Skip to main content
Inlined the links with titles of pages
Source Link
Greenonline
  • 2.3k
  • 11
  • 26
  • 33

Due to a problem with my dual boot setup (Windows 11 Pro and Linux Mint), I needed to deactivate the PCR 4 from the Bitlocker Group Policies in order to not type in my Bitlocker recovery password every time I log into Windows.

More information on it can be found here, HEREBitLocker group policy settings, at the "Configure TPM platform validation profile for native UEFI firmware configurations" part.

As for my dual boot setup, it is this one, THIS ONE[SOLVED] Dual booting Mint on a second drive independently, but with both drive encrypted with Bitlocker and LVM + LUKS for Linux Mint

The encryption guide I followed, FOLLOWEDDual Booting Ubuntu With Windows 10 Pro With BitLocker Encryption.

What is going to be the impact in terms of security? I also needed to deactivate the PCR 7 "Secure Boot" to enable a dual boot setup, can you explain to me what this implies as well? What kind of attacks can still be used?

I just wanted to prevent my data from being recovered by some random coffeeshop thief, so I won't expect much security issues, I'm just generally interested in understanding how all of this is working. But the documentation isn't clear and I can't seem to find more informations on this. I think I might be the only one dumb enough to do that kind of setup.

Anyway, thanks in advance and have a great day !

Due to a problem with my dual boot setup (Windows 11 Pro and Linux Mint), I needed to deactivate the PCR 4 from the Bitlocker Group Policies in order to not type in my Bitlocker recovery password every time I log into Windows.

More information on it can be found HERE at the "Configure TPM platform validation profile for native UEFI firmware configurations" part.

As for my dual boot setup, it is THIS ONE but with both drive encrypted with Bitlocker and LVM + LUKS for Linux Mint

The encryption guide I FOLLOWED

What is going to be the impact in terms of security? I also needed to deactivate the PCR 7 "Secure Boot" to enable a dual boot setup, can you explain to me what this implies as well? What kind of attacks can still be used?

I just wanted to prevent my data from being recovered by some random coffeeshop thief, so I won't expect much security issues, I'm just generally interested in understanding how all of this is working. But the documentation isn't clear and I can't seem to find more informations on this. I think I might be the only one dumb enough to do that kind of setup.

Anyway, thanks in advance and have a great day !

Due to a problem with my dual boot setup (Windows 11 Pro and Linux Mint), I needed to deactivate the PCR 4 from the Bitlocker Group Policies in order to not type in my Bitlocker recovery password every time I log into Windows.

More information on it can be found here, BitLocker group policy settings, at the "Configure TPM platform validation profile for native UEFI firmware configurations" part.

As for my dual boot setup, it is this one, [SOLVED] Dual booting Mint on a second drive independently, but with both drive encrypted with Bitlocker and LVM + LUKS for Linux Mint

The encryption guide I followed, Dual Booting Ubuntu With Windows 10 Pro With BitLocker Encryption.

What is going to be the impact in terms of security? I also needed to deactivate the PCR 7 "Secure Boot" to enable a dual boot setup, can you explain to me what this implies as well? What kind of attacks can still be used?

I just wanted to prevent my data from being recovered by some random coffeeshop thief, so I won't expect much security issues, I'm just generally interested in understanding how all of this is working. But the documentation isn't clear and I can't seem to find more informations on this. I think I might be the only one dumb enough to do that kind of setup.

Anyway, thanks in advance and have a great day !

Due to a problem with my dual boot setup (Windows 11 Pro and Linux Mint), I needed to deactivate the PCR 4 from the Bitlocker Group Policies in order to not type in my Bitlocker recovery password every time I log into Windows.

More informationsinformation on it can be found here : https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/security/information-protection/bitlocker/bitlocker-group-policy-settingsHERE at the "Configure TPM platform validation profile for native UEFI firmware configurations" part.

As for my dual boot setup, it is this oneTHIS ONE but with both drive encrypted with Bitlocker and LVM + LUKS for Linux Mint : https://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=46&t=375199

The encryption guide I followed : https://itsfoss.com/dual-boot-ubuntu-windows-bitlocker/FOLLOWED

What is going to be the impact in terms of security? I also needed to deactivate the PCR 7 "Secure Boot" to enable a dual boot setup, can you explain to me what this implies as well? What kind of attacks can still be used?

I just wanted to prevent my data from being recovered by some random coffeeshop thief, so I won't expect much security issues, I'm just generally interested in understanding how all of this is working. But the documentation isn't clear and I can't seem to find more informations on this. I think I might be the only one dumb enough to do that kind of setup.

Anyway, thanks in advance and have a great day !

Due to a problem with my dual boot setup (Windows 11 Pro and Linux Mint), I needed to deactivate the PCR 4 from the Bitlocker Group Policies in order to not type in my Bitlocker recovery password every time I log into Windows.

More informations on it can be found here : https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/security/information-protection/bitlocker/bitlocker-group-policy-settings at the "Configure TPM platform validation profile for native UEFI firmware configurations" part.

As for my dual boot setup, it is this one but with both drive encrypted with Bitlocker and LVM + LUKS for Linux Mint : https://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=46&t=375199

The encryption guide I followed : https://itsfoss.com/dual-boot-ubuntu-windows-bitlocker/

What is going to be the impact in terms of security? I also needed to deactivate the PCR 7 "Secure Boot" to enable a dual boot setup, can you explain to me what this implies as well? What kind of attacks can still be used?

I just wanted to prevent my data from being recovered by some random coffeeshop thief, so I won't expect much security issues, I'm just generally interested in understanding how all of this is working. But the documentation isn't clear and I can't seem to find more informations on this. I think I might be the only one dumb enough to do that kind of setup.

Anyway, thanks in advance and have a great day !

Due to a problem with my dual boot setup (Windows 11 Pro and Linux Mint), I needed to deactivate the PCR 4 from the Bitlocker Group Policies in order to not type in my Bitlocker recovery password every time I log into Windows.

More information on it can be found HERE at the "Configure TPM platform validation profile for native UEFI firmware configurations" part.

As for my dual boot setup, it is THIS ONE but with both drive encrypted with Bitlocker and LVM + LUKS for Linux Mint

The encryption guide I FOLLOWED

What is going to be the impact in terms of security? I also needed to deactivate the PCR 7 "Secure Boot" to enable a dual boot setup, can you explain to me what this implies as well? What kind of attacks can still be used?

I just wanted to prevent my data from being recovered by some random coffeeshop thief, so I won't expect much security issues, I'm just generally interested in understanding how all of this is working. But the documentation isn't clear and I can't seem to find more informations on this. I think I might be the only one dumb enough to do that kind of setup.

Anyway, thanks in advance and have a great day !

Source Link

What is the impact of deactivating the PCR 4 "Boot manager" from my Bitlocker Group Policy

Due to a problem with my dual boot setup (Windows 11 Pro and Linux Mint), I needed to deactivate the PCR 4 from the Bitlocker Group Policies in order to not type in my Bitlocker recovery password every time I log into Windows.

More informations on it can be found here : https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/security/information-protection/bitlocker/bitlocker-group-policy-settings at the "Configure TPM platform validation profile for native UEFI firmware configurations" part.

As for my dual boot setup, it is this one but with both drive encrypted with Bitlocker and LVM + LUKS for Linux Mint : https://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=46&t=375199

The encryption guide I followed : https://itsfoss.com/dual-boot-ubuntu-windows-bitlocker/

What is going to be the impact in terms of security? I also needed to deactivate the PCR 7 "Secure Boot" to enable a dual boot setup, can you explain to me what this implies as well? What kind of attacks can still be used?

I just wanted to prevent my data from being recovered by some random coffeeshop thief, so I won't expect much security issues, I'm just generally interested in understanding how all of this is working. But the documentation isn't clear and I can't seem to find more informations on this. I think I might be the only one dumb enough to do that kind of setup.

Anyway, thanks in advance and have a great day !