Skip to main content
Added details about the hardware
Source Link

I started using my old monitor recently using a VGA-HDMI adapter. It worked the first time on my laptop running Windows 10 without making any changes to settings. Then I tried it on my work laptop and the monitor kept saying, "Input not supported" (probably because that laptop has a higher resolution). So, I connected it back to my laptop and now it displays the same message.

However, this message is only displayed when running Windows 10. When I dual boot into Pop OS, the display works fine. I've fiddled with all Windows Display settings (tried various resolutions and refresh rates) and even tried reinstalling the drivers. Not sure how to fix this.

Details about the hardware

  • Personal Laptop - Dell Inspiron 5559
  • Work Laptop - HP ProBook 440 G8
  • HDMI to VGA adapter is non-branded one but it is in working condition
  • Monitor - HCL HCMELWBT11

I started using my old monitor recently using a VGA-HDMI adapter. It worked the first time on my laptop running Windows 10 without making any changes to settings. Then I tried it on my work laptop and the monitor kept saying, "Input not supported" (probably because that laptop has a higher resolution). So, I connected it back to my laptop and now it displays the same message.

However, this message is only displayed when running Windows 10. When I dual boot into Pop OS, the display works fine. I've fiddled with all Windows Display settings (tried various resolutions and refresh rates) and even tried reinstalling the drivers. Not sure how to fix this.

I started using my old monitor recently using a VGA-HDMI adapter. It worked the first time on my laptop running Windows 10 without making any changes to settings. Then I tried it on my work laptop and the monitor kept saying, "Input not supported" (probably because that laptop has a higher resolution). So, I connected it back to my laptop and now it displays the same message.

However, this message is only displayed when running Windows 10. When I dual boot into Pop OS, the display works fine. I've fiddled with all Windows Display settings (tried various resolutions and refresh rates) and even tried reinstalling the drivers. Not sure how to fix this.

Details about the hardware

  • Personal Laptop - Dell Inspiron 5559
  • Work Laptop - HP ProBook 440 G8
  • HDMI to VGA adapter is non-branded one but it is in working condition
  • Monitor - HCL HCMELWBT11
Source Link

Monitor working on Linux but not on Windows

I started using my old monitor recently using a VGA-HDMI adapter. It worked the first time on my laptop running Windows 10 without making any changes to settings. Then I tried it on my work laptop and the monitor kept saying, "Input not supported" (probably because that laptop has a higher resolution). So, I connected it back to my laptop and now it displays the same message.

However, this message is only displayed when running Windows 10. When I dual boot into Pop OS, the display works fine. I've fiddled with all Windows Display settings (tried various resolutions and refresh rates) and even tried reinstalling the drivers. Not sure how to fix this.