Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

4
  • Why would some Outlook installations not open correctly formed "msg" file? --- in many many years I have only seen this if the message was damaged. I think with Office 365 there are Outlook message repair switches. Failing that, Stellar tools can repair a damaged email file.
    – anon
    Commented May 21, 2022 at 22:50
  • @John: If the "msg" file were damaged, would the same version of Outlook open the file on one computer but not another? Since AkrutoSync used the same versions of Outlook, that strongly suggests the problem is with my installations of Outlook 2013 and 2019. Or rather, since I repaired my Outlook, maybe a Windows/Security/Policy setting. Furthermore, the two online email parsers opened the file. I'm not saying that you're wrong (truthfully, the anatomy of an email file is not my expertise), but I was wondering how much the above considerations weighed into the view that you shared? Commented May 21, 2022 at 23:10
  • Try using SCANPST . Office Repair did not fix it so there is possibly an error that does not stop all Outlook Systems SCANPST is a reliable tool
    – anon
    Commented May 21, 2022 at 23:12
  • I was repeatedly using SCANPST until there were no more errors, and I maintained this practice throughout my troubleshooting efforts. Commented May 22, 2022 at 0:58