Skip to main content
I finished a second pass at Expansion. Same result. I added a few more pictures on the exact procedures that resulted the outcome. Outcome is Expansion from 18TB in RAID 5, resulted in 18TB in RAID 5 which is Expansion not resulting in expected outcome. Should be 54TB after Expansion.
Source Link
ejbytes
  • 2k
  • 3
  • 15
  • 25

I've searched on this topic for a while before I bought my new drives. First I tried cloning the drives; that didn't work. So I did the "preferred" method. Replace and rebuild each drive in order.

Step 1) Replace Drive 1; Do manual rebuild with new larger-capacity drive.
Step 2) Do step 1 on Drives 2, 3, 4. Done.
Step 3) All NEW Larger Drives are now in. Log in,
              Select: Storage > RAID > Change RAID Mode > Expansion.
              Change / Swap / Replace Drives?
              No. (because I just rebuilt all drives with new drives already)
Step 4) Wait a couple days for this operation to finish. A week of life already invested.

I did all these steps. And still, my WD NAS PR4100 reads my smaller RAID 5 total drive space.
I was "Warning 95% capacity", and still same capacity reading on new drives (4 x 18TB in RAID 5).

Each Drive's "Disk Status" registers as 18TB, but still in RAID 5, it reads 18.xxTB, with <1 TB?
I am now trying a second pass in Expansion.
I don't think this will work and already regret clicking the button to proceed.
Anyone experience this? I've rebooted also, so FYI.
HELP! Please and thank you!


In case there was confusion.
Old Capacity 4 x 6TB @ RAID 5 ~ 18TB storage
New Capacity 4 x 18TB @ RAID 5 ~ 18TB storage (still)
New Capacity should be around 18*3=54TB storage


Screen Shots: I can't show each step because I am attempting a second pass at Expansion.

These are my current Drives.
enter image description here

This is current.
enter image description here

This is what would happenThese are the steps I took, after manual rebuilds on each Drive 1-4. An option would reveal itself to expand the capacity.
enter image description hereenter image description here
enter image description hereenter image description here
enter image description here
enter image description here

This is what should be as a result.
enter image description here

I've searched on this topic for a while before I bought my new drives. First I tried cloning the drives; that didn't work. So I did the "preferred" method. Replace and rebuild each drive in order.

Step 1) Replace Drive 1; Do manual rebuild with new larger-capacity drive.
Step 2) Do step 1 on Drives 2, 3, 4. Done.
Step 3) All NEW Larger Drives are now in. Log in,
              Select: Storage > RAID > Change RAID Mode > Expansion.
              Change / Swap / Replace Drives?
              No. (because I just rebuilt all drives with new drives already)
Step 4) Wait a couple days for this operation to finish. A week of life already invested.

I did all these steps. And still, my WD NAS PR4100 reads my smaller RAID 5 total drive space.
I was "Warning 95% capacity", and still same capacity reading on new drives (4 x 18TB in RAID 5).

Each Drive's "Disk Status" registers as 18TB, but still in RAID 5, it reads 18.xxTB, with <1 TB?
I am now trying a second pass in Expansion.
I don't think this will work and already regret clicking the button to proceed.
Anyone experience this? I've rebooted also, so FYI.
HELP! Please and thank you!


In case there was confusion.
Old Capacity 4 x 6TB @ RAID 5 ~ 18TB storage
New Capacity 4 x 18TB @ RAID 5 ~ 18TB storage (still)
New Capacity should be around 18*3=54TB storage


Screen Shots: I can't show each step because I am attempting a second pass at Expansion.

These are my current Drives.
enter image description here

This is current.
enter image description here

This is what would happen after manual rebuilds. An option would reveal itself to expand the capacity.
enter image description here
enter image description here

This is what should be as a result.
enter image description here

I've searched on this topic for a while before I bought my new drives. First I tried cloning the drives; that didn't work. So I did the "preferred" method. Replace and rebuild each drive in order.

Step 1) Replace Drive 1; Do manual rebuild with new larger-capacity drive.
Step 2) Do step 1 on Drives 2, 3, 4. Done.
Step 3) All NEW Larger Drives are now in. Log in,
              Select: Storage > RAID > Change RAID Mode > Expansion.
              Change / Swap / Replace Drives?
              No. (because I just rebuilt all drives with new drives already)
Step 4) Wait a couple days for this operation to finish. A week of life already invested.

I did all these steps. And still, my WD NAS PR4100 reads my smaller RAID 5 total drive space.
I was "Warning 95% capacity", and still same capacity reading on new drives (4 x 18TB in RAID 5).

Each Drive's "Disk Status" registers as 18TB, but still in RAID 5, it reads 18.xxTB, with <1 TB?
I am now trying a second pass in Expansion.
I don't think this will work and already regret clicking the button to proceed.
Anyone experience this? I've rebooted also, so FYI.
HELP! Please and thank you!


In case there was confusion.
Old Capacity 4 x 6TB @ RAID 5 ~ 18TB storage
New Capacity 4 x 18TB @ RAID 5 ~ 18TB storage (still)
New Capacity should be around 18*3=54TB storage


Screen Shots: I can't show each step because I am attempting a second pass at Expansion.

These are my current Drives.
enter image description here

This is current.

These are the steps I took, after manual rebuilds on each Drive 1-4. An option would reveal itself to expand the capacity.
enter image description here
enter image description here
enter image description here
enter image description here

This is what should be as a result.
enter image description here

added 634 characters in body
Source Link
ejbytes
  • 2k
  • 3
  • 15
  • 25

I've searched on this topic for a while before I bought my new drives. First I tried cloning the drives; that didn't work. So I did the "preferred" method. Replace and rebuild each drive in order.

Step 1) Replace Drive 1; Do manual rebuild with new larger-capacity drive.
Step 2) Do step 1 on Drives 2, 3, 4. Done.
Step 3) All NEW Larger Drives are now in. Log in,
              Select: Storage > RAID > Change RAID Mode > Expansion.
              Change / Swap / Replace Drives?
              No. (because I just rebuilt all drives with new drives already)
Step 4) Wait a couple days for this operation to finish. A week of life already invested.

I did all these steps. And still, my WD NAS PR4100 reads my smaller RAID 5 total drive space.
I was "Warning 95% capacity", and still same capacity reading on new drives (4 x 18TB in RAID 5).

Each Drive's "Disk Status" registers as 18TB, but still in RAID 5, it reads 18.xxTB, with <1 TB?
I am now trying a second pass in Expansion.
I don't think this will work and already regret clicking the button to proceed.
Anyone experience this? I've rebooted also, so FYI.
HELP! Please and thank you!


In case there was confusion.
Old Capacity 4 x 6TB @ RAID 5 ~ 18TB storage
New Capacity 4 x 18TB @ RAID 5 ~ 18TB storage (still)
New Capacity should be around 18*3=54TB storage


Screen Shots: I can't show each step because I am attempting a second pass at Expansion.

These are my current Drives.
enter image description here

This is current.
enter image description here

This is what would happen after manual rebuilds. An option would reveal itself to expand the capacity.
enter image description here
enter image description here

This is what should be as a result.
enter image description here

I've searched on this topic for a while before I bought my new drives. First I tried cloning the drives; that didn't work. So I did the "preferred" method. Replace and rebuild each drive in order.

Step 1) Replace Drive 1; Do manual rebuild with new larger-capacity drive.
Step 2) Do step 1 on Drives 2, 3, 4. Done.
Step 3) All NEW Larger Drives are now in. Log in,
              Select: Storage > RAID > Change RAID Mode > Expansion.
              Change / Swap / Replace Drives?
              No. (because I just rebuilt all drives with new drives already)
Step 4) Wait a couple days for this operation to finish. A week of life already invested.

I did all these steps. And still, my WD NAS PR4100 reads my smaller RAID 5 total drive space.
I was "Warning 95% capacity", and still same capacity reading on new drives (4 x 18TB in RAID 5).

Each Drive's "Disk Status" registers as 18TB, but still in RAID 5, it reads 18.xxTB, with <1 TB?
I am now trying a second pass in Expansion.
I don't think this will work and already regret clicking the button to proceed.
Anyone experience this? I've rebooted also, so FYI.
HELP! Please and thank you!


In case there was confusion.
Old Capacity 4 x 6TB @ RAID 5 ~ 18TB storage
New Capacity 4 x 18TB @ RAID 5 ~ 18TB storage (still)
New Capacity should be around 18*3=54TB storage

I've searched on this topic for a while before I bought my new drives. First I tried cloning the drives; that didn't work. So I did the "preferred" method. Replace and rebuild each drive in order.

Step 1) Replace Drive 1; Do manual rebuild with new larger-capacity drive.
Step 2) Do step 1 on Drives 2, 3, 4. Done.
Step 3) All NEW Larger Drives are now in. Log in,
              Select: Storage > RAID > Change RAID Mode > Expansion.
              Change / Swap / Replace Drives?
              No. (because I just rebuilt all drives with new drives already)
Step 4) Wait a couple days for this operation to finish. A week of life already invested.

I did all these steps. And still, my WD NAS PR4100 reads my smaller RAID 5 total drive space.
I was "Warning 95% capacity", and still same capacity reading on new drives (4 x 18TB in RAID 5).

Each Drive's "Disk Status" registers as 18TB, but still in RAID 5, it reads 18.xxTB, with <1 TB?
I am now trying a second pass in Expansion.
I don't think this will work and already regret clicking the button to proceed.
Anyone experience this? I've rebooted also, so FYI.
HELP! Please and thank you!


In case there was confusion.
Old Capacity 4 x 6TB @ RAID 5 ~ 18TB storage
New Capacity 4 x 18TB @ RAID 5 ~ 18TB storage (still)
New Capacity should be around 18*3=54TB storage


Screen Shots: I can't show each step because I am attempting a second pass at Expansion.

These are my current Drives.
enter image description here

This is current.
enter image description here

This is what would happen after manual rebuilds. An option would reveal itself to expand the capacity.
enter image description here
enter image description here

This is what should be as a result.
enter image description here

added 213 characters in body
Source Link
ejbytes
  • 2k
  • 3
  • 15
  • 25

I've searched on this topic for a while before I bought my new drives. First I tried cloning the drives; that didn't work. So I did the "preferred" method. Replace and rebuild each drive in order.

Step 1) Replace Drive 1; Do manual rebuild with new larger-capacity drive.
Step 2) Do step 1 on Drives 2, 3, 4. Done.
Step 3) All NEW Larger Drives are now in. Log in,
              Select: Storage > RAID > Change RAID Mode > Expansion.
              Change / Swap / Replace Drives?
              No. (because I just rebuilt all drives with new drives already)
Step 4) Wait a couple days for this operation to finish. A week of life already invested.

I did all these steps. And still, my WD NAS PR4100 reads my smaller RAID 5 total drive space.
I was "Warning 95% capacity", and still same capacity reading on new drives (4 x 18TB in RAID 5).

Each Drive's "Disk Status" registers as 18TB, but still in RAID 5, it reads 18.xxTB, with <1 TB?
I am now trying a second pass in Expansion.
I don't think this will work and already regret clicking the button to proceed.
Anyone experience this? I've rebooted also, so FYI.
HELP! Please and thank you!


In case there was confusion.
Old Capacity 4 x 6TB @ RAID 5 ~ 18TB storage
New Capacity 4 x 18TB @ RAID 5 ~ 18TB storage (still)
New Capacity should be around 18*3=54TB storage

I've searched on this topic for a while before I bought my new drives. First I tried cloning the drives; that didn't work. So I did the "preferred" method. Replace and rebuild each drive in order.

Step 1) Replace Drive 1; Do manual rebuild with new larger-capacity drive.
Step 2) Do step 1 on Drives 2, 3, 4. Done.
Step 3) All NEW Larger Drives are now in. Log in,
              Select: Storage > RAID > Change RAID Mode > Expansion.
              Change / Swap / Replace Drives?
              No. (because I just rebuilt all drives with new drives already)
Step 4) Wait a couple days for this operation to finish. A week of life already invested.

I did all these steps. And still, my WD NAS PR4100 reads my smaller RAID 5 total drive space.
I was "Warning 95% capacity", and still same capacity reading on new drives (4 x 18TB in RAID 5).

Each Drive's "Disk Status" registers as 18TB, but still in RAID 5, it reads 18.xxTB, with <1 TB?
I am now trying a second pass in Expansion.
I don't think this will work and already regret clicking the button to proceed.
Anyone experience this? I've rebooted also, so FYI.
HELP! Please and thank you!

I've searched on this topic for a while before I bought my new drives. First I tried cloning the drives; that didn't work. So I did the "preferred" method. Replace and rebuild each drive in order.

Step 1) Replace Drive 1; Do manual rebuild with new larger-capacity drive.
Step 2) Do step 1 on Drives 2, 3, 4. Done.
Step 3) All NEW Larger Drives are now in. Log in,
              Select: Storage > RAID > Change RAID Mode > Expansion.
              Change / Swap / Replace Drives?
              No. (because I just rebuilt all drives with new drives already)
Step 4) Wait a couple days for this operation to finish. A week of life already invested.

I did all these steps. And still, my WD NAS PR4100 reads my smaller RAID 5 total drive space.
I was "Warning 95% capacity", and still same capacity reading on new drives (4 x 18TB in RAID 5).

Each Drive's "Disk Status" registers as 18TB, but still in RAID 5, it reads 18.xxTB, with <1 TB?
I am now trying a second pass in Expansion.
I don't think this will work and already regret clicking the button to proceed.
Anyone experience this? I've rebooted also, so FYI.
HELP! Please and thank you!


In case there was confusion.
Old Capacity 4 x 6TB @ RAID 5 ~ 18TB storage
New Capacity 4 x 18TB @ RAID 5 ~ 18TB storage (still)
New Capacity should be around 18*3=54TB storage

Source Link
ejbytes
  • 2k
  • 3
  • 15
  • 25
Loading