Skip to main content
Added clarification (Bullet points)
Source Link

I'm wondering if, after installing Ubuntu, it would be possible to recover my OEM copy of Windows 11 if something goes wrong with Linux. I am considering installing Ubuntu Jammy Jellyfish on my HP laptop, but want to know if Windows is recoverable if Linux has a problem (which has happened numerous times on my other machine.) I have not gone through the Windows setup process yet. Neither OS is actually installed, and I am currently running Ubuntu off of a live USB. I want to install Ubuntu, but want to make sure that Windows is recoverable if something goes wrong.

  • Microsoft Windows 11 is preinstalled.
  • I have not done the installation process yet. (Setting up a Microsoft account, Choosing a password, etc.)
  • There is no hologram sticker on the device or packaging.
  • I am running Ubuntu GNU/Linux off of a live USB as I write this.

I'm wondering if, after installing Ubuntu, it would be possible to recover my OEM copy of Windows 11 if something goes wrong with Linux. I am considering installing Ubuntu Jammy Jellyfish on my HP laptop, but want to know if Windows is recoverable if Linux has a problem (which has happened numerous times on my other machine.) I have not gone through the Windows setup process yet. Neither OS is actually installed, and I am currently running Ubuntu off of a live USB. I want to install Ubuntu, but want to make sure that Windows is recoverable if something goes wrong.

I'm wondering if, after installing Ubuntu, it would be possible to recover my OEM copy of Windows 11 if something goes wrong with Linux. I am considering installing Ubuntu Jammy Jellyfish on my HP laptop, but want to know if Windows is recoverable if Linux has a problem (which has happened numerous times on my other machine.) I have not gone through the Windows setup process yet. Neither OS is actually installed, and I am currently running Ubuntu off of a live USB. I want to install Ubuntu, but want to make sure that Windows is recoverable if something goes wrong.

  • Microsoft Windows 11 is preinstalled.
  • I have not done the installation process yet. (Setting up a Microsoft account, Choosing a password, etc.)
  • There is no hologram sticker on the device or packaging.
  • I am running Ubuntu GNU/Linux off of a live USB as I write this.
Source Link

Can I recover a Windows key after installing Ubuntu?

I'm wondering if, after installing Ubuntu, it would be possible to recover my OEM copy of Windows 11 if something goes wrong with Linux. I am considering installing Ubuntu Jammy Jellyfish on my HP laptop, but want to know if Windows is recoverable if Linux has a problem (which has happened numerous times on my other machine.) I have not gone through the Windows setup process yet. Neither OS is actually installed, and I am currently running Ubuntu off of a live USB. I want to install Ubuntu, but want to make sure that Windows is recoverable if something goes wrong.