Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

5
  • Repairing the PST file and repairing Outlook are part of what I described in my posted question. Furthermore, Outlook had trouble opening the Test.msg file even when it was a separate file. At least, my installations of Outlook did, on two separate computers. AkrutoSync's did not, and two online mail viewers opened the Test.msg file without complaints. That's why I wondered whether it might be a condition that is specific to my laptops, e.g., a Windows, security, or policy setting. Commented May 21, 2022 at 23:14
  • I would consider running it again. PST is proprietary and SCANPST fixes and re-indexes the file. Stellar tools would be the next step
    – anon
    Commented May 21, 2022 at 23:17
  • I ran SCANPST repeatedly as I was troubleshooting. Each single run, as I call it, consists of iteratively running the app until there were no more errors. As I said, it's not the PST file, since the same problem is encountered when opening a single Test.msg, on two different laptops with two different versions of Outlook. The same two versions that AkrutoSync successfully used on the same file. Furthermore, the two email viewing sites that I mentioned had no problem. I'll keep Stellar Tools in mind, but the circusmtances point a local system conditions rather than a malformed Test.msg file. Commented May 22, 2022 at 0:54
  • Let us know. I do not think in 20 years of Outlook, I have seen a good Outlook install (you said you were sure Outlook was good) fail to read a good PST file.
    – anon
    Commented May 22, 2022 at 1:12
  • I see what you're saying, John. My suspicion that it is a local condition other than the PST file is based on other observations. The same problem afflicts the separate Test.msg file on two of my laptops. However, circumstances indicate that the Test.msg file is good. AkrutoSync can open it using the same versions of Outlook as me, and two email reading sites are able to open the Test.msg. As well, the original Outlook 2019 was subject to both slow repair and lengthy repair with online assistance (those are the two options available when repairing Outlook 2019). Commented May 22, 2022 at 2:27