Skip to main content
improved content
Source Link

Force ICH7-M in AHCI mode, works in Linux with grub2 plusand setpci, worksnot in Linux, but what about Windows?

thisThis is my first post, forgive me if I am in the wrong place or if my post is considered inappropriate. I have borrowed the idea from numerous Mac user forums, after I added a SSD disk to my Sony VAIO VPCW12J1E, 32bit, dual booting Debian Sid / Windows 7 Starter on standard MBR - no GPT, no EFI, no UEFI. 
The netbook is equipped with a heavily mutilated Phoenix BIOS, which lacks the option to set the chipset in AHCI mode (see my post here for example). With Debian already installed in IDE mode, and initramfs-tools package, it's all quite simple:

With Windows is another story, the previous magic string does not suffice alone and indeed, it prevents the system from seeing the SSD disk - so it does not boot. But I believe the SATA settings mentioned in the official datasheet can be translated into other setpci strings, tailored to a standard PC (as are specifically dedicated the strings and the other solutions spreaded on the WWW and already applied to Macs, I have already tried them on my netbook but to no avail). I can provide whole PCI configuration space of my ICH7-M in IDE and AHCI mode to get a diff (see attachment #2) but I would need a lot of help translating the differences into the right strings.

edit

Following for example post #7 here, I tried with grub4dos, from an MS-DOS floppy (I think I need to set at leasthave a USB floppy drive) with a setpci compiled with DJGPP from here - tracing the SCRAE bit plus enable some ABARs on irq 24various values of the offsets from the linux lspci dump of the ICH7-M put first in IDE mode and so on,then in AHCI mode, but still to no avail:
setpci changes the end passingoffset values as I would like, but not even grub4dos can identify the stringsSSD:
after a few minutes from loading, it ends in the right sequence fromgrub> console, and then ls (hd0,0) just hangs (while grub2grub4dos floppy alone with controller stuck in IDE just boots Windows as expected). 
PleaseHere is a picture of the diff IDE - AHCI, anyone can help me?and the autoexec commands I issued from DOS.
I move into uncharted territory, and if I have not made mistakes in my attempt, I begin to think that my BIOS mutilations are not workable this way.

Force ICH7-M in AHCI mode, with grub2 plus setpci, works in Linux, but what about Windows?

this is my first post, forgive me if I am in the wrong place or if my post is considered inappropriate. I have borrowed the idea from numerous Mac user forums, after I added a SSD disk to my Sony VAIO VPCW12J1E, 32bit, dual booting Debian Sid / Windows 7 Starter on standard MBR - no GPT, no EFI, no UEFI. The netbook is equipped with a heavily mutilated Phoenix BIOS, which lacks the option to set the chipset in AHCI mode (see my post here for example). With Debian already installed in IDE mode, and initramfs-tools package, it's all quite simple:

With Windows is another story, the previous magic string does not suffice alone and indeed, it prevents the system from seeing the SSD disk - so it does not boot. But I believe the SATA settings mentioned in the official datasheet can be translated into other setpci strings, tailored to a standard PC (as are specifically dedicated the strings and the other solutions spreaded on the WWW and already applied to Macs, I have already tried them on my netbook but to no avail). I can provide whole PCI configuration space of my ICH7-M in IDE and AHCI mode to get a diff (see attachment #2) but I would need a lot of help translating the differences into the right strings (I think I need to set at least the SCRAE bit plus enable some ABARs on irq 24 and so on, in the end passing the strings in the right sequence from grub2). Please, anyone can help me?

Force ICH7-M AHCI mode works in Linux with grub2 and setpci, not in Windows

This is my first post, forgive me if I am in the wrong place or if my post is considered inappropriate. I have borrowed the idea from numerous Mac user forums, after I added a SSD disk to my Sony VAIO VPCW12J1E, 32bit, dual booting Debian Sid / Windows 7 Starter on standard MBR - no GPT, no EFI, no UEFI. 
The netbook is equipped with a heavily mutilated Phoenix BIOS, which lacks the option to set the chipset in AHCI mode (see my post here for example). With Debian already installed in IDE mode, and initramfs-tools package, it's all quite simple:

With Windows is another story, the previous magic string does not suffice alone and indeed, it prevents the system from seeing the SSD disk - so it does not boot. But I believe the SATA settings mentioned in the official datasheet can be translated into other setpci strings. I can provide whole PCI configuration space of my ICH7-M in IDE and AHCI mode to get a diff (see attachment #2) but I would need a lot of help translating the differences into the right strings.

edit

Following for example post #7 here, I tried with grub4dos, from an MS-DOS floppy (I have a USB floppy drive) with a setpci compiled with DJGPP from here - tracing the various values of the offsets from the linux lspci dump of the ICH7-M put first in IDE mode and then in AHCI mode, but still to no avail:
setpci changes the offset values as I would like, but not even grub4dos can identify the SSD:
after a few minutes from loading, it ends in the grub> console, and then ls (hd0,0) just hangs (while grub4dos floppy alone with controller stuck in IDE just boots Windows as expected). 
Here is a picture of the diff IDE - AHCI, and the autoexec commands I issued from DOS.
I move into uncharted territory, and if I have not made mistakes in my attempt, I begin to think that my BIOS mutilations are not workable this way.

edited body
Source Link

this is my first post, forgive me if I am in the wrong place or if my post is considered inappropriate. I have borrowed the idea from numerous Mac user forums, after I added a SSD disk to my Sony VAIO VPCW12J1E, 32bit, dual booting Debian Sid / Windows 7 Starter on standard MBR - no GPT, no EFI, no UEFI. The netbook is equipped with a heavily mutilated Phoenix BIOS, which lacks the option to set the chipset in AHCI mode (see my post here for example). With Debian already installed in IDE mode, and initramfs-tools package, it's all quite simple:

  1. nano /etc/initramfs-tools/modules - at the end of the file, add a first line to load the module ahci and a second line for the module libahci ;
  2. nano /etc/initramfs-tools/conf.d/driver-policy - change from MODULES=dep to MODULES=list ;
  3. then regenerate yours initrd images - update-initramfs -u -k all and lsinitramfs /boot/initrd.img-'uname -r' | grep -i ahci just to be sure that the needed modules are in place;
  4. nano /etc/grub.d/40_custom - write a custom menuentry and, immediately after the last line initrd /initrd.img just write setpci -s 0:1f.2 90.w=40b=40 and then close the stanza with the } symbol;
  5. then update-grub ;
  6. and lastly again update-initramfs -u -k all .

Reboot, choose your custom menuentry, enjoy Debian with SSD in AHCI mode (see attachment #1 on my Google Drive).

With Windows is another story, the previous magic string does not suffice alone and indeed, it prevents the system from seeing the SSD disk - so it does not boot. But I believe the SATA settings mentioned in the official datasheet can be translated into other setpci strings, tailored to a standard PC (as are specifically dedicated the strings and the other solutions spreaded on the WWW and already applied to Macs, I have already tried them on my netbook but to no avail). I can provide whole PCI configuration space of my ICH7-M in IDE and AHCI mode to get a diff (see attachment #2) but I would need a lot of help translating the differences into the right strings (I think I need to set at least the SCRAE bit plus enable some ABARs on irq 24 and so on, in the end passing the strings in the right sequence from grub2). Please, anyone can help me?

this is my first post, forgive me if I am in the wrong place or if my post is considered inappropriate. I have borrowed the idea from numerous Mac user forums, after I added a SSD disk to my Sony VAIO VPCW12J1E, 32bit, dual booting Debian Sid / Windows 7 Starter on standard MBR - no GPT, no EFI, no UEFI. The netbook is equipped with a heavily mutilated Phoenix BIOS, which lacks the option to set the chipset in AHCI mode (see my post here for example). With Debian already installed in IDE mode, and initramfs-tools package, it's all quite simple:

  1. nano /etc/initramfs-tools/modules - at the end of the file, add a first line to load the module ahci and a second line for the module libahci ;
  2. nano /etc/initramfs-tools/conf.d/driver-policy - change from MODULES=dep to MODULES=list ;
  3. then regenerate yours initrd images - update-initramfs -u -k all and lsinitramfs /boot/initrd.img-'uname -r' | grep -i ahci just to be sure that the needed modules are in place;
  4. nano /etc/grub.d/40_custom - write a custom menuentry and, immediately after the last line initrd /initrd.img just write setpci -s 0:1f.2 90.w=40 and then close the stanza with the } symbol;
  5. then update-grub ;
  6. and lastly again update-initramfs -u -k all .

Reboot, choose your custom menuentry, enjoy Debian with SSD in AHCI mode (see attachment #1 on my Google Drive).

With Windows is another story, the previous magic string does not suffice alone and indeed, it prevents the system from seeing the SSD disk - so it does not boot. But I believe the SATA settings mentioned in the official datasheet can be translated into other setpci strings, tailored to a standard PC (as are specifically dedicated the strings and the other solutions spreaded on the WWW and already applied to Macs, I have already tried them on my netbook but to no avail). I can provide whole PCI configuration space of my ICH7-M in IDE and AHCI mode to get a diff (see attachment #2) but I would need a lot of help translating the differences into the right strings (I think I need to set at least the SCRAE bit plus enable some ABARs on irq 24 and so on, in the end passing the strings in the right sequence from grub2). Please, anyone can help me?

this is my first post, forgive me if I am in the wrong place or if my post is considered inappropriate. I have borrowed the idea from numerous Mac user forums, after I added a SSD disk to my Sony VAIO VPCW12J1E, 32bit, dual booting Debian Sid / Windows 7 Starter on standard MBR - no GPT, no EFI, no UEFI. The netbook is equipped with a heavily mutilated Phoenix BIOS, which lacks the option to set the chipset in AHCI mode (see my post here for example). With Debian already installed in IDE mode, and initramfs-tools package, it's all quite simple:

  1. nano /etc/initramfs-tools/modules - at the end of the file, add a first line to load the module ahci and a second line for the module libahci ;
  2. nano /etc/initramfs-tools/conf.d/driver-policy - change from MODULES=dep to MODULES=list ;
  3. then regenerate yours initrd images - update-initramfs -u -k all and lsinitramfs /boot/initrd.img-'uname -r' | grep -i ahci just to be sure that the needed modules are in place;
  4. nano /etc/grub.d/40_custom - write a custom menuentry and, immediately after the last line initrd /initrd.img just write setpci -s 0:1f.2 90.b=40 and then close the stanza with the } symbol;
  5. then update-grub ;
  6. and lastly again update-initramfs -u -k all .

Reboot, choose your custom menuentry, enjoy Debian with SSD in AHCI mode (see attachment #1 on my Google Drive).

With Windows is another story, the previous magic string does not suffice alone and indeed, it prevents the system from seeing the SSD disk - so it does not boot. But I believe the SATA settings mentioned in the official datasheet can be translated into other setpci strings, tailored to a standard PC (as are specifically dedicated the strings and the other solutions spreaded on the WWW and already applied to Macs, I have already tried them on my netbook but to no avail). I can provide whole PCI configuration space of my ICH7-M in IDE and AHCI mode to get a diff (see attachment #2) but I would need a lot of help translating the differences into the right strings (I think I need to set at least the SCRAE bit plus enable some ABARs on irq 24 and so on, in the end passing the strings in the right sequence from grub2). Please, anyone can help me?

edited body
Source Link

this is my first post, forgive me if I am in the wrong place or if my post is considered inappropriate. I have borrowed the idea from numerous Mac user forums, after I added a SSD disk to my Sony VAIO VPCW12J1E, 32bit, dual booting Debian Sid / Windows 7 Starter on standard MBR - no GPT, no EFI, no UEFI. The netbook is equipped with a heavily mutilated Phoenix BIOS, which lacks the option to set the chipset in AHCI mode (see my post here for example). With Debian already installed in IDE mode, and initramfs-tools package, it's all quite simple:

  1. nano /etc/initramfs-tools/modules - at the end of the file, add a first line to load the module ahci and a second line for the module libahci ;
  2. nano /etc/initramfs-tools/conf.d/driver-policy - change from MODULES=dep to MODULES=list ;
  3. then regenerate yours initrd images - update-initramfs -u -k all and lsinitramfs /boot/initrd.img-'uname -r' | grep -i ahci just to be sure that the needed modules are in place;
  4. nano /etc/grub.d/40_custom - write a custom menuentry and, immediately after the last line initrd /initrd.img just write setpci -s 0:1f.2 90.b=40w=40 and then close the stanza with the } symbol;
  5. then update-grub ;
  6. and lastly again update-initramfs -u -k all .

Reboot, choose your custom menuentry, enjoy Debian with SSD in AHCI mode (see attachment #1 on my Google Drive).

With Windows is another story, the previous magic string does not suffice alone and indeed, it prevents the system from seeing the SSD disk - so it does not boot. But I believe the SATA settings mentioned in the official datasheet can be translated into other setpci strings, tailored to a standard PC (as are specifically dedicated the strings and the other solutions spreaded on the WWW and already applied to Macs, I have already tried them on my netbook but to no avail). I can provide whole PCI configuration space of my ICH7-M in IDE and AHCI mode to get a diff (see attachment #2) but I would need a lot of help translating the differences into the right strings (I think I need to set at least the SCRAE bit plus enable some ABARs on irq 24 and so on, in the end passing the strings in the right sequence from grub2). Please, anyone can help me?

this is my first post, forgive me if I am in the wrong place or if my post is considered inappropriate. I have borrowed the idea from numerous Mac user forums, after I added a SSD disk to my Sony VAIO VPCW12J1E, 32bit, dual booting Debian Sid / Windows 7 Starter on standard MBR - no GPT, no EFI, no UEFI. The netbook is equipped with a heavily mutilated Phoenix BIOS, which lacks the option to set the chipset in AHCI mode (see my post here for example). With Debian already installed in IDE mode, and initramfs-tools package, it's all quite simple:

  1. nano /etc/initramfs-tools/modules - at the end of the file, add a first line to load the module ahci and a second line for the module libahci ;
  2. nano /etc/initramfs-tools/conf.d/driver-policy - change from MODULES=dep to MODULES=list ;
  3. then regenerate yours initrd images - update-initramfs -u -k all and lsinitramfs /boot/initrd.img-'uname -r' | grep -i ahci just to be sure that the needed modules are in place;
  4. nano /etc/grub.d/40_custom - write a custom menuentry and, immediately after the last line initrd /initrd.img just write setpci -s 0:1f.2 90.b=40 and then close the stanza with the } symbol;
  5. then update-grub ;
  6. and lastly again update-initramfs -u -k all .

Reboot, choose your custom menuentry, enjoy Debian with SSD in AHCI mode (see attachment #1 on my Google Drive).

With Windows is another story, the previous magic string does not suffice alone and indeed, it prevents the system from seeing the SSD disk - so it does not boot. But I believe the SATA settings mentioned in the official datasheet can be translated into other setpci strings, tailored to a standard PC (as are specifically dedicated the strings and the other solutions spreaded on the WWW and already applied to Macs, I have already tried them on my netbook but to no avail). I can provide whole PCI configuration space of my ICH7-M in IDE and AHCI mode to get a diff (see attachment #2) but I would need a lot of help translating the differences into the right strings (I think I need to set at least the SCRAE bit plus enable some ABARs on irq 24 and so on, in the end passing the strings in the right sequence from grub2). Please, anyone can help me?

this is my first post, forgive me if I am in the wrong place or if my post is considered inappropriate. I have borrowed the idea from numerous Mac user forums, after I added a SSD disk to my Sony VAIO VPCW12J1E, 32bit, dual booting Debian Sid / Windows 7 Starter on standard MBR - no GPT, no EFI, no UEFI. The netbook is equipped with a heavily mutilated Phoenix BIOS, which lacks the option to set the chipset in AHCI mode (see my post here for example). With Debian already installed in IDE mode, and initramfs-tools package, it's all quite simple:

  1. nano /etc/initramfs-tools/modules - at the end of the file, add a first line to load the module ahci and a second line for the module libahci ;
  2. nano /etc/initramfs-tools/conf.d/driver-policy - change from MODULES=dep to MODULES=list ;
  3. then regenerate yours initrd images - update-initramfs -u -k all and lsinitramfs /boot/initrd.img-'uname -r' | grep -i ahci just to be sure that the needed modules are in place;
  4. nano /etc/grub.d/40_custom - write a custom menuentry and, immediately after the last line initrd /initrd.img just write setpci -s 0:1f.2 90.w=40 and then close the stanza with the } symbol;
  5. then update-grub ;
  6. and lastly again update-initramfs -u -k all .

Reboot, choose your custom menuentry, enjoy Debian with SSD in AHCI mode (see attachment #1 on my Google Drive).

With Windows is another story, the previous magic string does not suffice alone and indeed, it prevents the system from seeing the SSD disk - so it does not boot. But I believe the SATA settings mentioned in the official datasheet can be translated into other setpci strings, tailored to a standard PC (as are specifically dedicated the strings and the other solutions spreaded on the WWW and already applied to Macs, I have already tried them on my netbook but to no avail). I can provide whole PCI configuration space of my ICH7-M in IDE and AHCI mode to get a diff (see attachment #2) but I would need a lot of help translating the differences into the right strings (I think I need to set at least the SCRAE bit plus enable some ABARs on irq 24 and so on, in the end passing the strings in the right sequence from grub2). Please, anyone can help me?

added 4 characters in body
Source Link
Loading
Source Link
Loading