Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

10
  • Yes, I can confirm that steamhelper only runs when Steam does. For Chrome, the reason for my concern is whether this is just something it does, or as a response to something. I went back through my browser history for the dates the messages are generated, and they only happen when Chrome is launched, but before I search or open anything. Moreover, I have Javascript disabled by default, so I am unsure what this could even be as a response to. Have you observed these in your logs also? Commented May 26, 2022 at 10:56
  • Yes, I have heaps of such messages for Chrome and also for Edge (which is Chromium-based). None for my Firefox-based browser. I'll probably clear this log, with dozens of messages per day. I don't suspect my computer is infected, as I periodically do antivirus scans by more than one antivirus product.
    – harrymc
    Commented May 26, 2022 at 11:29
  • It wasn't even infection I was concerned about. It was whether a particular site was causing this. But on inspection, it seems to just get generated by chrome when I launch it, which I find confusing given no scripts are being run at that point, so it raises the question (at least to me) of why the mitigation is being applied, but doesn't get applied in other instances. Commented May 26, 2022 at 14:37
  • I mean in the case of your ones, are they the same event 2 regarding dynamic scripts or a different one? Commented May 26, 2022 at 14:39
  • Not enough details are given with the event to answer your question. I would think that Microsoft is just being over-sensitive. For example, this can be triggered by JavaScript code that looks to be obfuscated, but I have met coders that used obfuscation-like techniques because it reduces the JavaScript code and so improved load times.
    – harrymc
    Commented May 26, 2022 at 15:09