Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

4
  • Is the router set up to do DHCPv6-PD requests? It is supposed to get a public IPv6 prefix for the entire LAN. Commented Jul 15, 2022 at 21:50
  • That's a really good question that I have no idea how to answer because we're past the edges of what I know about IPv6. Let's say I do the googling to figure out where to poke the router to make it do that. Do I also have to do anything to make the server (with its own IPv6) visible to the outside world beyond the router, like with port forwarding from a router's single WAN-side IPv4 address to a LAN 192.x.x.x machine, or do the inbound packets from the WAN just get routed to me via that allotted prefix and my router sorts them to local machines by full address?
    – GarageBay9
    Commented Jul 15, 2022 at 21:59
  • There should be no port-forwarding needed, as the server will get its own public address (from the LAN /64 prefix that your router gets via DHCPv6 Prefix Delegation/PD) and your clients just directly connect to that, from both inside and outside. But in many cases you might still need to add a firewall "allow" rule on the router. (Firewalls exist in IPv6 just like they do in IPv4, even if without NAT.) That said, I have no idea about how prefix delegation is configured in DD-WRT, and I have no idea if there might be something unusual about how it works with Starlink. Commented Jul 16, 2022 at 7:54
  • Got it. At least I know which direction to start researching in - thank you! Now I have to figure out how to have my PiHole do DNS filtering for everything, but only IPv4 internal DHCP, and leave IPv6 DHCP to the PD process. I think that question is headed to the Pihole team's subreddit, though...
    – GarageBay9
    Commented Jul 16, 2022 at 16:52