Skip to main content
14 events
when toggle format what by license comment
May 30, 2022 at 15:30 history bounty ended GaussStrife
May 30, 2022 at 15:29 vote accept GaussStrife
May 26, 2022 at 15:39 comment added GaussStrife I mean I've never heard of JS code being interpreted when the browser settings prevent it from being so.
May 26, 2022 at 15:37 comment added harrymc Depends on the browser and the method that was used.
May 26, 2022 at 15:36 comment added GaussStrife "JavaScript that is incorporated into the main webpage is harder to block." Doesn't any browser that has javascript disabled by default just ignore any JS files present?
May 26, 2022 at 15:20 comment added harrymc JavaScript that is incorporated into the main webpage is harder to block. But there are other triggers, like accessing some sensitive folders and more. I suggest to just ignore the whole thing, as it does not necessarily indicate dangerous code.
May 26, 2022 at 15:13 comment added GaussStrife Hmmm, I wonder why it runs when chrome is opened, but no javascript is run as it's disabled? Maybe it's something to do with a browser flag?
May 26, 2022 at 15:09 comment added harrymc Not enough details are given with the event to answer your question. I would think that Microsoft is just being over-sensitive. For example, this can be triggered by JavaScript code that looks to be obfuscated, but I have met coders that used obfuscation-like techniques because it reduces the JavaScript code and so improved load times.
May 26, 2022 at 14:39 comment added GaussStrife I mean in the case of your ones, are they the same event 2 regarding dynamic scripts or a different one?
May 26, 2022 at 14:37 comment added GaussStrife It wasn't even infection I was concerned about. It was whether a particular site was causing this. But on inspection, it seems to just get generated by chrome when I launch it, which I find confusing given no scripts are being run at that point, so it raises the question (at least to me) of why the mitigation is being applied, but doesn't get applied in other instances.
May 26, 2022 at 11:29 comment added harrymc Yes, I have heaps of such messages for Chrome and also for Edge (which is Chromium-based). None for my Firefox-based browser. I'll probably clear this log, with dozens of messages per day. I don't suspect my computer is infected, as I periodically do antivirus scans by more than one antivirus product.
May 26, 2022 at 10:56 comment added GaussStrife Yes, I can confirm that steamhelper only runs when Steam does. For Chrome, the reason for my concern is whether this is just something it does, or as a response to something. I went back through my browser history for the dates the messages are generated, and they only happen when Chrome is launched, but before I search or open anything. Moreover, I have Javascript disabled by default, so I am unsure what this could even be as a response to. Have you observed these in your logs also?
May 24, 2022 at 10:29 history edited harrymc CC BY-SA 4.0
deleted 2 characters in body
May 24, 2022 at 10:22 history answered harrymc CC BY-SA 4.0