitions but errors when trying to install to them

Partitions created by Windows 11 Installer This is the partition map created by the windows 11 installer when beginning from unallocated space

enter image description here The partition table has been recreated as GPT but the issue remains

Windows installer will create 3 volumes from unallocated space but errors on installation. iirc the partitions are EFI, wsr(?) - each a few 100mb only max, and the main data volume which takes up the rest of the space.

When I try to install Windows onto the largest volume on the drive I get an error We couldn't create a new partition or locate an existing one.

I tried following this guide https://appuals.com/fix-we-couldnt-create-a-new-partition-or-locate-an-existing-one/ . The last time I tried I got an error about the drive having a MBR partition table.

I've used the same USB drive to install Windows 11 previously on the same machine so I'm a bit stumped as to what the problem is.

The drive had a working Windows 11 install on it until I wiped it under linux. I've recreated the partition table and zero'd out the disk but so far the issue hasn't changed.

I see there's a similar issue Windows installation: Couldn't create a new partition or locate an existing one but it doesn't resolve my problem.

Setup Logs: setuperr.log setupact.log 1/2 setupact.log 2/2

Step 1 - Install to Unallocated Space Install process: beginning with unallocated space

Step 2 - During installation error occurs Error encountered trying install to unallocated space

Step 3 - Installing on the newly created volume gives an error Installer creates partitions but errors when trying to install to them

Partitions created by Windows 11 Installer This is the partition map created by the windows 11 installer when beginning from unallocated space

enter image description here The partition table has been recreated as GPT but the issue remains

enter image description here This is the output of diskutil list disk

formatting
Source Link
Scottmeup
  • 149
  • 1
  • 1
  • 8

Windows installer will create 3 volumes from unallocated space but errors on installation. iirc the partitions are EFI, wsr(?) - each a few 100mb only max, and the main data volume which takes up the rest of the space.

When I try to install Windows onto the largest volume on the drive I get an error We couldn't create a new partition or locate an existing one.

I tried following this guide https://appuals.com/fix-we-couldnt-create-a-new-partition-or-locate-an-existing-one/ . The last time I tried I got an error about the drive having a MBR partition table.

I've used the same USB drive to install Windows 11 previously on the same machine so I'm a bit stumped as to what the problem is.

The drive had a working Windows 11 install on it until I wiped it under linux. I've recreated the partition table and zero'd out the disk but so far the issue hasn't changed.

I see there's a similar issue Windows installation: Couldn't create a new partition or locate an existing one but it doesn't resolve my problem.

Setup Logs: setuperr.log

   setupact.log 1/2

   setupact.log 2/2

Step 1 - Install to Unallocated Space Install process: beginning with unallocated space

Step 2 - During installation error occurs Error encountered trying install to unallocated space

Step 3 - Installing on the newly created volume gives an error Installer creates partitions but errors when trying to install to them

Partitions created by Windows 11 Installer This is the partition map created by the windows 11 installer when beginning from unallocated space

I've tried creating a newenter image description here The partition table has been recreated as GPT enter image description here but the issue remains

Windows installer will create 3 volumes from unallocated space but errors on installation. iirc the partitions are EFI, wsr(?) - each a few 100mb only max, and the main data volume which takes up the rest of the space.

When I try to install Windows onto the largest volume on the drive I get an error We couldn't create a new partition or locate an existing one.

I tried following this guide https://appuals.com/fix-we-couldnt-create-a-new-partition-or-locate-an-existing-one/ . The last time I tried I got an error about the drive having a MBR partition table.

I've used the same USB drive to install Windows 11 previously on the same machine so I'm a bit stumped as to what the problem is.

The drive had a working Windows 11 install on it until I wiped it under linux. I've recreated the partition table and zero'd out the disk but so far the issue hasn't changed.

I see there's a similar issue Windows installation: Couldn't create a new partition or locate an existing one but it doesn't resolve my problem.

setuperr.log

 setupact.log 1/2

 setupact.log 2/2

Step 1 - Install to Unallocated Space

Step 2 - During installation error occurs

Step 3 - Installing on the newly created volume gives an error

Partitions created by Windows 11 Installer

I've tried creating a new partition table as GPT enter image description here

Windows installer will create 3 volumes from unallocated space but errors on installation. iirc the partitions are EFI, wsr(?) - each a few 100mb only max, and the main data volume which takes up the rest of the space.

When I try to install Windows onto the largest volume on the drive I get an error We couldn't create a new partition or locate an existing one.

I tried following this guide https://appuals.com/fix-we-couldnt-create-a-new-partition-or-locate-an-existing-one/ . The last time I tried I got an error about the drive having a MBR partition table.

I've used the same USB drive to install Windows 11 previously on the same machine so I'm a bit stumped as to what the problem is.

The drive had a working Windows 11 install on it until I wiped it under linux. I've recreated the partition table and zero'd out the disk but so far the issue hasn't changed.

I see there's a similar issue Windows installation: Couldn't create a new partition or locate an existing one but it doesn't resolve my problem.

Setup Logs: setuperr.log  setupact.log 1/2  setupact.log 2/2

Step 1 - Install to Unallocated Space Install process: beginning with unallocated space

Step 2 - During installation error occurs Error encountered trying install to unallocated space

Step 3 - Installing on the newly created volume gives an error Installer creates partitions but errors when trying to install to them

Partitions created by Windows 11 Installer This is the partition map created by the windows 11 installer when beginning from unallocated space

enter image description here The partition table has been recreated as GPT but the issue remains

add setup logs
Source Link
Scottmeup
  • 149
  • 1
  • 1
  • 8
Loading
add new partition table details
Source Link
Scottmeup
  • 149
  • 1
  • 1
  • 8
Loading
clarify installation procedure
Source Link
Scottmeup
  • 149
  • 1
  • 1
  • 8
Loading
reorder photos
Source Link
Scottmeup
  • 149
  • 1
  • 1
  • 8
Loading
Add screenshots
Source Link
Scottmeup
  • 149
  • 1
  • 1
  • 8
Loading
Source Link
Scottmeup
  • 149
  • 1
  • 1
  • 8
Loading