Skip to main content
Remove some noise; can't do anything about the image, the user needs to fix that
Source Link

Thank you for this Larnu, it worked for me as well usingUsing generation2 VM in HyperV using Windows 11 Pro this also worked. Below I attached an image for any newbies like myself who only know surface level C++ and Python and are new to Linux syntaxhelp. WhenWhen inside the grub file (After typing in sudo nano etc/default/grub), be sure to use CRTL+G to view the HELP menu which displays all of the hot keys & commands offered.

Here are the precise steps I took:

  • I changed the two lines suggested with my resolution of 1920x1080

  • Then pressed CTRL+X to initialize exit of the grub file

  • Pressed Y and then ENTER to accept changes to file

  • Then typed in sudo update-grub and hit ENTER again.

  • I then typed in sudo reboot and reopened the session of Obuntu.

Tadaa, screen size fixed. A huge thanks to Larnu for the post above!

Syntax of my grub file

Thank you for this Larnu, it worked for me as well using generation2 VM in HyperV using Windows 11 Pro. Below I attached an image for any newbies like myself who only know surface level C++ and Python and are new to Linux syntax. When inside the grub file (After typing in sudo nano etc/default/grub), be sure to use CRTL+G to view the HELP menu which displays all of the hot keys & commands offered.

Here are the precise steps I took:

  • I changed the two lines suggested with my resolution of 1920x1080

  • Then pressed CTRL+X to initialize exit of the grub file

  • Pressed Y and then ENTER to accept changes to file

  • Then typed in sudo update-grub and hit ENTER again.

  • I then typed in sudo reboot and reopened the session of Obuntu.

Tadaa, screen size fixed. A huge thanks to Larnu for the post above!

Syntax of my grub file

Using generation2 VM in HyperV using Windows 11 Pro this also worked. Below I attached to help. When inside the grub file (After typing in sudo nano etc/default/grub), be sure to use CRTL+G to view the HELP menu which displays all of the hot keys & commands offered.

Here are the precise steps I took:

  • I changed the two lines suggested with my resolution of 1920x1080

  • Then pressed CTRL+X to initialize exit of the grub file

  • Pressed Y and then ENTER to accept changes to file

  • Then typed in sudo update-grub and hit ENTER again.

  • I then typed in sudo reboot and reopened the session of Obuntu.

Tadaa, screen size fixed.

Syntax of my grub file

minimal syntax
Source Link
Donald Duck
  • 2.6k
  • 10
  • 32
  • 48

Thank you for this Larnu, it worked for me as well using generation2 VM in HyperV using Windows 11 Pro. Below I attached an image for any newbies like myself who only know surface level C++ and Python and are new to Linux syntax. When inside the grub file (After typing in sudo nano etc/default/grub), be sure to use CRTL+GCRTL+G to view the HELP menu which displays all of the hot keys & commands offered.

Here are the precise steps I took:

• I changed the two lines suggested with my resolution of 1920x1080

• Then pressed CTRL+X to initialize exit of the grub file

• Pressed Y and then ENTER to accept changes to file

• Then typed in sudo update-grub and hit ENTER again.

• I then typed in sudo reboot and reopened the session of Obuntu.

  • I changed the two lines suggested with my resolution of 1920x1080

  • Then pressed CTRL+X to initialize exit of the grub file

  • Pressed Y and then ENTER to accept changes to file

  • Then typed in sudo update-grub and hit ENTER again.

  • I then typed in sudo reboot and reopened the session of Obuntu.

Tadaa, screen size fixed. A huge thanks to Larnu for the post above!

Syntax of my grub file

Thank you for this Larnu, it worked for me as well using generation2 VM in HyperV using Windows 11 Pro. Below I attached an image for any newbies like myself who only know surface level C++ and Python and are new to Linux syntax. When inside the grub file (After typing in sudo nano etc/default/grub), be sure to use CRTL+G to view the HELP menu which displays all of the hot keys & commands offered.

Here are the precise steps I took:

• I changed the two lines suggested with my resolution of 1920x1080

• Then pressed CTRL+X to initialize exit of the grub file

• Pressed Y and then ENTER to accept changes to file

• Then typed in sudo update-grub and hit ENTER again.

• I then typed in sudo reboot and reopened the session of Obuntu.

Tadaa, screen size fixed. A huge thanks to Larnu for the post above!

Syntax of my grub file

Thank you for this Larnu, it worked for me as well using generation2 VM in HyperV using Windows 11 Pro. Below I attached an image for any newbies like myself who only know surface level C++ and Python and are new to Linux syntax. When inside the grub file (After typing in sudo nano etc/default/grub), be sure to use CRTL+G to view the HELP menu which displays all of the hot keys & commands offered.

Here are the precise steps I took:

  • I changed the two lines suggested with my resolution of 1920x1080

  • Then pressed CTRL+X to initialize exit of the grub file

  • Pressed Y and then ENTER to accept changes to file

  • Then typed in sudo update-grub and hit ENTER again.

  • I then typed in sudo reboot and reopened the session of Obuntu.

Tadaa, screen size fixed. A huge thanks to Larnu for the post above!

Syntax of my grub file

Thank you for this Larnu, it worked for me as well using generation2 VM in HyperV using Windows 11 Pro. Below I attached an image for any newbies like myself who only know surface level C++ and Python and are new to Linux syntax. When inside the grub file (After typing in sudo nano etc/default/grubetc/default/grub), be sure to use CRTL+GCRTL+G to view the HELP menu which displays all of the hot keys & commands offered.

Here are the precise steps I took:

•I• I changed the two lines suggested with my resolution of 1920x1080

•Then• Then pressed CTRL+XCTRL+X to initialize exit of the grub file

•Pressed• Pressed Y and then ENTER to accept changes to file

•Then• Then typed in sudo update-grub and hit ENTER again.

•I• I then typed in sudo reboot and reopened the session of Obuntu.

Tadaa, screen size fixed. A huge thanks to Larnu for the post above!

Syntax of my grub file

Thank you for this Larnu, it worked for me as well using generation2 VM in HyperV using Windows 11 Pro. Below I attached an image for any newbies like myself who only know surface level C++ and Python and are new to Linux syntax. When inside the grub file (After typing in sudo nano etc/default/grub), be sure to use CRTL+G to view the HELP menu which displays all of the hot keys & commands offered.

Here are the precise steps I took:

•I changed the two lines suggested with my resolution of 1920x1080

•Then pressed CTRL+X to initialize exit of the grub file

•Pressed Y and then ENTER to accept changes to file

•Then typed in sudo update-grub and hit ENTER again.

•I then typed in sudo reboot and reopened the session of Obuntu.

Tadaa, screen size fixed. A huge thanks to Larnu for the post above!

Syntax of my grub file

Thank you for this Larnu, it worked for me as well using generation2 VM in HyperV using Windows 11 Pro. Below I attached an image for any newbies like myself who only know surface level C++ and Python and are new to Linux syntax. When inside the grub file (After typing in sudo nano etc/default/grub), be sure to use CRTL+G to view the HELP menu which displays all of the hot keys & commands offered.

Here are the precise steps I took:

• I changed the two lines suggested with my resolution of 1920x1080

• Then pressed CTRL+X to initialize exit of the grub file

• Pressed Y and then ENTER to accept changes to file

• Then typed in sudo update-grub and hit ENTER again.

• I then typed in sudo reboot and reopened the session of Obuntu.

Tadaa, screen size fixed. A huge thanks to Larnu for the post above!

Syntax of my grub file

deleted 1 character in body
Source Link
Loading
Source Link
Loading